We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great fish and chips!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastline Fish and Chips Restuarant

Coastline Fish and Chips Restuarant
Links Road, South Beach, Blyth NE24 3PL, England
1670 797428
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Blyth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ice Cream, British
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Consistently great fish and chips!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

South Beach Blyth, is a very busy area. A lot of money was spent on it a few years ago, and there are great play parks, a lovely beach and a nice flat promenade. Thus, it is popular with everyone and Coastline Fish and Chip shop and restaurant does a roaring trade. There's a sit down area, an outside space with tables and chairs or a takeaway section. Adjoining the fish and chip shop is a cafe selling sandwiches, cakes and ice cream.

The fish and chips are fantastic, very fresh because of the high turnover, and there is a notice telling you what boat the fish is off that day. Sometimes it can be noisy and a big messy on the floor, but that's because families with children like it (we often take young grandchildren), and it's a great place to take them.

We love the fishes bites, the fish and chips and the pots of tea. All lovely. The ice cream and cakes at he other end are gorgeous too. Not the cheapest, but well worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    10
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Tremendous value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very tasty freshly cooked fish and chips, cooked to perfection. The chips were non greasy and crispy, fish was very juicy and white. We sat outside in the freezing cold, by choice. It would be lovely on a sunny day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great place for food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

As I only live in 4 miles from the chippy, myself and my friends decide to try this place and a great restaurant to eat in, the batter was nice as were the chicken nuggets and chips were, my mates enjoyed there fish, staff are total friendly and helpful of course, there ice cream, the beach is nearby and free parking, it's also great

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips for miles!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is my regular fish and chip shop,and having tried hundreds at home and abroad,this awardwinning Fish Shop is very highly recommended.Expect a foot long cod with a pile of fresh tasty chips.Sit down or take away,situated yards from the sea,don,t miss this restaurant if you,re in the Blyth area,Also serves teas,coffees and a great choice of flavoured ice creams.Fish and Chip Heaven!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Don't have any breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Wow, you certainly get your monies worth.

We had fish and chips each and to be honest, we could have done with one portion. The fish was enormous with a lovely crisp batter. The chips were very nice, crisp and dry (Oops sorry)

I would have to say, these are amongst the best fish and chips I have ever had. The only criticism if any was the waiting time. It was lunch time when we went and the wait was quite lengthy but well worth the wait. The café was also very busy.

Nice friendly staff who were very apologetic for the delay. You gotts try it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastline Fish and Chips Restuarant also viewed

Blyth, Northumberland
Blyth, Northumberland
 
Blyth, Northumberland
Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Coastline Fish and Chips Restuarant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastline Fish and Chips Restuarant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.