We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magoebaskloof magic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glenshiel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Magoebaskloof
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenshiel Hotel
Save Saved
You added Glenshiel Hotel to your Saves list
R71 | PO Box 285, 0730, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Magoebaskloof
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Magoebaskloof magic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have stayed at Glenshiel twice in the last six months and my only disappointment is that it was for only one night each time as I used it as a stop on the way to the Kruger Park. the Hotel is located on a hill with magnificent views over the valley. and it's gorgeous when the mist rolls in. There are also gorgeous walks to be taken through the forest.
The service is impeccable - in fact the staff easily remembered us and we were given the same room we had previously stayed in, which is huge, lovely and quiet. On our second stay we were a large group, arriving at different times and the staff were so friendly and accommodating, waiting patiently until everyone had arrived before serving dinner.
The food is delicious with very generous portions. In fact be careful that you don't burst from all the food you get for breakfast.
I will certainly be back and this time I will stay for much longer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Glenshiel for one night on our way to the bush and what a treat. We were arriving late but the staff were extremely accommodating. A delicious 4 course dinner was served on arrival in front of a roaring fire. Service was spot on at all times. Comfortable beds with devine log fires. In the morning a delicious breakfast was served overlooking the mountains. I highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

During the long weekend we had a fantastic 3 nights stay at the Glenshield Hotel Great hotel, the hotel did not only had the tranquillity, lovely view, comfortable rooms but also the most professional staff.
Thank you to them for making us feel welcome and for the way they went out of their way to accommodate us and our little boy. The Glenshield Hotel staff proofed that service excellence is possible. The food was also out of this world - compliments to the chef.
You will definitely see us again in the future.
Thank you

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had a fireplace and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights over a long weekend in winter. Our first night we arrived at 9.30pm. We had phoned ahead to let them know and the excellent staff kept a table and the whole 4 course meal for us and served us in the dining room. Absolutely fantastic service the whole time. Staff were always friendly and helpful.

The rooms are large, clean and very comfortable. A newly laid fire awaited us every evening after dinner, which was amazing and very homely. Very peaceful and quiet surrounds with lots to do in the area.

Easy to find off the R71 a few kilometers past Haerntsberg. We highly recommend this great little gem of a hotel and will definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful setting and accommodation. Old country charm. Rooms spacious and neat. Joe and Annanias took good care of us. The food was excellent. A good venue for a private function like a birthday of wedding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location and easy to find. Roadworks cause long delays in getting there but that will pass. Our stay was brief but enjoyable. The rooms are comfortable and clean. I am not a fan of fire places in a bedroom but I know several of the people in our party did enjoy this. Service from the staff was superb - a special mention to Joe and Mishak - thank you. The hotel is in need of a good cleanup and paint on the outside if it wants to retain its 4Star status.

Room Tip: If travelling in winter, rather do not light the fire place in the room. It leaves the room smokey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Our sojourn was brief but enjoyable, stopping off for dinner only. The hotel is set in beautiful surroundings, marred only by the ongoing (ever?) roadworks. The food was simple but delicious, especially the chicken noodle soup.

Perhaps a little pricey for a set menu, but I'd definitely go back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Glenshiel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenshiel Hotel

Address: R71 | PO Box 285, 0730, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Magoebaskloof
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious 4 star all-inclusive country Getaway. Relax in style in the heart of the misty Magoebaskloof Mountains. 3.5 hours drive from Johannesburg or 30 minutes from Polokwane. 14 luxury rooms each with a romantic log fireplace and upmarket amenities. 4-course dinners and English breakfast included. Mountain and forest views. Outdoor activities include mountain biking, walking & hiking trails, a canopy tour over the Letaba River Gorge, birding, fly fishing, golfing, picnicking, quad-biking and horseback riding. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glenshiel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.