We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forest tranquility at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurisa Moya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magoebaskloof
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kurisa Moya
Save
You added Kurisa Moya to your Saves list
R71 from Polokwane | PO Box 280, 0730, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Forest tranquility at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days at Kurisa Moya during and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! The accommodation is very comfortable and the cabins are very well equipped and the setting deep in the magnificent indigenous forest is very special. Birding is top class and we enjoyed two morning outings with David Letsoalo and despite challenging weather conditions we still enjoyed some great sightings!

Room Tip: Definitely one of the forest cabins!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

First, one should realize that this is out of the way/off the beaten path and the roads to it can be a bit challenging. There is no outside electricity but there is some provided by solar energy which provides lighting. The second bed is up a rather steep ladder whose rungs were, unfortunately not all parallel to each other or the floor so a scamper down in the middle of the night to use the toilet might be an adventure. The kitchen is well appointed and the gas appliances work. We had dinner provided and they are a bit pricey but quite extensive and well prepared. It's also a bit of a walk to the chalets from the parking area but that leads to the blissful isolation. As noted in the title and by others, this is the place to stay for birders as birding is good on the grounds and guide David is superb. Lisa is a most accommodating hostess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This is a very special place. The location and particularly the birding is world class. It has some of the best bird guides in the country. We were lucky to have Patrick who jumped started us into the wonders of South African birds and forest wildlife. In the remaining four weeks of our trip we did not find anyone that matched his high standards. Lisa gave us a big welcome and met all our needs. The setting of Kurisa Moya is unmatched. We recommend a stay there not just for serious birders, but for anyone who wants a relaxing and peaceful experience in a wonderful part of Africa.

Room Tip: Chose a chalet in the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent part of our Easter break at the Thora Boloka cottage. It lies in a beautiful green forest far from everything. At night all sorts of animals roam around outside. The morning comes with birdsong and a lovely sunrise over the mountains in the east.
The cottage has six beds and is more than adequate for that number. Being self-catering, it has a large stove and oven. Perfect for cooking. There is an in-door and an out-door shower - if you like showering in the sunrise, it is perfect.
We walked in the breath-taking forest looking for tracks and animals. They offer birdwalks with excellent, highly knowledgeable guides. This is responsible tourism at its best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went for a weekend with our three month old, stayed at the Tora Boloka cottage, very comfortable and despite no electricity (everything works by gas and solar) found it very easy with the baby. What an incredible setting, absolutely magical - endless views over ranges and ranges of mountains. Wonderful varied walks, with clear directions available both in the cottage and online.

Room Tip: The cottage is ideal for one famIly - can sleep six (one double bed and four single beds) - open pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in the chalet situated in the forest. It's a magical and tranquil setting. Chalet is small, but more than adequate. Clean, cosy and very quaint. If you are a birder, then this is heaven! It is essential to book a guided birding tour with David Letsoalo for an unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: The chalets in the forest are very secluded and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My wife and I visited Kurisa Moya with another couple for a joined wedding anniversary. Our friends suggested Kurisa Moya as they heard that it has a very romantic setting and the birding around there is excellent.

The road from Pretoria to Kurisa Moya was pleasant to travel on. We left after work on the Friday and still had ample time to experience the picturesque sunset over the mountains. The moment we arrived at the farm we were welcomed by the beautiful indigenous forest and spectacular bird calls.

We stayed in the “Birdsong” forest cabin. Both the cabins are privately situated in the forest. Having no electricity was a dream and the gas stove, gas geyser and solar powered lights worked well. The well maintained, organized, fully furnished cabins were a pleasure to spend time in (There was even the roast ground coffee and a plunger!)

The staff at Kurisa Moya was what made the experience truly amazing. Lisa, the owner, was fantastic and will go out of her way to make you feel at home. David our bird guide was very knowledgeable and helped us find some very special birds including the Cape Parrot, Narina Trogon and a Bat Hawk. One of the most special birds was the Green Twin Spot which we saw after waiting for it about 2 hours. We saw it for about 1 minute and then it vanished into the bush.

The scenery was breath taking, the forest trails were marvelous and will keep you busy for hours. If you are looking for a tranquil and serene breakaway Kurisa Moya is the place for you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurisa Moya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurisa Moya

Address: R71 from Polokwane | PO Box 280, 0730, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Magoebaskloof
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurisa Moya Nature Lodge Guest Lodge Accommodation Restore your spirit Kurisa Moya Nature Lodge is only 3 - 4 hours from Johannesburg, but the privacy and tranquility offered at this Nature Lodge will truly restore your spirit. Kurisa Moya is a 422 hectare property in the Magoebaskloof area near Tzaneen, Polokwane in the Limpopo Province. Kurisa Moya is perched on the edge of the Drakensburg escarpment, so it has mesmerising views out over the lowveld. This soulful place embraces a pristine indigenous forest with massive moss-covered trees where ancient Yellow-woods carry an energy all of their own. Burbling streams make their way over boulders to the dams below. Here, nature's tranquility is broken only by booming Samango monkeys, croaking crimson-winged Knysna Turacos and Bushbuck barks. Kurisa Moya has mountains, rivers, indigenous forests and bushveld and offers accommodation in 3 unique venues - each private and tranquil. Activities include 7 marked walking paths, hiking trails, guided birding walks with South Africa's top local bird guide, 4x4 sunset drives, fly-fishing lessons, guided nature walks, Adventure Mountain Bike trails, village tours and home stays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurisa Moya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.