We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique & Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vin 48

Vin 48
48 E Beaver Creek Blvd, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO
970-748-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vin 48 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 32 Restaurants in Avon
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Free Avon restaurant shuttle from Beaver Creek, call (970) 949-1938 for details.
Description: Open table 2011, diners choice most notable wine list, top 50
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Unique & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came here for dinner and were pleasantly surprised how good the foods are. From the “small plates” on the menu, we chose the grilled kale salad and warm goat cheese for starters. Both were unique and delicious. For the main course, we had the seared duck breast and the grilled Scottish salmon from the “large plate” selection. The duck breast was exactly what I had expected. According to my husband, the salmon was cooked to perfection – juice and tender. However, I don’t understand why the chef chose to pair the duck breast with escargot. Though I like both, they don’t seem to belong to the same plate. I would rather have the escargot as a starter. In addition, my only complaint about my food is that the bed of vegetable under the duck tasted fishy. If this was intentional, is should made known since not everyone likes fishy taste.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    59
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We ate here as our farewell to Beaver Creek and just loved it. When we arrived the staff remembered that we were having a special dinner and gave us a choice of tables...I was impressed that they actually recalled it was a special night for us. The wine list was fabulous and we loved the various food options--we had some who mixed small plates (generous portions for small plates) and those who enjoyed large plates. Our server was super and she gave us good recommendations and was attentive but not lingering. We all agreed that Vin 48 was "the" favorite dinner while in town...would recommend to anyone visiting the area. I wish we had found sooner so we could have tried out the bar area with huge wine by the glass options!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We ate here twice during a week-long stay, once at the bar and once in the dining room. Both meals were consistently very good. We enjoyed the small plates, especially the mussels with chorizo, the pork cheeks, the kale salad, and the pork belly. The decor is modern, attractive and well lit. Very friendly and attentive service, excellent choice of wines. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great service, excellent wine advice, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Like the title says, of all the restaurants we tried over a week at Beaver Creek, Vin 48 was one of our favorites. Amazing scallops, lots of wines to choose from and excellent advice. A little busy, but in a way that proves they run a great restaurant.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vin48 don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This restaurant was a real winner! We had half dishes as well as full entrées and one dish was better than the next. There were no complaints and all we could think of was how lucky we were to have stumbled upon this restaurant! Our server with Patrick and he was truly a pro!

We had duck done to perfection, scallops seared beautifully, Bison carpaccio which was beyond tasty and a goat meat dish that was a delectable surprise! Our deserts of gelato and cheese cake with chocolate covered strawberries made this a very memorable visit to Beaver Creek in Avon, Colorado.

The restaurant was lovely and quiet enough to hear conversations easily! If you are skiing or vacationing in the area, don't miss this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vin 48 also viewed

 

Been to Vin 48? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vin 48, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.