We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Won't Be Back Again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I Won't Be Back Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Weeks before my trip, I tried to use 5 of my earned suite nights at the Westin Riverfront Resort in Avon, Colorado. After several weeks, I was notified that no suites were available. Remarkably, however, when I contacted the hotel, suite 408A became available for a $50/night additional fee. It offered mostly a view of the Westin time share building next door and the patio between it and the hotel. So, for $50 a suite is suddenly available, but not as my Platinum amenity or using a suite night upgrade. Room 408A also has no wifi. I can promise you, under the Platinum membership proposition, I did not have the best room available at check in -- even after offering to use my suite nights. Beware also of the $20 per night resort fee -- which I take to mean the spa and gym that I never visited. Add to that a ridiculous $25/night parking fee -- and I felt like I was getting nickel-and-dimed just like the airlines.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    141
    44
    26
    16
See reviews for
240
220
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent 5 days here end of july. The location is by Beaver Creek and there's a great walking/biking path. Hotel is beautiful and we could imagine how warm and inviting it would be in winter sitting by the enormous fireplace. The lounge areas are large and stocked with lots of books, board games. Tons of comfortable couches and chairs to spend some time reading.

We got a 1 bedroom suite which was spacious, very well furnished and designed. We asked for an extra bed for our daughter and they had a space for it which did not in any way disturb the flow in the living room/kitchen. Bathroom was spacious with double sinks, a separate bathtub and large shower. Kitchen was fully stocked.
Service was excellent. Loved the huge pool and they had 3 hot tubs! overlooking the mountains. We had a such a nice time relaxing in them after a long day of hiking/rafting.
Gym looked great although we did not get any time to use it.
Parking was valet only and expensive - that was the one thing we did not like about our stay.
Dinner at the contemporary Mexican restaurant Maya - again great decor and food and it's presentation. Live music one day which we enjoyed form the hot tub and then from our room.
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
342 reviews 342 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was very nice with tiny, well equipped kitchen area and large bathroom with lots of towels. Beautiful lobby and friendly staff - especially the valet guys. I am just not sure what makes this a resort - especially in the summer. I found the parking charges and the "resort fee" to be too much at a total of $45 per night extra - especially for three nights. The property had no outside areas to give it a "resort" feeling - no where to sit and enjoy the mountains except the small terrace outside the lobby. Since we were not on the preferred view side of the hotel we had a view of Burger King which did not give us a resort feeling. One day our room was not serviced so I asked the maids for towels and they brought them to us and we straightened the bedding.

The Beaver Creek village is about a mile and half up the mountain which made us feel a little isolated since you have to get your car out. We drove over to Vail and enjoyed lunch in the village there and the free bus service to Lionshead Village and the Betty Ford Alpine Garden. A great drive is up through historic Leadville, over Independence Pass and around to Aspen for lunch - gorgeous mountain scenery - then circle on to Glenwood Springs and back to Beaver Creek.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Quick Version: $45 in mandatory per night fees. No self-parking. Staff dismissive, condescending, disinterested, un-empathetic service. Tattered carpet, marked walls, broken ice machine. Room noise from pool area. Oil slicked pool. Forced to listen to loud soft rock cover band playing in pool area until late in evening.

I’m very unhappy to report that our stay at this resort was a huge disappointment. Our choice to stay here was largely influenced by Conde Naste Traveler’s Gold List for 2014, on which the hotel was featured. I would strongly encourage Conde Naste Traveler to re-evaluate, as I have had experiences at many other hotels that are by far and away better in service and atmosphere. If you are contemplating a stay at any of the resort towns along I-70, I absolutely recommend you stay somewhere other than this Westin.

Our first (poor) impression of this resort was driving up to the hotel and being confused that there is no self-parking lot or garage. This really seems odd for a place in the open Colorado wilderness. So I proceeded to pull up to the front entrance of the hotel, where I was met by a valet who was impatient and rude to me. I asked about self-parking, and he shortly said there was none and that valet was the only option – at $25 per night. I inquired a little further for another option, and stated my dissatisfaction, and was met with a dismissive, almost forceful short utterance again about valet being the only parking option. I also noticed on the wall as I walked in that the $25 daily valet parking is the same for both resort guests, and walk-ins that are there to ski. So this Westin gives no discount on parking to their paying guests vs. public?

I entered the hotel flustered at my treatment from the valet attendant, and during check-in brought it up with the check-in agent. The agent, like the valet, shrugged off my concern and went on the say to me that the staff themselves deals with the parking shortage of the resort daily, and many walk 2 miles to come into work. It’s evident this resort has a real design flaw with their parking situation, but frankly how unprofessional to talk with a guest checking-in about the staff’s burdens and working conditions – using it as an example of why the guest should be burdened too. He also asked where we were from, and when I stated Columbus, OH, he said “so you both are students?” in a belittling tone. It’s as if he were suggesting that I and my new husband were college students on some sort of joy ride on our parent’s credit card. Ridiculous, obnoxious, and unprofessional.

We then proceeded to find that they’d placed us in a room closest to the lobby, on the lowest floor, right at eye level of guests in the pool area. So we mention on the reservation that we are there to celebrate our honeymoon, and you place us in a room with a gigantic wall to wall, nearly two story window for all the pool area to peer straight into our room? We could hear every voice on the pool deck, and loud music from a live band playing rock classics from the other side of the pool area. Not the peaceful mountain retreat in photos that I’d swooned over while planning our trip. It was rather like witnessing a carnival of humanity right outside our room. Immediately, I dialed the front desk and asked to speak with the manager. I told her of our dissatisfaction with the room, noise, and view, and again reminded them that we were staying on our honeymoon. She offered very little in the way of apology or sympathy, and said the best she could do was move us 4 floors up, but keeping the exact same horizontal position in the hotel. Seeing as she left us with no other options, we took her offer. I also brought up the parking with her again, and after pushing hard, she took the valet fee off. But not without a warning that it would be charged should we stay again in the future.

After about 10 minutes, the person I spoke to on the phone delivered our new keycards. Again she offered no sincere apology or concern. There was never an olive branch extended here, which is really disappointing from a hotel of this supposed caliber. Also, no acknowledgement or anything special offered for our honeymoon – unlike the W Boston where they delivered a plate of fresh chocolate covered strawberries to our room, or the Park Hyatt Chicago where the delivered a delicious cheese plate and a bottle of prosecco – all complementary. Nope, nothing from the service to make a guest feel special here. Just belittling comments, unprofessional attitudes and explanations, and zero empathy for concerns from every person we encountered.

The room itself, a Studio Suite (not an upgrade, what we reserved), was very nice and extremely roomy. Ceilings were super high, and the décor was a mix of furniture with clean-lines and a color palate that goes with the mountain setting. A wood floored entry area and tons of cabinet space greet you at the door. The bathroom was nice, but not the most luxurious or rich feeling that I’ve been in. The “soaking” tub was disappointingly on the small side, plain, and showed staining. Studio Suites also have a large kitchenette area, with deep bar sink, mini fridge, microwave, dual burner flat top range, and is fully stocked with everything you would need to prepare full meals. As an owner of a Disney timeshare, I was impressed with the kitchenette this room. The window, as mentioned before, was beautiful and huge but let in lots of noise from the rock band playing until late in the evening.

Unfortunately, we also found some signs of ill-upkeep around the hotel. Tattered carpet seams, scuffs in the wall treatments all along the hallways, a window that didn’t fully close in our room (warped frame), a stained rolling window shade, and a broken ice machine on our floor. Also having one ice machine per floor is a pain – the floors are enormous. I had to travel what seemed like a mile back and forth to the ice machine several times to retrieve ice, and at one point to another floor once our ice machine ceased to function. The pool, although beautiful, seemed to be covered in a slick of oil residue which was quite noticeable in the sunlight.

There’s also the matter of the mandatory $20 resort fee, which you can add onto the $25 mandatory valet fee. So you’re faced with $45 in mandatory fees atop your regular rate, right off the bat. I tried to notice things, tried to read up in the room’s hotel guide, just what this hotel is offering up different from others so that it can command a $20 resort fee. I really couldn’t come up with any answer, other than wifi access. Which I can tell you (as will other reviewers I’ve since read), the wifi doesn’t work unless you are sitting near the hallway, which you’ll be either on the bench by the entry door, or on the toilet in the bathroom.

We also had a bad start to the next morning: at 6:15am the honeymooners (us) were awoken by someone insisting to collect our laundry. We never requested laundry service! We mentioned this along with ALL of our other issues upon check-in and were offered an disinterested apology, followed up by “but the rest of your stay was good?”. That pretty much was all of our stay: problems and disappointment. As an SPG Member and SPG Amex holder, I expect much more. Are you listening at all, Westin Riverfront?

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Two bedroom suite overlooking the pool and the river beyond that, which was well equipped and extremely comfortable.This is a very large hotel complex by the river. Good pool and hot tub. The usual facilities associated with a large hotel. There is a gate to access the riverside walkway, which is very pleasant.

Rated 'Very good", because this grade and cost of hotel needs something to make it stand out. You pay quite a cost, with all the extras for valet parking and leisure clubs etc.

On arrival, we did have a problem with luggage delivery, but in the end the staff dealt with this complaint in a way that shows effective training and customer care for dealing with complaints, although the problem should not have happened.

Would we go here again? Possibly, because the suite itself was large, well equipped and excellent in every way and perfect for us, two couples.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river are pleasant enough, but it is a long way away and probably not worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo,ms
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We've stayed at many types of accommodation in this area,but always for the winter sports.But when our first grandchild was born last week,we had already made plans to welcome her into the world while staying here in the tail end if the summer season.This is an excellent 4 star Colorado resort with all the amenities and very well run.Highly recommended ,and Colorado in the summer is all we've ever heard that it was.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Westin in Avon for 5 nights in early August 2014 - we had our two kids with us (6 and 3) and had a great time- this is a truly family friendly hotel. We used points through SPG and had a standard room- being a bit concerned about the lack of space- the Westin allowed us to upgrade to one of their 1 bedroom suites for 4 of the 5 nights and it was an amazing room. With 4 of us- we found that the standard room for the first night was VERY tight- we were very lucky to be able to move to the 1 bedroom. If you are traveling with kids- I highly suggest the larger room which has a full kitchen, laundry, and we had an incredible (huge) patio on the 2nd floor overlooking the mountains. The hotel is located at the base of Beaver Creek mountain- you enter Beaver Creek about 1 block from the hotel- and then it is about a 1.5 mile drive to the main village. The hotel is also located right on a paved trail and there is a bike shop in the hotel to make that very easy. You can easily walk to various restaurants- but having a car is very handy to get around and get up to Beaver Creek village- although I do think there is a shuttle service as well. The hotel has an great pool, hot tubs, spa and an incredible gym- probably the best gym I have seen in a hotel. The pool was great for the kids and although there are lap lanes - we found that the staff moved them around based upon volume of the crowd- it worked out great. There is also drink and food service at the pool which made it quite easy. The restaurant in the hotel, Maya, was delicious. They have a party every Friday afternoon with drink specials and live music which is very popular in the area- and lots of fun. The food there was great- really good Mexican- good margaritas- good guac- and kids were welcome. They also have a great happy hour as well that we took part of. Since we were there in August- they were renovating so the Starbucks/market was closed for renovation- but it should open soon- and it looks like it should be pretty nice. If you are coming here in the Winter for skiing you can't get a better location where the gondola leaves directly from the hotel and heads up to Beaver Creek mountain. We really loved the Avon area, lots of great local restaurants and lots of activities. Thanks to the valet guys- they are the best- very helpful and made our entry/exits easy. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get one of the suites- we loved our one bedroom on the 2nd floor- great mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.