We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   136 East Thomas Place, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A little disappointed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We're regulars at the Park Hyatt but have noticed a shift in attention to detail, more notably during our last 2 stays. Room cleanliness (especially the bathrooms) is remarkably bad despite mentioning this on repeated Hyatt surveys. Maybe they don't read them? We've resorted to traveling with Lysol wipes/bathroom cleaner as we do love many things about this property, esp. the location.
Last weekend, we checked in with my in-laws who had traveled from Minnesota to be with us so we could all celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. Kind of a big deal. This was noted on their reservation well in advance. At check-in, no one even said "Congrats" to them despite me again mentioning at check-in as to why we were there that weekend. I surely would have ordered an amenity myself for them had I know there would be nothing to welcome them in their room.
We also had to wait a really, really LONG (and awkward) time at the desk (without much information as to why) for our room assignment while the computers ran slowly at check-in (truly not their fault).
But about 15 minutes into my wait (no, really), a gentleman standing next to me (waiting 1/3 the time I was standing there) was immediately offered a comp on all his resort fees! I was kind of shocked -- and felt a little embarrassed for our agent (Brittany) who didn't handle the long wait very well even after she heard a manager comp the guy standing right next to us...and then cruised right past any attempt to note a big celebration for our family (we were also celebrating my husband's military retirement and 2 birthdays). So, if you're going for something special, call the concierge ahead of your arrival to order your special amenities as Hyatt doesn't recognize special events. Wish I'd done that!
Our biggest concern is the dog population - their website specifically state their rules for pets (no more than 2, with a weight limit) which almost every guest we encountered with pets last weekend flagrantly ignored. It was almost laughable the size of dogs cruising around the hotel. Some look more like small horses. The elevators/halls stunk of wet dog all weekend - it almost felt like a pet convention...which is fine if you're a dog lover. If you have pet allergies, not so much. Our in-laws kind of joked about it all weekend, but again I was embarrassed. I realize & appreciate fully that the staff here bends over backwards to accommodate guests, but with these continual issues, we're considering other properties for future stays.
Lastly, only analog tv - nothing digital and very few channels. Seems like maybe their cable TV has pooped out or something because neither us or our in-laws could get current programming. Not a big deal if you're there to hike/ski, which we usually do, but if you have little kids who need Disney channel, bring your ipad.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    131
    42
    20
    8
See reviews for
206
159
11
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

A great place for family - so many things for children [pool and games and activities and smores at night and ice rink outside]
The room was big -- the bed so comfortable - the bathroom well appointed
Staff were great - the valet parked car came in minutes!

Green Features: up to speed on most things e.g towels not wasted daily - sheets not wasted daily
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We live in Colorado Springs and love staying at the Park Hyatt Beaver Creek for a romantic little getaway! This mountain retreat is beautiful & you won't find better service anywhere! The moment we arrived, we felt welcomed and were quickly checked in. We were celebrating our 33rd wedding anniversary the beginning of August and were pleasantly surprised to find a bottle of wine & chocolate, with a very nice note when we entered our room.
We always look forward to the complimentary s'mores kit and meeting new people around the fire pit while roasting our marshmallows! Such a fun time for kids and adults, after all, who doesn't like roasting marshmallows and making s'mores?
There are a variety of activities to take part of, something for everyone, all year long!
The concierge desk is always very helpful. I have some dietary issues, and they were able to recommend some restaurants that would meet my needs.
Also, each time we needed our car, the bellmen were quick to retrieve it for us. We found it convenient to call them from our room and by the time we got downstairs it was ready for us.

We always spend a day in Vail too. This trip we also visited the Betty Ford Alpine Gardens, just a short walk from Vail Village and definitely worth a visit! The gardens are exquisite! The day we visited there was a ballet taking place in the amphitheater. There is also a nice children's playground inside the park grounds. What a great place for a family picnic!

Room Tip: I honestly don't think you can choose a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at Park Hyatt Beaver Creek for our 10 year anniversary. My only complaint was not knowing about the mandatory valet. No big deal, but had I known I would have been prepared with cash in hand. We were impressed the minute we arrived. Friendly, helpful staff. Upon check in the gal heard it was our anniversary and immediately gave us a free upgrade. We went from a standard King room to a King suite with a fireplace. GORGEOUS!!! Great few of the property facing the ski area. Of course we were visiting during off season, but I found this to be the best part. We roamed and explored the entire resort, which has a ton to offer in the way of seating areas, fireplaces, ping pong table. My husband especially loved the fruit fused water throughout the resort. There is also a weight room and a beautiful spa, neither of which we used. The resort is perfectly located to explore the shops, restaurants, bars, ice skating (yes even in June). At night there are several fire pits throughout the Beaver Creek area including our resort who also offers for purchase s'more supplies. We did use one of the five hot tubs they had in the pool area. We were the only ones in it that evening and couldn't believe it. Perfect temp on a cool night. We did notice other activities on the property such as bags games and other games for kids. Not sure if these were part of the resort or not but sure looked like everyone was having a great time. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Whether its for a romantic get away or even a place to take your whole family.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are there for a special occasion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Tx
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed for a week during the summer and enjoyed every second. The customer service was wonderful. We had a room overlooking the ice rink and with small balcony. Sunsets were fantastic from the balcony! The location is incredible, and it is super family oriented. We took the fly fishing clinics in the mornings before going out on the water, and they were very helpful. We golfed, fished, biked, hiked, etc….. Don't miss lunch at the restaurant on the mountain and 30 min hike. Lovely scenery! We would stay here again in a second. BEWARE: traffic from Denver is really horrible on holiday weekends. Plan accordingly and miss sitting for hours on the freeway!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The greeting at my car was warm, friendly and genuine. Within 5 minutes from pulling in the driveway we were in the elevator heading to our room. Summer in the Rockies is pretty special after all the snow that fell this winter. We had a week of hiking, biking and rafting. Each afternoon we relaxed pool side and had an occasional hot tub to ease the body. Again the service far exceeded our expectations. We are looking forward to booking our next stay at the Hyatt.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The location of the Park Hyatt is ideal for families. We went with our teen-agers and appreciated all there was for them to do literally right outside the back door of the property. A firepit for smores, volleyball, putt putt, small bungy jumping (we were there for a lacrosse tournament and the boys all played 3x on the large grassy area whilst the adults enjoyed drinks on the lovely patio) There is also a small ice skating rink and plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.

The property is well maintained and the rooms were comfortable and updated.

Our only complaint is that service was a bit frosty at times, particulary the valet staff. I understand and appreciate there were many high energy lacrosse players at the property which could be a challenge, but nevertheless, we encountered servers and staff that didn't seem thrilled we were there. This was a bit frustrating and not consistent with a property of this caliber. Valet service was very slow and expensive.

Otherwise, nice property and worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa

Address: 136 East Thomas Place, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter the season, enjoy the newly renovated ski-in/ski-out Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa located in the heart of Beaver Creek village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Hotel Beaver Creek
Hyatt Beaver Creek
Beaver Creek Hyatt
Hyatt Avon
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort And Spa Avon, CO

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.