We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Treat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What A Treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here at the end of a very active two week road trip that was filled with hiking, biking, canoeing, and rafting. While we stayed at nice places along the way, the Westin topped all of them. What a treat! First of all, our room was great. While it was near the elevator, which initially concerned us, we did not hear a thing except for one exceptionally noisy family and their barking dog. Not the fault of the elevator. The room was a King Studio, which was extremely comfortable. The kitchenette area had two flat burners, a microwave, sink, coffee maker, lots of plates, glasses, pans and tea kettle. The bathroom was huge and had a separate shower and bath. The bath products were really nice. I don't usually like hotel products, but these were wonderful. Of course, the bed was dreamy.

We ate dinner at Restaurant Avondale, which is in the hotel. Loved dinner and will write a separate review. We also had lunch at the Market deli. The food was very good (casual). The Market deli also sells some basic cooking supplies for the room.

The spa was very nice. A special was running, so I got my massage for $90 instead of $140. The exercise room was the biggest and nicest I've ever seen in a hotel. The pool was great too. I did not notice it being to pediatric, as was stated in a previous post.

My husband went mountain bike riding nearby. He said that it was great.

All in all the trip was great. We can't wait to revisit!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Everything was great at the Westin. People are the niceset and most helpful of anywhere I've stayed.
We travel with our dogs a lot (2 yorkies). We've stayed at Marriott's, Ritz and Four Seasons with our dogs and the Westin Beaver Creek, by far, is the best place we've ever taken them. They each got their own 'heavenly bed' even! No pet fees, no hassles and everyone from the valet to the front desk wants to play with them. They are welcome in lobby, spa, and non-restaurant patios.
The restaruant is fantastic and the property is super clean and very nice.
You can walk to a wine bar/restaurant, a grocery store, a Starbucks (even though they have a coffee bar on site). The hotel sets on a very scenic river that is great to walk (they rent bikes at the hotel too). The free shuttle to Beaver Creek is a 5 minute walk.
Lots to do, great place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianlundeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have lived in and visited the Vail area for some 25 years and just ran across this property. It tuns out to be exactly the place one would like to stay in that area. It is luxurious, very well situated requiring no local car needs, its service is even above the average Westin standard, it is new (two years), it is equally desirable for winter (skiing with gondola at your front door) and summer stays. Perfect property for a perfect part of the world!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank opensource_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The resort is very impressive...at least on the surface. Resort fee of $20 per day and the $20 per day parking fee seemed excessive. We were surprised by some of the other underlying details. In particular, we were shocked by the barking and loud noise from the dogs(small to large) that are allowed (while on leashes) to accompany their owners on walks on the upstairs floors and through the beautiful and stately lobby of the hotel. We also were rather disappointed when the first room we were checked into had a malfunctioning air conditioner. Only after great insistence on our part were we moved to a new room. The new room had great air conditioning but was so crowded that we had to literally move the furniture out of the way to open our suitcases in the room. In the whole room, there were only three small drawers to unload clothes into. Bathroom was huge with a beautiful shower. Kitchen was well equipped and dishwasher worked well. Pool area was very pediatric focused and all three of the "beautiful infinity hot tubs" were filled with children most of the day. Staff was young and very enthusiastic. Though concierge was helpful, it seemed his main goal was to persuade us to take a tour of the time share units on the same property. The hotel seemed way to classy to have overlooked details like those listed above.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

Had a wonderful experience from the moment son and I checked in with Joy. No matter what time we left in the morning or how soon we came returned, our room was clean when we came back. The valet team were all very kind, especially Kyle. There was a special event going on when we arrived on Friday night. He made us aware of the music playing outside and the time it would end. Great staff!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NRambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a pretty hotel, no doubt. Our room was nice and large and very comfortable. The pool and hot tub(s) area looked lovely though I didn't partake. But would I go back? Even though I give it three stars (because the room was nice), probably not.

Here's why:

1) It seems to cater to people who own condos in the facility. There was definitely a two-tier system in place that favors owners over mere guests -- from the valet to the concierge. This was a little off-putting.

2) I don't mind dogs, but please keep them under control! I was almost bitten by one little fluffball with a Napoleon complex and the owner didn't blink an eye. And I was just coming out of the elevator!

3) The concierge we dealt with was not only snooty, but she was useless. Not a good combination. Her attitude was TERRIBLE. On top of that, she gave us wrong directions that, if we hadn't been vigilant, would've added an extra hour plus of stressful driving. Boo to the female middle-aged concierge with dark hair and glasses. BOO. Plus, she tried to get us to sign up for a hard-sell condo presenation that she said would take 40 minutes. Friends of ours got suckered and they said it was three hours of haranguing.

4) The front desk clerk (who was working a couple of the days we were guests) was flippant and disrespectful. "Yo", is not how you greet somebody.

5) The valet parking was slooooooooooooooooooow. And we tipped well every single time! Plus, it was expensive.

6) The housecleaning staff regularly forgot to do something -- and in one instance left their dirty rags on our bathroom counter. Ick.

7) No minibar.

8) No "welcome" information -- most hotels at least let you know what's going on or what's available. Nothing here -- except for a list of wickedly expensive spa treatments. C'mon. It's the Westin! Why so much for a spa treatment?

I did like the restaurant though -- Avondale. It's not actually owned or run by the Westin (which is probably its saving grace). The food was good and the service was too.

On the whole, I think I'd rather stay in Aspen.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Grmany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We were lucky staying in this spacious resort. The view of the valley and the river is amazing. Lobby and pool area (open air pool and three hot tubs, roomy!) are appealing and well entertained. Our suite (top floor) was marvelous: huge living room with fireplace and stunningly equipped built-in kitchen. The little store on the first floor is convenient and the staff there is very friendly .The front desk and the concierge do a very good job, very friendly and helpful. We liked the idea to opt for house keeping or - in case we reclined - to get a voucher for the restaurant. (Although house keeping did not seem to know at what dates to come or at what date we would leave - due to language issues?).We did not eat in the restaurant because the menu did not look so inventive considering the prices. And we have been a bit disappointed that we had to carry our cocktails to the patio. The valet parking should not be mandatory as the underground parking lot is close and valet parking makes it complicated. We did not use the spa, but it looked nice. The FAC atmosphere was great! We are no party people but the band was so good!
We definitely enjoyed our stay and would recommend this resort to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margret1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
1.9 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#1 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 426 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
2.2 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Charter at Beaver Creek
The Charter at Beaver Creek
#5 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
2.0 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#6 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Park Hyatt Beaver Creek Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Odigeo, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing