We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, Clean and Great for a Ski Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Christie Lodge to your Saves list
Christie Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Affordable, Clean and Great for a Ski Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This property doesn't claim to be your 5 star, 5 diamond hotel in Vail and its not. You get what you pay for. I stayed here for two night and had a great time. The size of the room was very large and had everything you would possibly need. My only complaint was the AC/Heating didn't work. Hopefully they will fix this as otherwise it was a great place to stay/ski. Bus comes to the front door for Vail and Beaver Creek. There is a pool/hot tub. Yes, the stairs are confusing and the lobby smells like a pool (since the pool is indoors) but this is no reason not to book. The prices are very affordable and we have no regrets with staying there. We were there to sleep and ski. For the price we paid it was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    115
    60
    34
    30
See reviews for
100
87
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is a few minutes outside of Vail and just below Beaver Creek. For those on a budget and willing to sacrifice location, the Christie Lodge offers affordable rates and full kitchens, enabling travelers to prepare some meals in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The Christie Lodge is average, I think the pictures made it look a little nicer than it is. I like the location, short bus ride to the mountain and a walk to get something to eat. Bed wasn't too bad, perfect set up for 2 people. FYI - you have to buy your own firewood in the lobby ($3 for 1 duraflame log). "Comforter" on bed not warm. I expected to at least have a comforter that provides more warmth than a sheet. It was like something you would see at Motel 6. Good price for what you get. My sugesstion to people going there - bring your own comforter and firewood!

Room Tip: There was a door between the bedroom and the living room which had a pull out couch - so that is nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I booked at the Christie Lodge based on the TripAdvisor reviews. Vail/Beaver Creek hotels tend to lump into two categories: really expensive and not-as-expensive and Christie was in the latter category. This is not a "lodge" but more of a motel. The property looks like it was once an indoor strip mall, with weird doors to nowhere and just a very cold, unwelcoming feel to it. The whole place also smells like the inside of a Subway restaurant owing to the Subway that is inside. The front desk girl acted like we were ruining her day by checking in and out; no sense of customer service here. This is a loud hotel, probably because it has hard floors and is wide open. We had an icemaker shoved up against the wall outside our room, which means we had the added benefit of listening to it hum, vibrate, and, occasionally, dispense ice all night. Don't stay here if you are at all sensitive to noise or if you expect absolute cleanliness in your hotel.

We were on the first floor in a deluxe king room -- yuck. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, with really thin blankets and a hard mattress. We peeled back the covers to find three long dark hairs on the pillow and sheets -- ew. There were two rooms -- the front room was the bedroom and had that awful bed then another tiny little bed thing along the wall. Not sure who or what could sleep in this and it was too high to be a bench. The back livingroom was pretty okay -- a fireplace (but you have to buy wood from the front desk), tv, and a little kitchenette. The bathroom is tiny and dingy, with threadbare old towels and we didn't even have a showerhead, just the main nozzle with not so great water pressure.

This is probably a great place for a group of twenty-somethings trying to save money by cramming a bunch of people into one room on a college buddy ski trip. But if you are anyone else and can afford to spend just a little more or to stay a little ways out of town, do it, it is worth it.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the pool/hot tub/play areas as you can -- they are popular and noisy. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack Tri-Lakes, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Good value and close to transportation & shopping. This is not a 4 star place, but perfectly adequate for a couple ski vacation. The unit was very clean, updated and included all the necessities. The kitchenette is adequate for breakfast, lunch and snacks, but probably not great if you want to cook-in full dinners. The unit is pretty small, so more than 2 people would be pretty cramped. As noted by other reviewers, the place has ALOT of stairs, so not appropriate for handicapped.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the mountains, not I-70, and one away from the hottubs & pool. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

Overall our stay was great! The location is absolutely ideal for beaver creek and vail visitors. The price is impressive. The building Is a bit run down w too thin of walls. The units are perfect for 2-3 persons. The kitchenette is a convenient addition that allows for flexibility with food storage and preparation. Great place for the price. Service Is great! We checked in early at 9 am w no problem!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere,USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Had nice shuttle service to bus station or central chair lift. But, the rooms in the place were VERY sub-par. Bad mattresses. cramped rooms. The #1 hassle with this hotel/lodge are the hallways and paths getting to the rooms. If you are handicapped, forget about it! You have to go up and down so many stairs, it is mind boggling. Seriously, think of a maze and that will describe the stair situation at this place.

And narrow! All of the pathways to the actual rooms are raised off the floor and they are all narrow.

This place is dated. A room remodel would help, but it will NEVER solve the layout of getting to the actual rooms. No reasonable explanation exists as to why they designed this building like they did. the place is split into multiple fire-wall separated sections. whatever! Why do that?

there is nothing "lodge" about this place.

Location was great and price was lowest in area..but that price is lower for a reason.

Avon restaurants close early.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kegizii, Director of Sales at Christie Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Hello Mister Feedback,
Thank you for your comments.
I would like to respond to a few items...
We are aware of our current ADA challenges and are in the process of under going an ADA-handicap accessibility study. Once complete, we will begin the process/renovations to comply to make out property ADA friendly/compliant.
We want all our guests to feel at home and have ease in moving about.
I don't understand the comment that we need to remodel. We just underwent a full room renovation this past summer. We have received many accolades about thee rooms and the comfort of the mattresses. I am sorry we didn't leave you with that impression.
Please feel free to contact me direct to discuss this further, as we want all our guests to be happy.
Sincerely,
Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christie Lodge

Address: 47 E. Beaver Creek Blvd., P.O. Box 1196, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christie Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christie Lodge is your home to relax and enjoy the breathtaking natural beauty of the surrounding mountains in a comfortable, casual atmosphere. Conveniently located in the heart of the Vail Valley, the Christie Lodge in Avon, Colorado offers affordable one and three bedroom suites with easy access to Vail and Beaver Creek Resorts. Complimentary access to wireless internet, free parking and no resort fees create added value in this world class mountain destination. Spacious one bedroom suites average 410 square feet and feature a queen bed, kitchenette, wood-burning fireplace in the winter and air conditioning in the summer. Three bedroom suites offer two additional bedrooms containing a queen bed, each with an en suite bathroom. All accommodations offer DVD players, two flat screen TV’s, a queen pullout sleeper sofa, and a private balcony.Christie Lodge amenities include heated indoor and outdoor swimming pools and four hot tubs. The lodge also provides a variety of activities including a kid’s activity center, ping pong tables, and Foosball. Our 24 hour front desk, knowledgeable concierge staff, local in-house sporting goods shop, on-site car rental and complimentary shuttle service to Beaver Creek Resort highlight the services Christie Lodge provides to our guests. Be yourself at the Christie Lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Christie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christie Hotel Avon
The Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.