We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ticino

Ticino
100 W Beaver Creek Blvd, STE 127, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO
(970) 748-6792
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Avon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Should have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a large group (30) so I am hoping our experience was attributed to that. Firstly, the entrance in less than pleasant, walking through a lobby that makes you feel as if you're going to the dentist. Our party took up the entire inside and it seemed as if they hadn't prepared the tables for a large group, they were still fragmented instead of arranging more together. I always look forward to Italian bread at Italian restaurants but the offering was nothing more than what you buy in the bag next the checkout at Safeway. The Caprese salad was delicious but I was looking forward to an actual salad with at least a sprinkling of greens...this was literally four small slices of tomato, four slices of cheese and four basil leaves. I ordered the Salmon, which was crispy and soggy all at the same time from sitting under heat and then having gobs of butter spread over it. The thing that was the most odd was that the fact they did not provide bread or dessert plates since it is considered "family style", so it meant you had to take bites of food from the same plate as someone else instead of serving yourself onto a separate plate....not like any family style I've had in the past... I imagine they do well for your average customer but they don't seem ready for a large group.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    41
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Walked over to this restaurant for dinner from the Westin Riverfront, a short 3 blocks or so. It is tucked away in the Lodge at Avon Center, off West Beaver Creek Blvd. The indoor dining area is small but comfortable. There is plenty of outdoor seating, probably double the indoor seating. We were warmly greeted and seated promptly.

They offer gluten free pasta (spaghetti) so my wife was able to have a spaghetti dish. She had the bolognese sauce and she said it was very good. They also have a GF pizza crust.

I opted for the roasted pork with pappardelle and baked tomato...outstanding. The pork was perfectly cooked (medium) and the sauce with lemon juice was a great complement.

The bang for the buck is really good. The prices are truly reasonable. BTW, they don't take AMEX.

The service was very good. This spot will definitely go in my little black book, both for referring other folks and for our return next year.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Best pizza I have had in a long time. Reasonable prices, great outdoor dining, and the food was delicious. I ordered the Margherita Pizza and ate every last slice . I would go back to Ticinos in a hearbeat!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Best wood fired pizza I have had in a long time. The carne is probably the best. Their salads are fantastic. Make reservation ahead it is always crowded.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great recommendation from our resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Was very pleased with our lunch visit. Had a large party, but they accommodated us well. Prices were reasonable and food quality was excellent. Sampled from most dishes and they were all good. Especially enjoyed the pizza and paninis. Was walking distance from the Sheraton Mountain Vista.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticino also viewed

Avon, Beaver Creek
Avon, Beaver Creek
 

Been to Ticino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ticino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.