We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the rooms are not the same!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Falcon Point Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Falcon Point Resort to your Saves list
Falcon Point Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   175 Lake Street, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All the rooms are not the same!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I am writing this review to inform anyone traveling to Falcon Point of the floorplan differences between rooms so that you can request the type of room that you are expecting when you make the initial reservation.

We stayed at Falcon Point the weekend of July 27 through 29, 2012 with some friends. We reserved 2 one bedroom units, rooms 103 and 204.

Without seeing either room, we decided that our friends would take room 103 and we would stay in room 204. Being on the first floor, we went into their room first. It was big and beautiful with a big kitchen, fireplace, 2 flat screen TV's, a deck, etc.

Then we went to our room, 204, and we were shocked. It was a completely different room. It was half the size, small kitchen, 1 flat screen in the living room and one small CRT screen in the bedroom, no balcony, etc. (Falcon Point, if you're listening, please at least move the bedroom TV cabinet to a position in front of the bed where it can be used!) The room was still very nice, but it was not even close to the quality of room 103.

The resort was completely full so there was no possibility of moving to a different room.

Also, be aware that there is no air conditioning in this resort. It's in the mountains so it's not that big of a deal most of the time. We brought a small desk fan with us and left it running at night to bring in the cool mountain air, and we were comfortable.

The WiFi signal was rock solid in both rooms and really fast (it tested at 10mbps down and 3 mbps up! Pretty good!).

Amazing refrigerator! Now my wife wants one too. Sigh...

I would wholeheartedly recommend this resort. It is a very nice place and the location is absolutely wonderful. Glenwood Springs and their fantastic natural spring pool is only about 45 minutes west, Vail is 10 minutes east and the entire area looks like a screensaver!

We enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Room Tip: When making your reservation, be sure that they understand which type of room you want, Spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    13
    1
    6
See reviews for
27
25
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at Falcon Point in a 2 bedroom unit as an exchange through II from 7/13 - 7/20. This was our second visit, after staying there 10 years ago in a studio.

Pros. The rooms have been renovated recently and are pretty nice, especially the kitchens. Bathrooms are fairly small, but clean and well maintained.

Wifi worked fine for us, we had no problems with connection or speed. As a whole, the resort has about every amenity you would expect in a mid-level property. Decent clubhouse, heated pool w/hot tubs, grills, some underground parking, etc. Location is pretty good -- I miss the morning walks around the lake just out the back door.

Cons. The toilets are of the low water usage, high-pressure variety, which are loud when flushed during the night. Another noise issue, if you're in Unit 108 like we were, is the location of the master bedroom directly over the parking garage door, which creaks and groans up and down starting as early as 5:00 AM. We never got used to that.

This might not be our first choice of resorts in Avon, but overall we enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay there again if other options were unavailable (unless we got stuck in unit 108 again).

Room Tip: Avoid Unit #108 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was fairly nice place to stay. The building is OLDER, but they tried to keep it up to date. If going in the summer, just be aware that there is NO Air Conditioning. It was miserable without it. One of the worst parts of the stay.

They offer WiFi in each of the rooms. Nice perk... however, the connection has issues. It drops you every two minutes so you have to re-connect every two minutes. Annoying.

The rooms have big screen TVs and Blue Ray players. NICE!!!

The rooms were fairly comfortabel and clean. The towels could use an upgrade.

If you are staying there, you want a room on the SOUTH side of the building. That is where the view of the lake is. Otherwise, it is the parking lot or the side of another building.

The walk around the lake is very nice.

The easiest store to shop is the King Soopers about ½ mile away. Easy walk there and back.

Room Tip: South side of the building above the second floot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just got back from Avon colorado and stayed at falcon point for 1 week. It was the greatest week of our lives. Everyone was so friendly. The units were so clean and nice. The swimming pool was awesome as well as the grill by the pool. I wish we could have afforded to by a condo as they were having great sales. The convenience of the lake and the running trail was unbelievable. Great job on how well you maintain this property!!!

Room Tip: a bit hot during the night depending on what area of rooms you are in but by early am it is very coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Was lied to about room occupancy. The assistant manager talked to me in a demeaning and very insulting manor and all I asked for was a refund in order to stay at a different location. I did not even ask for a refund on the spot since I already had the money to stay at a different place. I was told the room would sleep 8 and it actually was only 6. They required me to wear a wristband and searched for it as if I was a criminal. I was then threateand to be evicted if I even attempted to speak to the front desk. The rooms are georgeous but if you of even have the slightest respect for your dignity please do not stay here. These people are extremely unprofessional. They also made my adult friend cried because of their rudeness after one of the staff members tells at her claiming she didn't stay here even though she had one of the 6 wristbands that I was given. What upscale condo complex Requires it's guests to wear wristbands?

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managereview, Guest Relations Manager at Falcon Point Resort, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
For the second year in a row, the three-day Snowball Music Festival brought a lineup of electronic and live music to Nottingham Park in Avon, Colo. The festival draws youthful partygoers by the thousands each night. Falcon Point is located adjacent to the park and one of the main stages. In an effort to keep Falcon Point safe and secure, staff monitored the doorways and owners and registered guests were issued wrist bands for easy identification when entering the property. The privacy and peaceful enjoyment of our guests is paramount to providing excellent customer service. Unfortunately, in order to protect our property and our guests’ enjoyment during this large outdoor music festival, we found it necessary to institute these temporary additional security measures.
Room occupancies are confirmed with each reservation both verbally and in writing via email to the guest making the reservation. For the second year in a row, Falcon Point experienced excessive occupancy and damage in some of the rooms and concert related complaints from owners and guests. To circumvent a third occurrence, Falcon Point will no longer offer nightly rentals during this event should the event return to Avon, Co.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are visitn either Vail or Beaver Creek to ski, hike,whatever. Excellent for families and very economical too. The rooms are updated, large and comfy. The amenties are great, clean, accessible and not overcrowded. Two nice outdoor hottubs and a pool. Awesome kitchens and living space, balconies, community areas, etc. But the best part? The staff are so nice, friendly and helpful. So knowledgable about the area and very concerned that everything is just right for their guests. Any problems or questions have always been taken care of promptly and with a smile. I have been staying at Falcon Point for over 6 years on and off and it just keeps getting better and better. I would recommend it to anyone looking for nice accommodations at a very reasonable price. We just returned from a week's stay and had a wonderful visit, a big thanks to Freda who recommended some great area activities and places to eat for our group of 8. Our room was perfect, nice comfy beds, clean updated bathrooms, great linens, and a lovely, really well equipped kitchen. Fireplaces add to the mountain charm of the place, parking couldn't be easier. Best of all it is steps from the express bus stop and minutes from the gondola up the mountain, so close you could even walk. The grounds are pretty, it is on a lake with a great walking path. Also close enough to town to walk if you don't want to hop the free town busses (which are really nice). I will continue to visit Falcon Point and recommend it to anyone wanting a great colorado vacation.

Room Tip: Ask advice when booking to get a floor plan that best meets your needs. They have several different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

For reference, I had purchased the lodging at Falcon Point through eBay. I checked the Falcon Point website before bidding and the units looked nice. The seller had positive ratings and had other timeshare rentals in their history so I felt comfortable placing the bid. The auction was for a 2 bedroom unit but it was only my girlfriend and me travelling. I had been looking at 1 bedroom units in the Vail and Beaver Creek areas through VRBO and had a budget of around $1,000 to $1,200 for the week. That amount is not going to get you the Ritz but there were some nice places in that range. The rate on the Falcon Point website during the time frame that we stayed that we stayed (2/3/12-2/10/12) for the 1 bedroom was $198/night and the 2 bedroom was $280/night. There were some “Web Only” specials that cut 20-25% off that price depending upon the dates and length of stay. It looks like Expedia and Orbitz have about the same deal. The price that through the eBay auction was significantly less than those rates so we were coming into already feeling like we got a bargain. That being said, even at the normal rates it is a good price for what you get.

As for the accommodations, the unit that we were assigned was on the south end of the building on an upper floor with a mountain view. It was spacious and well appointed. We did not use the second bedroom but it was nice to have two full baths. There is only one sink so it is a little tight if you have two people getting ready in the morning. Otherwise, based on the floorplans I don’t think that there is much of a difference between the living space in the one bedroom versus the two bedroom unit. It would also be worth noting that the floorplan on the website did not quite match the unit we stayed. There was a queen in the master bedroom and 2 twin beds in the second bedroom. The website shows a king in the master and a queen and twin in the second bedroom. It might have been because we were in an end unit rather than along the sides of the building. However, the view was worth giving up the king bed. As for bed comfort, I would say it was comfortable enough. It was a little firmer than I like (my bed at home is memory foam) but seemed newer and supportive.

The unit had been recently renovated with granite countertops, nice cabinetry and stainless look appliances in the kitchen. The bathrooms had nice tile work and vanities. The furniture in the living space was comfortable enough but a little worn. The fireplace is wood burning so we only used it one night (I am not fond of the smell of the burning wood). It was too cold to use the balcony but the sliding doors let in plenty of light. Our biggest issue was with the heat in the living space. It is a radiant system mounted to the top of the wall. After dark, we had to keep it set to almost 80 degrees to obtain a temperature of 70 degrees in the room. It might have to do with the end unit having more window area or a drafty fireplace. Regardless, you will probably need to wear an extra layer to watch any TV at night.

The building had plenty of amenities. The indoor parking was appreciated on the days we had snow. However, I am not sure there are enough spaces if the building is fully occupied. There were two hot tubs and a heated pool. There is a sauna but it was kept off when not in use so. I was too impatient to let it get hot enough to be effective. There is a nice pool table and ping pong table in the clubhouse. The fitness room isn’t much to brag about but we got all the exercise we needed on the slopes. Speaking of skiing, the shuttle pick-up is a short walk and it is about a 3 minute ride to the gondola at the Westin. Or you can stay on the shuttle and take it up to Beaver Creek Village. There were a couple of guest activities during the week. In particular, there was a free continental breakfast on Saturday and a Super Bowl party on Sunday. Both were sponsored by Starwood and it was their attempt to get you in for their timeshare presentation. There is no pressure to sign up for anything, though.

All in all, I rate it as “very good”. I would stay there again and recommend it to others. All of the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. It is an affordable option for the Avon area. It is a little dated when compared to some of the other accommodations nearby but they seem to be doing their best to keep it in good condition.

Room Tip: Unit on south end had nice views and good light. However, if you want a king bed, I am not sure tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.4 mi away
Christie Lodge
Christie Lodge
#4 of 7 in Avon
3.5 of 5 stars 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Vail Beaver Creek
2.2 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#1 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
2.4 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lakeside Terrace
Lakeside Terrace
#10 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Point Resort

Address: 175 Lake Street, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Point Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Falcon Point Resort is located next to Nottingham Lake in Avon, Colorado. We are a timeshare property with Studio, 1, 2 and 3 bedroom units, all of our units have kitchens. We have a family style clubhouse with a small gym, men's and women's restrooms, a large TV room with pool table, ping pong and foosball. Our pool is a swim in and out along with two hot tubs and 2 BBQ grills for our guests. Come visit us year-round for the many activities Colorado has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Falcon Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Point Hotel Avon
Falcon Point Resort Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falcon Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.