We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Atmosphere, Convenient Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christie Lodge

Save Saved
You added Christie Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Christie Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Avon
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Atmosphere, Convenient Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff at the Christie Lodge was the best I have encountered in all of my travels. The concierge was incredibly helpful and showed genuine concern that we enjoyed our stay. Each day had planned activities, which was great since the weather was "up and down". Everything was very clean!

Room Tip: Ask for a "square" room, away from the ping pong tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    108
    59
    34
    30
See reviews for
98
79
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

As mentioned often, it is odd to enter your quarters, through bedroom. Worse is bed is cornered into wall, because of small space for one bedroom unit. Bed itself was very hard, made sleeping a challenge. Pool and spas fairly ordinary, nothing special. Kitchen simple no stove just microwave.
TVs 32' could have larger in living room. Plenty of parking, staff friendly and helpful. Convenient to restaurants and shopping, close to freeway, which was good and bad. Overall for Vail area, should have been better.

Room Tip: If you are on street, expect a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Sales at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello September guest. Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments. I am sorry that your stay was uncomfortable. We replaced all of our mattresses a couple of years ago with good quality mattresses, but it is hard to account for personal taste. We do offer foam toppers upon request for those guests that prefer a softer sleeping surface. We also have room configurations that have the bed centered to the wall. Hope you try us again the next time you are in the area.

Kindest regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Place is a little dated but clean and the staff is top notch. Always ready with a friendly greeting or helpful info for the area. We stayed a week in September. Restaurants and grocery within 2-3 blocks. Avon is nice small town just down the valley from Vail. Has a Walmart lots of places to eat, but with out the Vail prices. Was a nice base to visit surrounding towns. . Easy drive east to Vail, Frisco or Breck. South to Leadville or Aspen. West to Edwards, Glenwood Canyon, and Glenwood Springs. Beaver Creek Resort and slopes right up the mountain.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk you want a room you can roll your luggage to. Most of rooms can only be reached...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Sales at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and comment about our staff. Our staff works very hard to make sure our guests have a great stay. It sounds like you had a good change to visit the surrounding area and experience what Colorado has to offer. Hope you see you again soon.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have to agree with most other people who have posted about Christie Lodge. The main drawback is the bizarre layout and all of the stairs. Once we figured out where things were we really enjoyed our stay. We had a one bedroom unit. It was a little strange having the bed pushed up against the wall, but the bed was comfortable and we slept well. We wondered since the bedroom is just inside the door and we could hear people walking by. Turned out not to be a problem. The kitchen area was small, but large enough for us to fix breakfast and snacks which was all we were interested in doing. Living room was comfortable and the balcony was very nice. We had a 3rd floor unit facing the mountains. Thunderstorms rolled in every night so we had a great view of the lightning over the mountains. The air conditioner worked well to keep the unit cool during the day while we were gone and then it cooled off at night so we could open the door and turn the fan on. Front desk and housekeeping personnel were friendly and helpful. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: High floor, away from the freeway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Christie Lodge and taking the time to share your experience. The lodge is comprised of three stories enclosed in an expansive atrium. It can get a little confusing when guests first arrive depending on the room location, so I am happy you oriented yourself quickly and enjoyed the great views from our third floor units. We have over 500 live plants in our common areas that our guests like as well. Hope to see you back again soon!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

lodge type atmosphere
may be wonderful in the winter but summer not so much, only 1 ceiling fan over bed area
a/c unit attached to fireplace so only living area gets cooled off
sliding patio door is only through breeze you will get
they provide box fans but they are very noisy
bed was small & uncomfortable for a couple
makeshift kitchen only had electric skillet

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear that you felt your room was too warm during your stay. Since we installed the air-conditioning units last summer, we have had very positive feedback from our guests on how it has helped cool down the rooms during the hotter weeks of July and August. I am disappointed to hear you did not sleep well since all of our rooms have queen size beds that were all replaced 2 years ago when we upgraded all of our rooms. All of our kitchens have full size microwaves, toasters, kitchen sinks and dishwashers along with a small refrigerator. We hope you return and request a first floor unit on the north side of the building if you are sensitive to the heat. Hope you had a safe trip home.

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Staff is always very friendly and attentive. The resort itself is very clean and well maintained. My husband and I have been timeshare owners here for more than 20 years, and the improvements to the building, amenities, common areas, pools, hot tubs, grounds and access keep us coming back year after year. So pleased with the new wheelchair ramps and furniture. I couldn't be more pleased with the management and staff. Well done, Christie Lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms 100, 102, 202, 300, and 302 are the largest single bed rooms. If you want quiet, stay in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest's experience. We are very appreciative that you have been an owner for such a long time and we look forward to having you back at the Christie Lodge in the years to come.

Kindest regards,

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

About as close to beavercreek without the beavercreek prices one can get. Close to 70 and walking distance to shopping grocery store is across the street even a package store. We stayed w our rci. We r in the center of the east wing rm 271 and this room was off the front if the lodge w views if mountains of beavercreek. Avg condition for rooms typical resort rooms small but efficient. About 275 sq ft. But close to spa and table tennis which are located on first floor. If you have problems w stairs ask for first floor as upper levels are split and require steps. Subway on site and. Bicycle rental too which we took advantage of for a nice ride to the next tow. If Edwards. All in all lots of parking ga grills for cooking out. Outdoor and indoor pool. 4 spas a basketball court and on site activities for kids. A great place to use a a homebase while exploring or hiking in the area. We r covering the pro cycling challenge for the third year and. Others stayed here as well all had an enjoyable stay. Thanks

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, Director of Resort Sales and Marketing at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Welcome back to the Christie Lodge! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for pointing out that we are with-in walking distance from both a City Market and a Walgreen's. All of our one bedroom suites actually average 420 square feet and offer a small kitchen area and balcony. We are continually adding activities for the kids and in addition to our indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs, we have added a new activity center that offers Wii time and cookie decorating for the kids. We hope to see you back next year!

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christie Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer DVD players, two flat screen TV’s, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid’s activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.