We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to end our visit to South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kurisa Moya

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magoebaskloof
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kurisa Moya
Save
You added Kurisa Moya to your Saves list
R71 from Polokwane | PO Box 280, 0730, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Pembury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great way to end our visit to South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having spent 2 weeks in the Kruger, Kurisa Moya was our last stop before returning home to the UK. We spent 2 nights there and the accommodation was superb, everything you could wish for and so quiet and peaceful. The weather could have been slightly kinder, it felt like we were back home when we braaied in the rain! Some wonderful walking, can definitely recommend the 'koppje walk with a view'. We had a days birding with Paul which allowed the keen birder amongst us to mop up on some of the birds he had missed. Paul worked incredibly hard and managed to find some difficult birds. We would definitely return to Kurisa Moya it's just a shame it's so far from the UK.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a truly magical experience. We are avid bird photographers and Kurisa Moya offered stunning opportunities. Our highlight by far and an experience we will remember for the rest of our lives was the incredible sightings of African Wood-Owls (Thanx to the wonderful knowledge and helpfulness of one of Kurisa's bird guides Paul). The forest cabin was unique, very special and so romantic, one feels like you are so far away from all of the stresses of daily life and I have never felt so relaxed and safe. Lisa the owner is a phenomenal host and is always available to make your stay all the more special. Just to add a little extra on the bird guide Paul, we had four target species: Orange-ground Thrush, Short-clawed Lark, Green Twinspot and of course the Wood-Owls, Paul was incredibly dedicated braving horrible weather finding the Thrush, walking long distances to find the Lark and staying up late to help us with the Owls. We got all our target species!
Thank-you again Lisa and Paul you made our trip truly amazing and you will be seeing us soon!

Room Tip: The best place to stay is definitely in the forest cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We found Kuriso Moya very relaxing and tranquil, even the late afternoon storms is calming. The perfect break away from City life. Amazing hikes in a magical forest! Kuriso is the only place we have ever returned to so many times for a get away in actual fact about 5 times in the last 8 years and we will most certainly return again for our 6th!

Room Tip: For a family we chose the Thora Boloka Cottage up in the mountains. Perfect for a family between 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A friend and I spent four nights at magical Kurisa Moya. We are birding enthusiasts and we were not disappointed. The bird guides, David and Paul were knowledgeable, enthusiastic and very friendly. Lisa is a welcoming and very helpful host and went out of her way to make our stay special. We did our own catering in a small cabin in the forest and were comfortable in every way. One can order meals which by all accounts are very good. Thank you to Lisa and her team for protecting a little piece of Paradise for all to share. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the Thora Boloka Cottage for a "breather" this past October. It was amazing. The cottage is set high on top of the mountain, with panoramic sweeping views as far as the eye can see. No electricity means you can completely switch off and reconnect with your partner, yourself, and your surroundings. Solar lights and candles provide a stunning ambiance for dinner time. A hammock on the stoep whisks you off to peaceful sleep. It was bliss. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Kurisa Moya is the one place I have to get to at least once a year! It is the most amazing place in this world. It is where I go to recharge, find peace.
The farmhouse is situated on the edge of a pine forest, few steps away from an indigenous forest. To walk through this forest is one of the most amazing experiences I have ever had. It is so incredibly peaceful. There are hundreds of birds there, and I am not a keen birder, but I am tempted to stop and listen and watch.
Time is lost while in the forest, and I always come out feeling completely renewed.
My family love this place, we have spent many wonderful nights both in the kitchen and around the fire, enjoying each other’s company.
This is soul food!
We will continue coming back :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pretoria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Wonderful, peaceful, beautiful. Not enough words to explain our stay at Kurisa Moya in Thora Boloka cottage. So much detail, creativeness, neat and perfectly clean.
Here you can really relax, enjoy nature, and much more. The Forest walk is spectacular. Unfortunately we are not birders, but enthusiastic photographers.
We had a lovely cooked dinner delivered to our cottage!
Thank you Lisa and staff for sharing you're piece of heaven with us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kurisa Moya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurisa Moya

Address: R71 from Polokwane | PO Box 280, 0730, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Magoebaskloof
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Magoebaskloof
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurisa Moya Nature Lodge Guest Lodge Accommodation Restore your spirit Kurisa Moya Nature Lodge is only 3 - 4 hours from Johannesburg, but the privacy and tranquility offered at this Nature Lodge will truly restore your spirit. Kurisa Moya is a 422 hectare property in the Magoebaskloof area near Tzaneen, Polokwane in the Limpopo Province. Kurisa Moya is perched on the edge of the Drakensburg escarpment, so it has mesmerising views out over the lowveld. This soulful place embraces a pristine indigenous forest with massive moss-covered trees where ancient Yellow-woods carry an energy all of their own. Burbling streams make their way over boulders to the dams below. Here, nature's tranquility is broken only by booming Samango monkeys, croaking crimson-winged Knysna Turacos and Bushbuck barks. Kurisa Moya has mountains, rivers, indigenous forests and bushveld and offers accommodation in 3 unique venues - each private and tranquil. Activities include 7 marked walking paths, hiking trails, guided birding walks with South Africa's top local bird guide, 4x4 sunset drives, fly-fishing lessons, guided nature walks, Adventure Mountain Bike trails, village tours and home stays. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kurisa Moya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.