We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maya

Maya
126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
+1 970-790-5500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Vail, Colorado
1 review
“Great experience overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The food is great, delicious, creative and fun presentation. The drinks are also very creative. The bar area is fun and the ambiance overall is great. On Friday afternoons they have happy hour and a great patio scene with music and yummy finger food. Perfect for the young at heart 20-40 year olds.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    20
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average Mexican-esque Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This restaurant is in the Westin and is just ok. It's not bad, but it's not great, and considering the alternatives around the hotel, why not go somewhere else, especially for the cost?

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

While my wife and I slightly disagree on whether to give this restaurant two or three stars, we both agree that this was a disappointing dining experience, especially when you consider it cost us $70 for two plates of four, tiny chicken enchiladas and a small margarita each.

The service was initially good but I felt we were forgotten shortly after ordering. The service only became worse when we were brought a margarita we didn't order and later charged $9 for the unordered drink.

We commend Maya for the ambience and for making its guacamole -- which we didn't order -- tableside. My wife also noted that the food tasted fresh and was not made out of a bag/box. Yet, we both thought it was very average in nature and certainly not worth the price tag that went with it.

We like Mexican food and thought this was sub-par. We have had a lot of expensive meals in a lot of hotels over the years and this very well may have been the worst. We definitely would not recommend it to friends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not Mexican Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This place was highly recommended by multiple people and I was really looking forward to eating here as everyone seems to love the food. We sat at the bar and ordered drinks, which were very disappointing, along with chips and salsa (you can probably get better salsas at Chipotle or Qdoba). If you try to sit on the patio and enjoy the day you have to order form the bar and get your own drinks and apps. BEWARE do not order the guacamole as it is tasteless and apparently is served differently depending on where you sit, if you order from the bar it is made in the back by the kitchen staff and if you order at a table it is made right in front of you.

Our waiter was awesome and tried his best to make the experience better. He apologized for all the bad dishes the "Chef"( if you want to call him that) has put on this horrible, overpriced and tasteless menu. The staff deserves a better menu and food they don't have to constatnly apologize for. Mexican food is easy and this place is trying to reinvent the wheel with their unique menu and has failed.

Stay away from this place as this is one of those restaurants that will more than likely be something different next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Skip It”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I dined at Maya with some business associates mid week. Highlights were the view of Beaver Creek and the view of Beaver Creek. Less swanky Mexican restaurants in the valley offer better food. Actually, the table side prepared guacamole was good (though the kid who mixed it up had no idea what cheese he was topping it with...."it's sort of like a Feta and a Parmesan". I'm certain I could not have told the difference if it had been prepared in the kitchen. Hollow fluff, in my humble estimation.The drinks were good, but not generous (ice filled to the top). I had a $24. crab and shrimp enchilada - and honestly, with the heavy sauce, could not taste the filling. Disappointing. Pleasant environment. Service was fine. Skip the deep fried Mexican ice cream on recommendation of our waiter. What a terrible way to spoil perfectly good ice cream.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maya also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.