We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat in the rainforest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Binna Burra Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Binna Burra Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Binna Burra Road, Lamington National Park, Beechmont, Queensland 4211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat in the rainforest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited Binna Burra during our 3 week visit to Brisbane. What a fantastic find. If you like stunning scenery, tranquil forests, rustic, clean accommodation with thankfully no TVs, then I would recommend this. The food was excellent but don't expect fancy stuff, plenty of it and with morning coffees, afternoon teas, cheese platters at 5 and a packed lunch for guided walks, you aren't going to go hungry!
The guides and rangers were always around and happy to impart their knowledge even outside the normal working hours!! Everyone was very friendly and we learnt a lot about the environment and microclimate of the region. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your five star review. It's great to know you really enjoyed and appreciated Binna Burra Lodge. Our back to nature ethos is what sets us apart from other accommodation, and our no-nonsense home-style cooking is great after a day of bush walking. I will pass your comments on to our team of friendly staff. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    64
    18
    15
    14
See reviews for
45
81
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First morning, no guide for Coomera Falls walk. Second morning great time on flying fox. $20 each now, use to be free. Only 1 guide now, use to be two.Guest was running ropes back.Why only 1 guide when they made $200+, and what about OHS and extra work load for 1 guide. Everyone use to walk down together, chatting, excited, sharing, but now everyone walks down on their own; probably because there's only 1 guide.Then there's no lunch when you get back:( Day 2 bush dance was cancelled. Now We're really dissappointed.We were told the guide was sick;probably sick because of the double shift, anyway why are they depending on just one person.And where's the MANAGER? Slack effort! ARTHUR GROOM would be rolling in his grave.So they put on a movie of "Rangers around the world", not the movie of the pioneer history of this fabulous place and its people.The food was excellent tonight 4/1/14. Other meals have been ordinary.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologise that our guide was ill and unable to take you on the walk to Coomera Falls and host the Bush Dance. Unfortunately these things might happen on a rare occasion. There has been a charge on the Flying Fox for many years now (at least 7) - this has never been a guest issue. With regards to operating with 1 guide being an OH&S issue, I can assure you this is not the case. We limit the number of participants and operate under strict guidelines. The Manager was on a day off when you brought this complaint to the Reception desk (he works 5 - sometimes 6 days per week), and I believe the staff also offered you his mobile number to contact him direct. With regards to the movie that was played not being the one about the pioneer history of Binna Burra - we show this on a regular basis - just not on the particular night in question. I am pleased you enjoyed your dinner on the night of 4/1/14 and have passed this onto our Chef. I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Binna Burra Lodge this time around. We work very closely with the family of Arthur Groom and they are aware of our operating procedures. They support us in our endeavours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived at the Binna Burra lodge after a steep climb up the hill, which seemed a million miles away from the Gold Coast below to a wonderful rainforest location! We stayed two nights in one of the 13 heritage listed Casuarina cabins and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our cabin was cosy, it had a comfortable double bed and bunk bed, a basin with tea making facilities and a wardrobe. Made of hewn wood timbers and wooden roof slates it was indeed rustic and this wooden construction is carried through to the inside. We struck a cold period in August, but the reverse cycle air con heated the room up well. These cabins, as noted are heritage listed and there is simply nowhere to install ensuite facilities. However, the short under-cover walk down to the communal shower and toilet block was fine. If you book these cabins it is quite clearly stated that this is the situation. Everything was cleaned regularly and we had access to the laundry block as well.
The facilities in the Lodge were great. Just in from Reception there is a large communal sitting room which had a welcome roaring fire lit when we arrived in the late afternoon. There is also a Reading Room upstairs with a treasure trove of interesting reading material. The Dining Room had absolutely splendid views. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful.
There is so much to do here, walks for all levels of fitness, experienced guides to assist you and a real effort has been made to provide fun and educational activities for children. Binna Burra is an opportunity to experience the rainforest at first hand.
If you want something that's quite unique in a rainforest setting, rustic with historical interest yet with mod cons then Binna Burra is well worth considering.

Room Tip: Be aware of the range of accommodation options on offer and that the Casuarina cabins have no ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. It's a great drive up to Binna Burra isn't it? And it seems so far away, yet it's only 45 minutes from the coast. As you stayed in one of our oldest cabins, the Casuarina, you would have seen the amazing drop-slab timber work from 1934. Although it doesn't have a bathroom, if you're here to go bushwalking, it's still a nice cosy somewhat romantic heritage experience. If you were thinking of returning soon, take a look at our current summer specials - not to be missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We were in the sky lodge. Views were fantastic. Just a really nice remote place to relax and unwind.
Make sure you load up on enough groceries to last your stay as it's a long drive (relatively for us) to the nearest town that had a grocery store.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your review. There is no beating the views from the Sky Lodges. I think that just about says it all! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caboolture, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The relaxing old world atmosphere of Binna Burra is something special. Set on top of a ridge surrounded by rainforest it is the perfect spot to wind down. The staff are helpful and cheery and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The accommodation is cosy without the distractions of TV, clocks or radio. When dining in the restaurant, everyone is treated like family, with the chef and team producing great tasting food and plenty of it.
The views from the rooms and the lodge surrounds are breathtaking. Walking into the Lamington National Park each day is a great way to reconnect with the world.
Thank you for a great stay - we are already looking at coming back next year.

Room Tip: Stay in the a Acacia Rooms with the ensuite, they are small but cosy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Hi Mark. Thank you for a wonderful review on your stay at Binna Burra Lodge. Everyone comments on how friendly our staff are - it makes all the difference. It's great that you got into the Park for walks every day and really got back to nature - that's what we are all about. If you are looking at coming back soon, see our website for some super deals that are on. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

A beautiful place nestled amongst the rain forest of Lamington National Park. A great place to have a mini break from the hustle and bustle. Very friendly staff and a cosy room . All our food was included in price from afternoon tea to a buffet dinner and breakfast served in a dining room with beautiful views . Food is what you expect for buffet style. Quiet enjoyable, breaky was great, but you don't go to Binna Burra for the food. You go to experience the rain forests of Qland
The teas house has very disappointing food which is a shame could be so much more.. .Lots of bush walking tracks to explore

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you appreciate all aspects of Binna Burra Lodge, and the reason that it is here....the access world heritage listed Lamington National Park. We are a great escape from the city, yet not too far to drive. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Good staff, cosy room with balcony on the rain forest, great guided walks, amazing location,very good breackfast in the lovely dining room .we had a very good time during the guided rainforest walk where the guide Dean let us know a lot of information about trees, bush food and birds.Perfect for our honeymoon! Thank you BBLodge :)see you...

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
We are so pleased you had such a fulfilling stay at Binna Burra Lodge on your honeymoon. We have passed your wonderful comments onto our staff. We hope to see you back again on your 1st Anniversary, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Binna Burra Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binna Burra Mountain Lodge

Address: Binna Burra Road, Lamington National Park, Beechmont, Queensland 4211, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Beechmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Beechmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Binna Burra Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Binna Burra Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binna Burra Mountain Hotel Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.