We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sky Lodge Studio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Binna Burra Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Binna Burra Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Binna Burra Mountain Lodge
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Binna Burra Road, Lamington National Park, Beechmont, Queensland 4211, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Byron Bay, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sky Lodge Studio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and i bought 2 nights for $500.00 off Wotif. The room was really nice with amazing outlook over the mountains. When we arrived it was hot & so was our room, to our disappointment there was no a/c, only a fan and the bed was supposed to be a king but was two king singles put together, which felt like a fault line of an earthquake down the middle. The pillows & linen were comfy & fireplace was nice. For cooking though the kitchette is very small & there is no exhaust fan above where u cook so we chose to cook on the BBQs at the campsites so we didn't smell out the room. The DVD player & tv in our room were cheap brands & the picture & sound were below average.
We brought all our own food to cook for the weekend as we weren't keen on the $45 / head dinner buffet which we thought was expensive for a buffet and that was the only dinner option available. My wife & I thought it would be have been great if there was a nice a la carte restaurant to dine in here.
We chose to go to the Teahouse for brekkie on my bday which was a let down. The food was below average no choice aval for breads just white tip top bread & they brought our meals out after a long wait only to inform us that they ran out of bacon & said they would bring out a plate of bacon for us later!!!! Also service was lacking there, tables were being dragged setting up for something whilst our breakfast was served late without bacon, a big letdown as we both ended up wishing we had cooked breakfast ourselves as it would have been tastier & more enjoyable.
The Gwongoorool pool walk was nice, beautiful water hole down the bottom great for a swim.
Really for $250 / night breakfast even just a continental should be included, instead they charge you $25 / head for buffet breakfast at the lodge.
Also, they require you to clean kitchen & put everything away and take rubbish out to the bins before you leave or you will be charged $50 the rubbish requirement we thought was abit much seeing we are paying a lot of money to stay here there should be some service included for the price.
All in all we had a very relaxing weekend away, there were just a few things in the studio which should be addressed & the service & food at the Teahouse should be improved.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Guest Relations Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review our wonderful Sky Lodges. It's true that the views are certainly amazing! At an altitude of 800 meteres above sea level, it is much cooler up here than on the coast which is why the need for air-con has never been an issue. It's another reason we have fire places & heaters in the Sky Lodges (and the fans if it does get a bit warmer).
Our King Beds also split into twin beds for practical configerations for our conference groups. You will find this is the case in most hotels.
It's true that the Studios only have a small kitchenette. I would certainly recommend a 1 bed apartment rather than a studio for those planning to self-cater all meals. The one bedroom apartment has a full kitchen, a separate living room and bedroom, and a larger balcony with a BBQ. It's only another $50 per night.
Dinner in the dining room is only $40 for Sky Lodge guests, which is a bargain for a 3 course dinner with tea & coffee. You also get to indulge in our cheese and biscuits prior to dinner.
We are very sorry to hear about the unfortunate 'bacon' incident at the Teahouse. I have passed a copy of your review to our Food & Beverage manager to ensure this does not happen again.
With regards to the $50 cleaning fee, this is only an extra charge if guests leave the Sky Lodges in a very dirty state.
In general it's great that you had a relaxing weekend and we would love to see you back enjoying Laminton National Park and the Sky Lodges in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    64
    19
    15
    14
See reviews for
46
82
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked one of the Sky Lodges for a week and brought plenty of food and drink woth us. The apartment had a spectacular view. At night, we could see Brisbane, Gold Coast and O'Reillys. By day we watched lots of birds in the nearby trees, and the constantly changing colors of hills and valleys in the area. Even the spa bath has a great view.

The apartment is nicely fitted out. It was cold enough the first couple of nights to enjoy the fireplace and the heater in the bedroom. Later in the week it was much warmer and we enjoyed sitting out on the deck in the evenings. Kitchen utensils are fairly basic. No grater, no juicer, and the lowest setting on the gas cooker is still quite high. There was a wok burner, but no wok. Lighting on the kitchen bench icould be better too.

It is beautifully peaceful and there is a real sense of contact with nature. We will be back!!

Room Tip: If you don't want to cart your luggage up and down steps, ask for a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you, Jenny, for reviewing our Sky Lodges. Yes, the views are fantastic but is their proximity to the Lamigton National Park and the extensive network of walking tracks at the eastern end that is the real clincher.

I'm glad you spent several days because you are right - the view, the colours, the lights and the clouds are different every day. I look forward to meeting you when you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The campsite at Binna Burra is very nice and great value for the price. It is located right next to the rainforest and has beautiful tent and camper van sites located under the trees with lots of shade and excellent amenities. There is a great restaurant located nearby which does great meals and snacks. It is especially lovely at dawn and dusk but does get busy when the day trippers arrive around 10am or so. After they leave, the camp site is very quiet and peaceful and you can enjoy the wonderful bird life and tranquility of the Park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Hi Scott. Thank you for contributing your review to TripAdvisor. We have had lots of good feedback in recent months about the cleanliness of our campsite amenities block. That is a great tibute to a couple of our staff who look after the campground area.

You commented on the great meals and snacks. We have recently introduced a simple a la carte menu there on a Saturday night which is proving popular with locals as well as campers and some of our Sky Lodge guests. We are committed to delivering the best guest experience that we can with the facilities that we have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crows Nest, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We visited Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, as we'd felt a 'near-by' more famous mountain stay was grossly over priced, and was pleasantly surprised. The walks were wonderful, the night time guided walk was fun and interesting, seeing the powerful owl was a treat. We found the rooms very clean and comfortable, basic, but it added to the charm. The shared bathroom faculty was immaculately clean. The dinning was a gem, food could not have been better. As one of us is gluten intolerance, when asked if there was other options the staff were incredibly helpful, the food delicious. The history of the Lodge was interesting, and the cheese plate in the library afternoon was fun. We'll visit again.

Room Tip: In very cold weather choosing a room with own W/C might be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks, Craig, for your kind words. The cheese platter is a bit of a tradition and it is a great gathering point for guests to mingle and meet new friends. I am glad that our staff were able to look after you so well with providing gluten-free meal options.

As well as the powerful owl, if you are quick enough you will also see the little micro-bats that sometimes whiz by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was an amazing place, just 10 minutes in to a walk and you are in an environment unlike any other. Full of natural history and sensory overload. Stunning. We stayed in the middle range cabins which were very comfortable with views of mountains and palm fronds and bush turkeys outside the door. Top quality matresses, linen and pillows. We took the breakfast bed and dinner option. All meals had good vegetarian options. The rangers were really friendly and knowledgable. Quiz night was fun and challenging! Staff very helpful. Watch out for ticks - staff can assist if you get one on you. Give way on the really narrow mountain roads until you can see that it's clear ahead. For us it was expensive, and you can go as a day visitor, but it was a great opportunity to stay very comfortably in an extraordinary mountain location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Thank you, Clarice, for sharing your experience and your photos from your recent stay at the Lodge. While we are proud of our man-made history (Binna Burra Lodge is a heritage listed property), it is the natural history in the surrounding areas that is really important and I am so glad that you made that observation.

I had another guest from Canberra last week agree with your opening remarks. He told me that why he keeps coming back to Binna Burra is because we are only a 10 minute stroll from the start of a truly extensive network of walking tracks. He reckons we have the widest variety of accessible tracks anywhere in Australia. And he has visited lots of national parks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Binna Burra Lodge is set in in beautiful surrounds. During our stay we went on a few walks and saw some local wildlife including a large snake. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast, dinner and lunch in the dining room and could not find any fault with the quality or quantity of food served. We required a special diet and were pleasantly surprised at how well our needs were met. This is in contrast to some hotels we have stayed at around Australia, Our accommodation was in a Casuarina cabin which was basic. Perhaps the fridge could be moved from beside the bed, kept me awake on first night. Will be back again, very impressed.

Room Tip: Casuarina cabins, in which we stayed are basic but comfortable, toilet and shower block beside thes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you Kev for your recent review. I am sure that other readers will appreciate your comments as much as I do.

We try and cater to special dietary requirements to the best of our ability and you are not the first person to be "pleasantly surprised at how well our needs were met".

Lamington National Park is a great place. And Binna Burra is a great place to work and visit. I was happy with how many repeat guests we had staying here over the school holidays. It's always nice to hear their recollections of earlier visits which might be anywhere from 10 weeks ago to 10 years ago. So I'm thrilled that you are about to join their ranks with your "will be back again" promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

A delightful treat after a day walking in the bush. You can stay in the safari tents which is the budget accommodation about two hundred metres from the lodge facilities. You can save more by eating at the cafe up the road.
The rooms proper are not fancy - they are 'heritage rooms' - many years old and quite small with shared bathroom facilities. Not luxury but that's not what this place is about.
The meals are very substantial buffet style in a fabulous dining room with amazing views but not for the budget-conscious.

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BinnaBurra, Manager at Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi Bill. I liked the name of your review, "a delightful treat". As you observed, we have our Safari tents and our lodge accommodation. I would like to mention that only 13 of the 40 lodge cabins have shared bathroom facilities. These are our original "Casuarina" cabins. Our 27 "Acacia" cabins all have their own private ensuite bathroom.

But as you rightly pointed out, the mountain lodge and campground are not necessarily about luxury. What they are about is being a welcome haven for bush walkers and nature lovers - clean comfortable rooms, wholesome meals and friendly staff. Instead, it’s our new Sky Lodges that aim to provide the luxury touch for romantic getaways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Binna Burra Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Binna Burra Mountain Lodge

Address: Binna Burra Road, Lamington National Park, Beechmont, Queensland 4211, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Scenic Rim > Beechmont
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty lodging in Beechmont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Binna Burra Mountain Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Otel so you can book your Binna Burra Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Binna Burra Mountain Hotel Gold Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Binna Burra Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.