We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Tuns

The Three Tuns
Wethersfield Road | Finchingfield, Finchingfield CM7 4NR, England
01371810165
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Lovely meal all served with a smile from the very pleasant landlord and his wife. Food was hot and the choice of vegetables excellent. Nice to see a landlord turned out in a suit and tie instead of rolled up sleeves and jeans. Nothing too much trouble made for a very nice visit. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shalford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Sunday lunch for 5 them 6 and in the end 8!! They dealt with the change in numbers with no issue whatsoever We had a superb meal with very enjoyable wine The service was excellent This is something we should do more often. And this defiantly the place to do it Thanks to the three tuns

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Golden Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Three Tuns organised my parents Golden Wedding buffet in December 2012. They were so friendly, accommodating and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. The food on the day was superb and the owners were great. It was a day to remember and we had lots of complimentary comments afterwards.
Thanks to the Three Tuns!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wethersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great quality food very reasonable price and served with a smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went and had a family breakfast at the three tuns for my birthday. We didn't book or call ahead even though we had 7 of us eating. The pub was quiet when we arrived but quickly got very busy. The owners were unfazed and seated us quickly, our food was cooked fresh and yet we didn't have to wait long and the quality was really good. Also they were very accommodating of our children (who do seem to like to take their time to choose) and managed to offer breakfast alternatives for the vegetarian that was eating with us. They made us feel very welcome and we will definitely go back again!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Simple classic british pub with lovely owners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

This pub is a bit of a hidden gem. Blink and you might drive past it. Always seems busy and the landlord Mike and his wife Maria bend over backwards to be helpful and give you their best attention. Sometimes they have live bands or some form of entertainment. The food is very good and there is a large selection of meals for all tastes.

This place also offers itself up as a wedding/event venue. They can erect a marquee over the car park that links seamlessly into the bar area. The provide a choice of wedding breakfast menu and can organise everything under one roof. They are right next door to a beautiful church called St John the Baptist in the picturesque village of Finchingfield. A truly spectacular place to tie the knot!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Three Tuns also viewed

Finchingfield, Essex
Finchingfield, Essex
 

Been to The Three Tuns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Tuns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.