We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality plus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kinloch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grogarry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kinloch
Save
You added Kinloch to your Saves list
Grogarry, Grogarry HS8 5RR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Grogarry B&B and Inns
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality plus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Wegg goes out of his way to make your visit a happy and enjoyable experience. The house is very comfortable and warm and there is a first class shower. We had dinner for 2 evenings and his cooking would put most chefs to shame. Wegg is a first class conversationalist and dinner was great fun---never a dull moment! Maxi the lab. I could have pinched.
A memorable visit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We spent a week at Kinloch fishing for Brown Trout. Wegg could not have been more friendly and helpful. The food is outstanding.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

We had an excellent couple of nights at Kinloch. Wegg was a generous and convivial host who made us feel like house guests and as did Wegg's lab. Maxi to our 2 dogs. Our room was very comfortable with a wonderful view out over Loch Druidibeg to the hills of South Uist. My assessment of the true quality of an hotel is the breakfast kippers and Wegg's are there with the best! If however you like PC conversation and don't like dogs, then Kinloch may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schweiz
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Quite a few years did passed, when I wrote the first tripadvisor review after beeing so nicely welcomed from Wegg. Now, 4 yrs later we returned and we were welcomed as we did never left!
The room is still wonderful, Wegg welcomed us with a nice warm tea, and also has a wonderful Dog names Maxi living with him.

Wegg is a fantastic cook and ordering dinner is highly suggested!
We will be back with Wegg and Maxi next time on our trip to the Uists

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Had a really superb 3 night stay with Wegg and his delightful chocolate labrador Maxi. Kinloch is situated just off the main road that goes through South Uist, it is a very quiet location (next to Loch Druidibeg) so if your looking for peace and quiet this would be your heaven. Kinloch is a beautiful bed & breakfast that makes visitors feel like they are staying as guests.
We had the double en - suite upstairs, it was very comfortable and spotlessly clean with views of the loch through the velux window.
Wegg is a superb host who does all his own cooking. We had an excellent evening meal of homemade Pate followed by Guinea Fowl And cheese & biscuits with a couple of glasses of red wine and plenty of stories to exchange with Wegg and the other guests Nick & Peter on a broad range of subjects that made the evening a pleasure.
Each morning we had a Full Scottish Breakfast that really set you up for the day ahead.
South Uist is a stunning place to visit with the Machair just a few minutes away by car and the plants you see are unique to that part of the world. With plenty of birdlife all over the island it truly is a special place.Although I didn't do any fishing you are spoilt for choice on the amount of lochs there is around the island.
Went to play golf at Askernish which for a 15 handicap was a challange with the sea breeze on every hole !!!
All in all a great place to stay with a superb host.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Kinloch is owned and run by Wegg Kimble and he really makes you feel as if you are staying as his guest at his home. The house is comfortable and charming, Wegg is a great cook and a great host, and if you like fly fishing, it's really a very special place. Spent a long and unforgettable weekend there with my son Charles and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and they are all very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Kinloch is quite simply the most welcoming B&B we have ever stayed in. The host, Wegg, is an interesting character, full of information about the island and a humourous slant on local "politics". He specialises in fishing groups but extends an equally warm welcome to those of us who don't quite see the allure of sitting in a boat on drifting across a small lochan for half the day (and don't even like to eat fish for dinner) - strange people, indeed! The accommodation is very comfortable (beautiful sitting-room); the upstairs is ideal for a family of three.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kinloch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinloch

Address: Grogarry, Grogarry HS8 5RR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > South Uist > Grogarry
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grogarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kinloch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.