We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base camp for summer adventures!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Christie Lodge to your Saves list
Christie Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Avon
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great base camp for summer adventures!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We loved staying at Christie Lodge this past week! We were able to stock up on food and spread out our stuff. The hotel is super convenient to shopping and restaurants, and we had a beautiful view of the slopes. From Avon, we hiked Booth Falls, Conundrum Hot Springs, and Mt. of the Holy Cross. We climbed at the Klettergarden and Lime Creek. It was wonderful to come home to Christie Lodge's hot tubs and friendly staff. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Christie Lodge to serve as your summer base camp and taking the time to share your comments. We would love to see some pictures from your hikes! Feel free to find us Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter and share your experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and welcoming staff. Until next time!


Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    112
    60
    34
    30
See reviews for
99
84
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My family and I stayed here for 7days and loved it. We had a one bedroom and a pull out bed from the couch. I really liked the small kitchen so we could fix our own food and not spend so much on eating out. I think that the rooms do need central air however our stay was pretty cool weather. I really liked the in house library and how they allowed my daughter to have a book so she could finish it even though we were leaving in two days. The staff are all very nice and will help in any way they can. Our family enjoyed the two restaurants located in the lodge itself and it was so easy to just grab a sandwich and go and not have to go out on any special trips. I would totally recommend this to my friends and other family.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room next to the ice machine, it gets way to loud in the morning when you are tryin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for choosing the Christie Lodge for your extended stay. We are pleased to hear you saved some money using our partial kitchen to its greatest capability as we are very centrally located! The summer before last, we installed portable air conditioners in every suite and it has really helped with the warmer days of summer. We try to treat every guest as if they were our own family members and are extremely delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our staff.


Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

There were six of us travelling 3 adults and 3 children. We stayed in a three bedroom unit. I really like how each bedroom has its own bathroom. The place was somewhat old but had been impeccably maintained and was in excellent condition . The staff there was great. Everything we asked for they helped us with immediately. The only thing that was missing was there was no central air. I understand that because the property has been designed for winter not summer. The hot tubs and pools and everything was taken care of very well. Overall we were very happy with our stay there and would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to check out the Vail Valley area. It was very centrally located as we had things to do in Breckenridge and Glenwood Springs. Thanks to all the staff that took very good care of us while we were there.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed the greater part of your stay. Families really enjoy the three bathrooms our three bedroom suites provide. We recently installed portable air conditioner units in all of our suites. This works very well for the majority of our lodge, however our third floor, three bedroom units still require some advance planning to keep the rooms cool on the hotter days of summer. Our front desk staff can offer suggestions to keep those rooms cool during your visit. You are very welcome for the friendly service and we extremely appreciative of your recommendations. Looking forward to hosting you again!


Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We used the Christie Lodge as a base for exploring the surrounding area. Our first glimpse was of all the stairs and we were very relieved to discover elevators! The workers here must stay in great shape...The staff was pleasant and helpful and the facilities were very nice. The room was nice and well furnished and supplied but the air conditioning (which was some sort of machine placed in the fireplace) did not reach the bedroom and the bedroom ceiling fan and floor fan did not keep the bedroom cool enough for me (but it wasn't really hot either). Our unit was roomy enough for 2 but might be tight for more. One minus was the lack of wifi in the room. We also found the tv to have somewhat limited channel choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Elevators are helpful for many of our guests and we are happy they were of assistance for you as well! The Christie Lodge recently installed portable air conditioners in response to guest’s dissatisfaction regarding the rooms being too warm over a few portions of the summer. Most of the time they do a fine job, but there are a few periods that are tougher to keep cool for those that enjoy a chilly room temperature. Our front desk staff can offer suggestions on how to keep those rooms cool during your visit. Additionally, we are in the process of installing wireless internet in every room and plan to have it up and running by this upcoming winter season! Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we look forward to hosting you again!


Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I was at the Christie for 41/2 months while on a consultancy contract nearby (12/2013-04/2014). I found everything at the Christie, from staff to amenities, to be of a very high quality and value for my employer. The staff especially make the Christie a wonderful place to stay regardless of age. They are helpful, friendly, and professional all around.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
To hear such a pleasant review from a guest that stayed 4 ½ months with us is music to our ears! Our friendly staff and service is the backbone to our operation and we could not function without them. Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to your next visit!


Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very nice front desk staff. We had lots of quesitons and they were very helpful. We got the room that we booked no moving around. Being able to check out paddles for the ping pong was a nice for my kids. We went over memorial weekend, it was quiet and easy to drive around. The conceirge was great about suggestion a place to hike that met our requirements, (distance, fitness level). We prepared one of our dinners in the unit, it was nice to have a microwave and refrigerator. We did not dine in the restaurant so we have no feedback for thier food or service, but if at all like the front desk staff I suspect it is also good.

Room Tip: We were on the east side next to the pool, this is also not that far from the ping pong tables. Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Ridge, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I spent 12 nights here and have had a great experience! The staff has been excellent, professional and friendly. The suites are well furnished and well maintained. A beautiful location regardless of the season. The open atrium can get a little noisy, but does make for a nice area.

Room Tip: Rooms tha face I-70 do get a little noisy from the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christie Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer DVD players, two flat screen TV’s, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid’s activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.