We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas to your Saves list
The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   218 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

A large and newer property in a very central Beaver Creek (non village) location. Rooms are very small, basically appointed, but comfortable. Nice views of the river and up to Beaver Creek mountain. ThIs Westin offers water and Internet without additional cost, Colorado comfort.

Room Tip: South facing rooms on lower floors may access to very large deck areas, very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We appreciate the compliments and very happy to hear you were comfortable in our villas. The villas building has 68 condos, half are studio villas, half one bedroom villas. The studio is 500 square feet, includes a dining area, living area and kitchenette with 2 burner stove, microwave, full size refrigerator, dishwasher, and washer/dryer. The one bedroom is 830 square feet, includes a master bedroom, master bathroom, full kitchen, dining area and living room. All of our rooms have balconies. Internet is free, bottled water is sold for a nominal fee. Thank you for sharing your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    34
    12
    7
    0
See reviews for
61
62
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place but the relationship between Hotel and Villa Ownership means owners lose! 2nd time (as elite members) we have come here during off season (nobody here according to front desk) and our request for river front view is declined and hotel front desk says we have to wait til tomorrow to fix the mistake with the Starwood Ownership desk. Very frustrating and probably won't do this again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WRFManagement, Manager at The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Hello Bill M. It very disappointing to hear we failed to meet your expectations. We are in the business to please and so anytime we fall short, for those of us who have made our life’s work hospitality it hurts a little. What was not communicated to you is during these off season periods we schedule our annual maintenance weeks. Each unit goes offline 1 week per year so we can scrub, paint, caulk and everything else we cannot do in those busier times. One thing I am sure of is we did not have a river view to give because our process of assigning rooms gives priority to our home resort owners. We assign owners based on who made their reservations first starting with the highest available mountain side villa. Once all those are full all remaining owners and any renters are assigned the other side. While we do take requests, these are honored only after the owners get assigned. The best way to ensure yourself a mountain/river view, in season or out of season is to make your reservation as far in advance as you can. Home resort owners can book 12 months out, and from our experience, as our home resort owners know the assignment process, many of them will book on the very first day they are able. Like I said from the beginning, and I sincerely meant it, we are disappointed any time we cannot meet one of our owner’s expectations. We are not sure what mistake you are referencing with the Ownership Desk, but if we can help sort that out please feel free to contact one of our managers at the Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Villa's are great. It's the same place as the Westin but these are timeshare units. They do rent them on a nightly basis. You get all the amenities to use but you don't have to pay the resort fee and the studio rooms are a little larger. I had a private balcony with a view of the Beaver Creek Ski resort. There is a nice studio kitchen with electric stove top, microwave and full size fridge. You have a full size dining table and a living area with couch and chair. The bed was so cozy and after a day at Spa Anajali I was so relaxed I had a great night's sleep.

They have a full bar with a patio with gas fire pits and a large gas fireplace in the main lobby area. I enjoyed a glass of wine during happy hour. Feeling so relaxed after the spa I ordered food from the bar and took it to my room to enjoy on my balcony. The food was just ok - nothing exciting or to die for. I ordered a cobb salad and a side of truffle fries. If you want a nice dinner go out. Cima is closed and is being remodeled into a new upscale Mexican restaurant. I think it opens late May 2013.

The spa is awesome with a nice work out facility, the ladies lounge has a seating area, lockers, steam room, showers and sauna. The pool area has 3 infinity hot tubs.
Great place for a mini get away.
If you are coming for a ski vacation- this hotel is not on the slopes or village of Beaver Creek but there is a gondola to take you there.

Tip- Call direct with the Villas and use your triple AAA discount- I got this amazing room for less than I could book anywhere online.

Room Tip: The Villa rooms are larger than the Westin rooms and you don't have to pay the resort fee when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Full disclosure- we have stayed at this property many many times.
The Good- great room rate at $127.00, upgraded to mountain view studio. Just a week post ski season. Johan at front desk was wonderful. Great service as always!
The bad- Full service restaurant CIMA is now closed until June. There have been three restaurants since they opened (Avondale, CIMA and the upcoming Maya), really a bit ridiculous. Find one that works and stick with it! Second floor east wing, bags and bags of trash in the hallway at 3:30pm, housekeeping needs some training.
In summary- We LOVE this property and have stayed countless times and will return. Better than the Ritz and Four Seasons which are closed for 6 weeks, shame on them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Westin Riverfront is a perfect ski getaway for couples or families. The valet and ski equipment guys are spot on! They are extremely helpful, smart and fast! The actual property is lovely with a huge fireplace in the lobby, cookies at 4pm and music with fantastic musicians each night! We love it and would come back again and again! Randy at the front desk is superb!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I am a Starwood loyalist, to understand I have a particular positive bias toward Westin properties. This is a great property. Very new, great amenities, and can be a nice choice for visiting Beaver Creek. While on ski vacations, I prefer ski-in-out, and while this does not qualify the Avon Gondola will pick you up right behind the hotel and take you to the base of Bachelor Gulch... Not bad at all! The rooms are clean, and of course the Heavenly Bed makes for a great nights sleep. Hard to find fault with this hotel, with the exception of not being right on the mountain.

Room Tip: This hotel is all about the view. Wouldn't hurt to ask for a view of The Beav during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the villa side of the resort which I understand have bigger rooms and full kitchen. The room is very spacious, clean, bright and comfortable. There are many sockets for your gadgets. But with the size of the room, I would wish for bigger closet space to hang stuff. The mattress is a bit on the soft side, too.

The resort has its own gondola to reach one of the Beaver Creek bases, and the ski valets are standing right by to keep your stuff overnight. It's really just like ski-in-ski-out. We love this convenience so much we didn't even want to drive the 10mins to Vail.

The gym, spa, pool and jacuzzi are very well maintained. I see staff cleaning and tidying these area all the time. It's the best place to go after a long day of skiing.

The restaurant, Cima, serves up very flavorful latino cuisine and priced reasonably for the setting it is in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas

Address: 218 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Beaver Creek Hotel and Resort is located near in Avon offering convenient access to Beaver Creek Mountain Ski Resort and the Vail Valley. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas Hotel Avon
The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Riverfront Mountain Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.