We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice little condo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Point Resort

Save Saved
You added Falcon Point Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falcon Point Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   340 Benchmark Rd, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Avon
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Really nice little condo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

These are very nice condo units. We stayed in a one bedroom (#403) on the south side of the building with a balcony and wood burning fireplace. The view of the lake from the living area/balcony was perfect, with the sun setting behind it in the evening. We were disappointed that we couldn't use the fireplace due to a county wide burning ban, but the weather was so nice that it really didn't matter. The unit was VERY clean and had a nicely updated kitchen with great appliances and all manner of cooking utensils, pots/pans, etc. The bathroom was spotless too, but small, with only one sink and a noisy fan loud enough to wake me up in the adjacent bedroom. Our bedroom had a king size bed with a comfortable pillow top mattress and large flat screen tv (also a nice large flat screen in the living area).

The condo complex is located by a pretty little lake with a walking path around it. Easy access on and off I-70 and a short drive to Vail, Leadville, Aspen, etc.

All in all, a great weekend stay. We'd stay here again in a heartbeat and enjoyed ourselves immensely.

Room Tip: I don't think you could beat room 403. Great views, all updated and nicely laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Avon is a great location. Sweet little lake, mellow park, trail along the river. Just can't quite escape the sound of the freeway, but that's what keeps the cost reasonable. At falcon point all you have to do is close your window and then look out at the view and you have all the ambience of beaver creek at half the price. The condo units are lovely, well appointed and reasonably priced. The pool, spas and clubhouse nice, the lake and paths right out the door. It has been appropriately kept up to date. It is immaculate. I have found that resorts in ski areas can often smell either musty or like cleaning product. Falcon point just doesn't smell. Nice. Finally, the service at falcon point is personal and responsive. A true home away from home feel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

So they cancelled a huge show on the 4th of July due to forest fire's (state wide ban) & they did it @ the last second & wouldn't refund our money! Then I asked them if I could just come another time so my family could enjoy the stay (since it's my mother's birthday on the 4th & we brought the kids up to see the big show of fireworks!) I was like can we come another time & use the room instead of losing my money. They said no! so I lost my money they never called when I repeated to call the county of Avon & asked "are you gonna have the fireworks?" since they say "it's the biggest fireworks show in the state" They said yes! So they kept saying yes! so no one would cancel to rob people of there MONEY! I say SHAME ON AVON & ALL OF THE HOTEL'S in the county for burning people of there hard earned money!! scandalous & disrespectful! Don't let FALCON POINT FOOL YOU! very rude & horrible guest relation's I should have took other people's advice from the review's. GODBLESS AMERICA WE STILL HAD A AWESOME 4th & I'm never going back to Avon again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am writing this review to inform anyone traveling to Falcon Point of the floorplan differences between rooms so that you can request the type of room that you are expecting when you make the initial reservation.

We stayed at Falcon Point the weekend of July 27 through 29, 2012 with some friends. We reserved 2 one bedroom units, rooms 103 and 204.

Without seeing either room, we decided that our friends would take room 103 and we would stay in room 204. Being on the first floor, we went into their room first. It was big and beautiful with a big kitchen, fireplace, 2 flat screen TV's, a deck, etc.

Then we went to our room, 204, and we were shocked. It was a completely different room. It was half the size, small kitchen, 1 flat screen in the living room and one small CRT screen in the bedroom, no balcony, etc. (Falcon Point, if you're listening, please at least move the bedroom TV cabinet to a position in front of the bed where it can be used!) The room was still very nice, but it was not even close to the quality of room 103.

The resort was completely full so there was no possibility of moving to a different room.

Also, be aware that there is no air conditioning in this resort. It's in the mountains so it's not that big of a deal most of the time. We brought a small desk fan with us and left it running at night to bring in the cool mountain air, and we were comfortable.

The WiFi signal was rock solid in both rooms and really fast (it tested at 10mbps down and 3 mbps up! Pretty good!).

Amazing refrigerator! Now my wife wants one too. Sigh...

I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort. It is a very nice place and the location is absolutely wonderful. Glenwood Springs and their fantastic natural spring pool is only about 45 minutes west, Vail is 10 minutes east and the entire area looks like a screensaver!

We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Room Tip: When making your reservation, be sure that they understand which type of room you want, Spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Falcon Point in a 2 bedroom unit as an exchange through II from 7/13 - 7/20. This was our second visit, after staying there 10 years ago in a studio.

Pros. The rooms have been renovated recently and are pretty nice, especially the kitchens. Bathrooms are fairly small, but clean and well maintained.

Wifi worked fine for us, we had no problems with connection or speed. As a whole, the resort has about every amenity you would expect in a mid-level property. Decent clubhouse, heated pool w/hot tubs, grills, some underground parking, etc. Location is pretty good -- I miss the morning walks around the lake just out the back door.

Cons. The toilets are of the low water usage, high-pressure variety, which are loud when flushed during the night. Another noise issue, if you're in Unit 108 like we were, is the location of the master bedroom directly over the parking garage door, which creaks and groans up and down starting as early as 5:00 AM. We never got used to that.

This might not be our first choice of resorts in Avon, but overall we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again if other options were unavailable (unless we got stuck in unit 108 again).

Room Tip: Avoid Unit #108 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was fairly nice place to stay. The building is OLDER, but they tried to keep it up to date. If going in the summer, just be aware that there is NO Air Conditioning. It was miserable without it. One of the worst parts of the stay.

They offer WiFi in each of the rooms. Nice perk... however, the connection has issues. It drops you every two minutes so you have to re-connect every two minutes. Annoying.

The rooms have big screen TVs and Blue Ray players. NICE!!!

The rooms were fairly comfortabel and clean. The towels could use an upgrade.

If you are staying there, you want a room on the SOUTH side of the building. That is where the view of the lake is. Otherwise, it is the parking lot or the side of another building.

The walk around the lake is very nice.

The easiest store to shop is the King Soopers about ½ mile away. Easy walk there and back.

Room Tip: South side of the building above the second floot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just got back from Avon colorado and stayed at falcon point for 1 week. It was the greatest week of our lives. Everyone was so friendly. The units were so clean and nice. The swimming pool was awesome as well as the grill by the pool. I wish we could have afforded to by a condo as they were having great sales. The convenience of the lake and the running trail was unbelievable. Great job on how well you maintain this property!!!

Room Tip: a bit hot during the night depending on what area of rooms you are in but by early am it is very coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Falcon Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Point Resort

Address: 340 Benchmark Rd, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Point Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Falcon Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Point Hotel Avon
Falcon Point Resort Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.