We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not too impress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

The hotel looks nice but its not too impressive. There is only one restaurant. The bar is small and not inviting at all. Not service at the pool area. Not menus were found at the room for room service. We had to ask for the fire pit to be lit and there was only one small outside the lobby. There is a daily charge for internet and fitness center even if you don't use then? Im not sure if we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    137
    41
    25
    14
See reviews for
231
214
23
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here at the end of a very active two week road trip that was filled with hiking, biking, canoeing, and rafting. While we stayed at nice places along the way, the Westin topped all of them. What a treat! First of all, our room was great. While it was near the elevator, which initially concerned us, we did not hear a thing except for one exceptionally noisy family and their barking dog. Not the fault of the elevator. The room was a King Studio, which was extremely comfortable. The kitchenette area had two flat burners, a microwave, sink, coffee maker, lots of plates, glasses, pans and tea kettle. The bathroom was huge and had a separate shower and bath. The bath products were really nice. I don't usually like hotel products, but these were wonderful. Of course, the bed was dreamy.

We ate dinner at Restaurant Avondale, which is in the hotel. Loved dinner and will write a separate review. We also had lunch at the Market deli. The food was very good (casual). The Market deli also sells some basic cooking supplies for the room.

The spa was very nice. A special was running, so I got my massage for $90 instead of $140. The exercise room was the biggest and nicest I've ever seen in a hotel. The pool was great too. I did not notice it being to pediatric, as was stated in a previous post.

My husband went mountain bike riding nearby. He said that it was great.

All in all the trip was great. We can't wait to revisit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Everything was great at the Westin. People are the niceset and most helpful of anywhere I've stayed.
We travel with our dogs a lot (2 yorkies). We've stayed at Marriott's, Ritz and Four Seasons with our dogs and the Westin Beaver Creek, by far, is the best place we've ever taken them. They each got their own 'heavenly bed' even! No pet fees, no hassles and everyone from the valet to the front desk wants to play with them. They are welcome in lobby, spa, and non-restaurant patios.
The restaruant is fantastic and the property is super clean and very nice.
You can walk to a wine bar/restaurant, a grocery store, a Starbucks (even though they have a coffee bar on site). The hotel sets on a very scenic river that is great to walk (they rent bikes at the hotel too). The free shuttle to Beaver Creek is a 5 minute walk.
Lots to do, great place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have lived in and visited the Vail area for some 25 years and just ran across this property. It tuns out to be exactly the place one would like to stay in that area. It is luxurious, very well situated requiring no local car needs, its service is even above the average Westin standard, it is new (two years), it is equally desirable for winter (skiing with gondola at your front door) and summer stays. Perfect property for a perfect part of the world!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The resort is very impressive...at least on the surface. Resort fee of $20 per day and the $20 per day parking fee seemed excessive. We were surprised by some of the other underlying details. In particular, we were shocked by the barking and loud noise from the dogs(small to large) that are allowed (while on leashes) to accompany their owners on walks on the upstairs floors and through the beautiful and stately lobby of the hotel. We also were rather disappointed when the first room we were checked into had a malfunctioning air conditioner. Only after great insistence on our part were we moved to a new room. The new room had great air conditioning but was so crowded that we had to literally move the furniture out of the way to open our suitcases in the room. In the whole room, there were only three small drawers to unload clothes into. Bathroom was huge with a beautiful shower. Kitchen was well equipped and dishwasher worked well. Pool area was very pediatric focused and all three of the "beautiful infinity hot tubs" were filled with children most of the day. Staff was young and very enthusiastic. Though concierge was helpful, it seemed his main goal was to persuade us to take a tour of the time share units on the same property. The hotel seemed way to classy to have overlooked details like those listed above.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience from the moment son and I checked in with Joy. No matter what time we left in the morning or how soon we came returned, our room was clean when we came back. The valet team were all very kind, especially Kyle. There was a special event going on when we arrived on Friday night. He made us aware of the music playing outside and the time it would end. Great staff!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a pretty hotel, no doubt. Our room was nice and large and very comfortable. The pool and hot tub(s) area looked lovely though I didn't partake. But would I go back? Even though I give it three stars (because the room was nice), probably not.

Here's why:

1) It seems to cater to people who own condos in the facility. There was definitely a two-tier system in place that favors owners over mere guests -- from the valet to the concierge. This was a little off-putting.

2) I don't mind dogs, but please keep them under control! I was almost bitten by one little fluffball with a Napoleon complex and the owner didn't blink an eye. And I was just coming out of the elevator!

3) The concierge we dealt with was not only snooty, but she was useless. Not a good combination. Her attitude was TERRIBLE. On top of that, she gave us wrong directions that, if we hadn't been vigilant, would've added an extra hour plus of stressful driving. Boo to the female middle-aged concierge with dark hair and glasses. BOO. Plus, she tried to get us to sign up for a hard-sell condo presenation that she said would take 40 minutes. Friends of ours got suckered and they said it was three hours of haranguing.

4) The front desk clerk (who was working a couple of the days we were guests) was flippant and disrespectful. "Yo", is not how you greet somebody.

5) The valet parking was slooooooooooooooooooow. And we tipped well every single time! Plus, it was expensive.

6) The housecleaning staff regularly forgot to do something -- and in one instance left their dirty rags on our bathroom counter. Ick.

7) No minibar.

8) No "welcome" information -- most hotels at least let you know what's going on or what's available. Nothing here -- except for a list of wickedly expensive spa treatments. C'mon. It's the Westin! Why so much for a spa treatment?

I did like the restaurant though -- Avondale. It's not actually owned or run by the Westin (which is probably its saving grace). The food was good and the service was too.

On the whole, I think I'd rather stay in Aspen.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.