We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Christie Lodge to your Saves list
Christie Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Satisfactory stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2008

I took a quick side trip on my way back to Canada from Vegas to ski for 2 days in Vail. The Christie Lodge had very reasonable rates over the Christmas holidays. Below are some of my observations:

Pros:
1)Great location, close to Beaver Creek, the lodge has a bus stop right out front. Also a reasonable bus ride to Vail ski resort.

2) Accomodations were spacious- had kichenette, fireplace, bedroom which was more than enough for one person.

3) Subway on site for a quick bite to eat.

4) Ski rental shop right on site so that I did not have to waste time at the ski hill waiting for rentals.

5) Very helpful and friendly concierge.


Cons:
1) No luggage storage. On my last day after checkout, I had to store my belongings with housekeeping while I went to Vail to ski.

2) Check out is really early: 10am

3) Long walk from check in counter to the room. Difficult if you are in ski boots with those stairs.

4) Wi-Fi is slooooooooooooooooow.

5) Some of the hotel staff just ignored me when I asked for help.

Given the good location and the fact that I did not have a vehicle, I thought Christie Lodge was a good value for what I paid but don't expect 5 star service

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    133
    68
    39
    34
See reviews for
113
104
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2008

If you like the following, you will love the Christie Lodge:

Cheap dated furnishings like being in a 2 bit motel.

Paper thin walls and ceilings where you can lie awake past 1 am (as I did) while the people above you are walking back and forth thus rendering sleep impossible.

Having breakfast at the resaurant at the lodge, and when you order a side of ham an get a "single" thin slice of Canadian bacon cut in half and served on a saucer and being charged $3.00 !!!

If you are a skier, and don't mind paying $92.00 a day for lift tickets, I recommend you stay at a hotel on or near the slopes so you won't have to take 2 buses to get to the mountain.

Ed

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2008

I will start with the positive and there are a couple of positives if you try hard to see them.

(1) If you have children the layout reminds you, as stated by my kids, of "staying inside a mall". The property is laid out in such a way that you walk through an open atrium that smells of chlorine past the hot tub, the ping pong table, the arcade, the cheesy restaurant, and the small pool as you wonder to your room inside the dome. Kids like the loud atmosphere, the arcade and the people wandering around the dome.

(2) In fairness,once inside our unit -- the tiny kitchen, i.e sink and portable frig, had been updated in the past decade and actually had a workable space for takeout and/or coffee.

Now the negatives:

(1-100...) Having dragged our bags through the dome we entered our "three bedroom suite"! Room 197 A&B. Okay, we did not expect the Ritz but we were hoping for 1 and 1/2 maybe 2 stars but this was worse than even we could anticipate! The dated furnishings, very small double bed in pint size room, miniscule bathroom and ancient TV's were maybe to be expected for the bargain price of $450.00 a night! However, the following was not anticipated in our booking nor the price. These are some of the problems we encountered on our one night stay: nonworking condition of two of showers in the three bathrooms, the broken thermostat in half the unit, the blown circuit (as we would discover upon checkout the source of nonworking plugs in all restrooms), the broken toilet in one bathroom, 2 of the 3 Tv's being nonworking (no reception only static) the TV's were well over 10 years old and none of the remotes worked, the thermostat was broken rendering the room a constant 95 degrees --which required the window to be open on a 10 below zero night, the nonworking hairdryers in all three bathrooms, the stains on the ceiling from leaks, ... need I say more because I can!

We paid $450.00 for a disaster but that is not the worst part. Finally, after our family had to take turns rotating into the one working bathroom and could not even use a hair dryer my husband decided he should probably speak to management. Well, that was ridiculous! The manager on duty said "nothing I can do" ---not sorry, not oh I can't believe maintence didn't help you last night, nothing! When pressed she said you can come in later in the week and talk to the general manager but she isn't going to do anything for you either. (Well great) But, after we had checked out, the manager on duty sent a team of mantience people up to our "suite" who announced to us that the circuits were all fried, the toilet broken and they at least apologized saying that while it wouldn't do us any good they would fix some of the broken items over the next day. In sum, the manager seemed more interested in covering her own *ss than any sort of guest service or common consideration. She was preparing to explain the problem rather than fix it.

I have reviewed a number of properties and I promise this is the most abysmal mix of an aged property, lack of maintence and hostile management you will encounter in the Vail Valley - STAY AWAY: if you need an economical place in the Vail Valley consider instead Comfort Inn, the Roost, the Inn at Avon - all of which are budget properties without the unbelievably bad treatment of guests. This is sad because with proper maintence and caring management this property would be a fun family and group lodging property but as it sits it is not suitable for any guest.

  • Disliked — Hostile and uncaring managment, delapidated property, high cost for no value
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2007

Our room was located directly across from the restaurant. Our original room was not ready. It was very noisy all the time. The bedroom is in the front of the room. We had to sleep on the pull out in the living room. Not very comfortable. Also, maintenance woke us up at 11:35 and even tried to get in! We never called them. Scary! I would never go back here.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East coast
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2007

This property was nice in several ways. The location was great. The commons areas ie; pools, hot tubs, several nice seating areas ping-pong and fusball tables, game room and arcade gave good places to sit socialize and give the kids activities to do in the evening. The archetecture was pleasing. However, the rooms were really small. We had four people for a week, and it was too small! We switched from a ground floor room to a second story room wich we found brighter and cleaner smelling. The staff was inconsistant. Some were very friendly, helpful and generally knowledgable. Some were none of the above. One of the cleaning ladies was so nice in helping me figure out how to use the laundry facilities. One nights security gurd was smiling and happy to see people having a good time. The next night another security gurd acted like we were a menis. The consierge dest had a lovely young brithish couple working at night, but during the day there was another lady who, while she was never rude, did not seem to know a lot about what to do in the area. We did not hate our trip, but we probably would not stay there again at least not for a week.

  • Liked — the commons areas
  • Disliked — small room, and unhelpfulness of consieger- granted it was a bad time of year, but they should have more suggestions ready for guests
  • Stayed November 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

We own an RCI timeshare this is definitely a very poor representation. The rooms were so hot you could not sleep unless you left a slider open with a 1950's box fan going. The door leading to the balcony in one of the bedrooms would not lock and the hinges were on the outside!!!!! No security there at all. The common areas were very nice. However, when it is about 90 in a room and no way to get any air it is most unpleasant. The rugs need to be replaced, or at least cleaned. The kitchen was not functional at all. If I had had to spend more than two nights and try and prepare any sort of meal there it would have been impossible. All in all, a most disappointing stay.

  • Liked — Common areas and Bob's Place
  • Disliked — Rooms needed refurbishing; no a/c so rooms were unbearably hot; lack of secure balcony door.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

The bedrooms are on the atrium side with a window on the same side. The hot tubs are located on the ground floor, inside the atrium area. The hot tubs are open until 11:00 pm. If you are an "early to bed, early to rise" skier, this is not the place for you. You can hear every word spoken outside of your room, the motors of the hot tubs, teh elevators, etc. Also, the elevators were either very slow or not working at all and after 7 hours on the mountain, we had no desire to climb stairs! We won't be staying here ever again!

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Christie Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer, two flat screen TV's, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid's activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.