We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay... especially if it's free with Starpoints!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great stay... especially if it's free with Starpoints!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Stayed here with my husband for 5 nights over Christmas in December 2008.

I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel for Starwoods members looking for a great way to use their points. However, if I were paying rack-rate for this hotel, I would rather stay in Beaver Creek (or Bachelor Gulch) proper. The hotel is located in Avon and a taxis to Beaver Creek or Bachelor Gulch is very pricey ($40 one way).

The hotel itself is physical beautiful - very modern and clean, a sense of understated luxury. The rooms are great and so are the beds ("Westin heavenly bed").

The ski valet is fantastic and it is *very* easy to get to the slope. The ski valet will store and heat your boots and skis, and bring them out to you when you are ready in the morning. You pop on your boots and hop right on the gondola which takes you to Bachelor Gulch. You then get on the ski lift and you get out right at the base of the Ritz Carlton in Bachelor Gulch.

The hot tubs at the Westin are out of this world! There are three of them - so there is plenty of space and you don't feel like you are crowded in with all the other hotel guests. We didn't use the pool, but it was very large and beautiful.

The restaurant in the hotel was *not* good. If you are from Middle America, you will probably enjoy the restaurant, but being from New York, it was truly mediocre. Food was not good and the setting felt like we were in a mall cheesecake factory.

Overall, the hotel is beautiful and feels luxurious. Only knock is that it is difficult to get out for dinner to the good spots without paying an arm and a leg for taxis. I would recommend this for guests using starpoints, otherwise, if I were paying $500+ per night, I would rather stay closer to the center of Beaver Creek instead of in Avon.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    147
    45
    27
    16
See reviews for
243
228
25
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Westin in Avon. It is the perfect location to enjoy Vail and BeaverCreek in style. The gondola to the Beaver Creek mountain is so convenient. It goes straight from the ski valet to the base of Beaver Creek. The shuttle bus that stops in front of the hotel is also very convenient for a dinner or shopping in the Beaver Creek village.

The spa is beautiful, and the set up of the pool and hot tubs outside is picturesque. The only downside is that the spa charges $20 for each use of the sauna. For a hotel that expensive, we had thought that use of the sauna would be included (as is the case for every skl resort we have every stayed at).

Customer service is very good and attentive. After our first night, we realized that the heat was not working in our room. The staff promptly got us into an upgraded room.

Our only complaint is that the cleaning crew will not resupply shampoo, conditioner, etc. unless you ask for them specifically.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

No matter whether you are staying at a Four Season's or a Holiday Inn it is never the same as home. I always think about all the other guests that have stayed in the room before me and how poorly most rooms are cleaned when turned over.

Despite the beautiful lobby and warm welcome, my first impression of the Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa will always be the one bedroom suite that smelled like feces or a rotting animal and the lack of responsiveness from the Management to solve my problem. The attitude of Management was pleasant, but indifferent. Additionally, for a room only more than a year old it was in disrepair.

Requests for simple items such as blankets and extra towels took multiple phone calls and sometimes several hours to honor.

Services are very limited. The bars and restaurant close early. The hotel shop/market closes at 5pm!

The physical plant exclusive of the rooms is beautiful and the staff generally very friendly. It is a shame that the room maintenance, upkeep, and service is so poorly attended to. This resort has the potential to be a four star property (I consider the Ritz Carlton Bachelor Gulch a 5 star), but for now I only give the Wesitn Riverfront Resort & Spa a weak 3 out of 5 stars.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, NY
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We stayed at the Westin Riverfront for five days/four nights over the Thanksgiving holidays. From the Eagle Vail airport, take the ECO bus - it's $4.00 for a 40 minute trip to the hotel. The bus stops right across from the hotel. A car service will charge $50 per person.

We visited while the hotel's express gondola to Beaver Creek (BC) was not running (down season). Take the Avon bus (free) around town or the BC shuttle (free) bus to BC, both of which also stop right across from the hotel. There is also a large City Market grocery store about 5-10 minutes away, if you want to take advantage of the small kitchen in the room (dishwasher, fridge, sink, microwave, stove, toaster, dishes, silverware, etc.).

Hotel is very dog friendly - LOVED THAT. Gym facilities were fantastic - plenty of cardio machines in variety as well as number, towels/water/magazines/headsets provided, tv's in every machine (small quibble - can't key in specific channel, must scroll up and down through channels). Locker facilities have swimsuit agitators to dry swimsuits. Large outdoor heated pool and three excellent outdoor heated infinity jacuzzi tubs (small quibble - can see the road from the tubs, so traffic takes you out of the beautiful surroundings).

Spa treatments were excellent! Spa locker facilities were well stocked, clean and beautiful. Check hotel's Twitter and spa's website for any monthly specials. Waiting area could use more varied magazines. Business center has two available computers (no charge to use), but printer was not working the whole time we were there and sometimes had problems logging on. Hotel market was handy, but hours are a bit limited.

LOVED the decor of the hotel - from the rooms to the spa and everywhere in between, gorgeous. There is a great walking/jogging path around the property and surrounding area and lake. Mountain views from our room.

Previous posts are correct - they don't replace toiletries unless you ask for them. Small quibble - not Bliss products as with previous Westin's, but Westin products that weren't bad, but paled in comparison. Tons of pillows on the bed, excellent. Flat screen tv with good selection of channels. Tiny balcony (no room for chairs or table). Gas fireplace was purely decorative and gave off no heat whatsoever. This was an issue because for the first day and half, the room was FREEZING. No matter how high we turned the thermostat, the room was like an ice box. Our first complaint on the first day to reception was unsuccessful. Our second complaint to reception (shout out to Nick, he's the man!) yielded results in two engineers coming to our room. After they fixed the broken thermostat, the room was nice and toasty for the rest of our stay.

Restaurants hightly reccommended - Dusty Boot Saloon (BC), Beaver Creek General Store (excellent ice cream), Grouse Mountain Grill (The Pines), 8100 (excellent mac and cheese with veggies).

So-so restaurant experiences - Vin 48 (surprisingly bland food and service - doing a sampling menu to try new dishes to add, disappointing), Avondale (good, but not spectacular experience).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

My husband, kids and I all loved this hotel! We were on a road trip and this was the third Westin we had stayed at and the absolute best!!! The people were unbelievably attentive! The concierge was very helpful. I can't say enough about the service, bar-none!!!
The room was beautiful, very modern decor. The bathroom was nice and modern. I prefer seperate tub and shower, but they didn't have that. The lobby had a lot of books and lots of games you could play. We sat in the lobby with the kids for about an hour entertaining them with the games. The kids club doesn't take them until they are 4, so we didn't use the facilities, but they looked nice and very organized.
For breakfast we usually went to "The Market" which was inside the hotel. They have great coffee, smoothies , pre-made foods and various other options. I highly recommend it for fast, cheap and kid friendly solutions to breakfast.
We also ate at the restaurant inside the hotel for dinner. The restaurant was really good! We ordered a lot so are bill was probably higher than it needed to be, but we felt like splurging toward the end of our road trip.
We broke a glass in our room and called housekeeping, they came immediately and were very nice. The man vacuumed the entire area and was very pleasant.
I can't say enough great things about this hotel. My husband is anxious to return.
For me, waking up every morning looking outside at the creek and the mountains was the best experience!!! I loved staying a beautiful resort in an incredible mountain setting.
I would highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Why I didn't give the hotel a "10" score....

The hotel valet/parking system is quirky. Self-Parking costs costs more money than valet. The parking lot is the tightest, narrowest, and twistiest underground parking structure I've ever seen. The risk of having your car dented and/or scratched by valet is very high. The only positive aspect of the garage is the # of parking spots available.

I called the concierge a few times, leaving a message once on voice mail, but never received a return call.

The price of room service is astronomical too.

Also, the hallway where my room was located was slightly dirty. It looked like it needed a vacuum or two. The hallway also was lined with room service trays all too often.

Food:
My wife and I ordered dinner one night from Room Service. The meal was brought on time. The Room Service attendants were very nice and professional. The quality of the food and presentation was superb.
I opted for the a la carte breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. The breakfast was really great. The coffee is a local brew(not organic per server)with beans from a roaster that is located in one of the highest elevations of any roaster in the world. Pretty cool fact. The views from the restaurant overlooking BC is first class. The ambiance would've been perfect if it wasn't for two gentleman at the next table talking obnoxiously.

The hotel also has a great market just off the main lobby. The store sells gourmet drinks, salads, sandwiches, soups, breakfast items,

Room:
This hotel belongs in Soho, NYC. The decor is amazing. We reserved a one bedroom suite with a mountain view. Upoon entering the room we quickly realized that the mountain view was of the mountain range across I-70, not the Beaver Creek side. Also, our room overlooked the valet/main lobby entrance. It annoyed me at first, but I quickly learned that the windows are as thick as Fort Knox preventing any noise from entering the suite. The kitchen was so spacious and chock full of amenities for any style cook.
The refrigerator was spotless(a pet peeve of mine)too.
The 42" flat screen sprung over the fireplace was excellent. HD satellite feed all the way. I can't stand going to a hotel with an enormous TV and poor reception.
The family room was really comfortable providing two oversized leather chairs and two large sofas and a very large coffee table. There was certainly plenty of room to stretch out in the utmost of style and comfort. According to the Westin Riverfront website the room dimensions are 850sq feet.
The balcony was small but just the right size to allow for people watching or just simple relaxing on the patio chairs.
The bedroom was very spacious. Filling the space included a large desk, the famous Westin bed, 32" flat screen, two night stands, a sitting chair, plenty of closet space and finally two dressers for clothing. The bathroom was also spacious. The bathroom has a great big tub and shower to fulfill one's hygienic dreams and desires. The bathroom would've been perfect if it had a towel warmer and radiant heated floor.

Dining Room:
The dining room consisted of an 6-8 person table.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We absolutely can't say enough good things about this place. It was beautiful, stylish and contemporary, but comfortable and friendly towards children. The service and staff are perfect. They have hot chocolate for you when you come in to return your skis, which you rent right there. The gondola drops you right off at the lift. The restaurant is phenomenal. The facilities, spa, child care, etc are just amazing. Everyone is so helpful and friendly. My daughter left a toy there and they mailed it to us, free of charge. It was the best family vacation!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.