We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A(nother) piece of jewelry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alsisar Mahal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alsisar Mahal to your Saves list
Alsisar Mahal
Alsisar Village | District Jhunjhnu, Alsisar 331025, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A(nother) piece of jewelry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A majestic piece of architecture in the middle of the village, away from the touristic path. Take your time for a stroll on the dusty small roads, take a look at the haveli ruins, walk back to the palace and listen to the women praying and singing in the temple. At the end of the day you deserve dinner in that amazingly painted hall!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and liked exploring the Alsisar village. We look forward to welcoming you again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    32
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
22
50
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southport
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

In a small town and yet with free Internet, great setting, hotel superb with good service. Food was ok but not great. Open air art gallery! Watch out for the bar prices. There expensive and then they add 25% tax and 10% service. A large gin and tonic cost me nearly £6!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your valuable feedback. We will definitely try to improve our food quality. We look forward to serving you again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The beauty of the mahal lies in the fact that all the rooms are different in layout and look. We went went the mahal had full occupancy at the time of new year. We had problems with the service. Food was okay.
Overall the mahal has a good feel. We used to walk down to the village for a walk, drive down around alsisar while staying there or just stay at the resort and play games.
The old and the new mahal has been blended well. The view from the terrace is very nice. The old rooms certainly have the old world charm. The new rooms need that little touch to make them appear better in terms of furniture and lighting.
Overall a nice place for friends and groups.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar. Just check if its in the new mahal or the old renovated part. The old rooms c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much your feedback. We will definitely incorporate your suggestions and try to provide quintessential Rajasthani experiences to our guests. We hope to see you again, soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night on 14 October 2012. We had a superb room, the food was very good and the ambience in this heritage hotel excellent. In particular the restored decoration of the dining room and reception area super.
We were here on a tour and stayed in Alsisar to see the Havelis. Most interesting.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Alsisar Village. We have worked very hard on restoring the dinning hall (and the rest of the property) and we are thrilled that you liked the dinning area. Thank you once again. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludwigsburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Then this hotel should be your choice. Located in a small village in the nowhere with some other good havelis you will find the very huge and good restored palace. Fantastic dining hall with royal atmosphere and very excellent food/ service

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Your feedback means a lot to us. Thank you so much for writing in. We hope, we'll get to serve you again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this property for 2 nights as a family of four w/2 young children. We were the only guests at this magnicent palace. It has been restored just enough to give you modern conveniences, but still retain plenty of its historical charm. We thought the staff were helpful and happy. The town of Alsisar is a lovely, small Indian town with a few fanastic frescoed havelis. We found the food at the hotel very good, but we don't know much about Indian food. It tasted great and we didn't get sick. What more could you ask for? It didn't appear that our sheets were fresh on our bed, but that is the only thing I would could honestly say was a negative about this hotel. The assistant manager (I think that was his role) spoke excellent English and was so delightful when we ran into him in town. He took us to his home to meet his new baby and we really enjoyed hearing him talk about this special, small village.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We apologise if you didn't find the bedsheet clean. We would be extremely grateful if you could please bring such concerns to the management's notice right away. I am sure the staff would have done everything possible to make your stay comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again and making your holiday a memorable one. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned from the most amazing Indian wedding in Alsislar Hotel.

A large group had travelled from Ireland to attend a family wedding in the palace. The venue is out of this world and all the staff are very helpful to a person.

All the room are quite large and full of Indian character while also slipping in descrete mod cons like a/c, tea and coffee facilities etc ....

The owner and his wife were descretely ever present over the two days and very helpfully gave us a detailed history of the palace and its surroundings which we found very interesting.

All in all while it is a long long way Ireland it was well worth the effort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DhruvSingh, Owner at Alsisar Mahal, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. It means a lot to us that you enjoyed your stay at Alsisar Mahal. Also, we are honoured that the wedding at the Alsisar Mahal was up to your expectations. We did our best to ensure that the wedding was a memorable affair for everyone. We enjoyed having you stay with us. Hope we'll get to see you again soon. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsisar Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsisar Mahal

Address: Alsisar Village | District Jhunjhnu, Alsisar 331025, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Alsisar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Alsisar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsisar Mahal is the most recent addition to the Alsisar Group. This magestic palace is situated in village Alsisar which is 23 kms from district headquarter 'Jhuhjhunu' in Rajasthan. This region, known as “Shekhawati,” is renowned for its wall frescoes. Meticulous care has been taken while refurbishing this heritage fort so as to revive it back to its original glory. The Alsisar Mahal showcases the rich heritage of the Shekhawati region of Rajasthan. The regal magnificence of the architecture of Alsisar Mahal and the splendour of its beautifully decorated interiors are as unique and captivating as is its history. The walls incorporate traditional wall painting, using vivid colors and patterns. Its expansive paved courtyards with quaint lawns and time aged trees lend it distinctive character and it enchants you in its spell, transporting you to the romance and grand style of another world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Alsisar Mahal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alsisar Mahal Hotel Alsisar
Mahal Hotel Alsisar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsisar Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.