We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I could live here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
boulder, co
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I could live here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I'm actually not kidding. I really could live here. The king suite is larger than your average big-city apartment. There's a sleeping area, a sitting area, a nice nook with a desk, plenty of closet space and a lovely kitchenette. And one of the prettiest bathrooms I've seen in a hotel. Top it off with the fireplace, and I'm ready to move in. I booked the cheapest available room, so I don't have a fantastic view, but knowing that I can get up in the morning and walk along the river more than makes up for it. And, with the kitchenette, I bought my own wine and cheese and took it down to one of the many outdoor spaces to enjoy. This hotel is definitely worth the price. Especially when compared with other Vail/Avon properties.

Room Tip: You have to pay more for a view, so if that's important to you, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
We can arrange that!! We're delighted you fell in love with our resort and had such a wonderful time with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    173
    55
    33
    22
See reviews for
285
275
29
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Westin is beautifully decorated, especially the lobby, which has lots of great places to hang out in comfortable furniture, enjoy the view, or get some laptop work done. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We found the room to be noticeably small, though the beds were comfortable and finishes were very nice. A poolside food and beverage service would have been a great touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're delighted you enjoyed our resort and the staff were able to help make your stay memorable. Perhaps one of our studio or one bedroom suites would better suit your space needs next time. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here one night on my way through the mountains with my wife and 2 kids. Valet parking only, which was no problem. Valets were incredibly nice and helpful from the start. Our room wasn't ready, but they suggested we take the kids down the nice trail on the river. They loved it, the perfect break before we made it into our room. Room was beautiful, not super large, but totally fine for our needs. Only issue here was some empty beer bottles found under the couch when I opened the sofa bed (not a huge deal, obviously). For dinner, rather than drag the youngsters downstairs, we order pizza and truffle fries from room service. It arrived promptly and with a smile. Food was great! Mini fridge was handy for the left overs. All and all a excellent experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with mountain views if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We are delighted to hear you had such a wonderful stay. We are very embarrassed of the bottle under the couch but are glad the rest of your experience allowed you to overlook this mistake. It won't happen again! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The room itself was great. We had a one bedroom with a full kitchen (that we didn't use, but during ski season this could be really helpful after a long day of skiing) and a washer/dryer (which we did use).

My kids did Westin Kids Club so my husband and I could go the gym and they had a great time and the staff was super nice there.

The gym was awesome and the pool was great.

A few things that we didn't like. When we spoke to the concierge they were pressuring us to do a time share presentation. It just seemed kind of tacky. Not that big of a deal but worth mentioning. Also, while we were there the fire alarm went off at 3am. Obviously this was not the hotel's fault but after spending 20 minute in the lobby with our PJs on and with multiple families standing around with young children it would have been nice for them to update us on what was going on. We were eventually sent back to our rooms only to be awoke two more times by the same alarm. Thankfully my husband called and was told the last two alarms were false alarms.

We weren't thrilled with the location either. We thought Beaver Creek had a larger "town center" to it. If we visited the area again we would definetly stay in Vail as we thought there was just more to do there. Again, this was not the hotels fault and had to do more with our lack of research about the area.

Overall it was a nice stay but I'm not in a hurry to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your suite, our gym, and the kids had fun in Westin Kids Club. We apologize for the emergency alarm system being set off. We are glad the system functioned as it should to ensure everyone's safety but understand the disruption this can have on your night. While we feel our central valley location provides the best access to all our area has to offer we understand the seclusion of the Vail Village has its appeal as well. We hope to see again at our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have done a lot of reviews and most are good.

Our stay here was anything but.

First, we booked a king studio with a golf package. We arrived around 230 and went to check in. Room wont be ready till 400 so we decided to play golf.

We get to the course and they cant find out golf package from the westin. They say go play and we will sort later. After 11 holes they drive out and tell us we are definetely not on the golf package. We said we would clear up at the end.

When we finished I showed them the GOLF Package letter from the Westin given to us at checkin.
They calll the concierge again and they still cant find but the course said they would bill the Westin since it was prepaid.

On Saturday I go down to hotel restaurant for a coffee and juice. After finishing the papers an hour later I asked for the bill to sign to my room. 3 waiters 25 minutes and still no bill. See ya but i left my name and room number.

So back to the golf course, another call to the concierge and still cant find the golf package.

We arrive back at 500 to a dirty room, we call the front desk and they tell us staff gone home. We ask for at least some towels and shampoo, towels delivered no shampoo and we made our own bed

But at 900 pm last night received a call from the conceirge confirming a time share appt which they booked.

At least the hotel was concerned about something, selling timeshares.

Anyways, i would not stay here again, try one the real 5 stars in the area.

Maybe they care.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront and for taking the time to share feedback regarding your stay. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your time with us. I would value the opportunity to discuss the details of your experience further. Please reach out to me directly at 970-790-2066.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my wife and 12 year daughter. We had booked a standard king bed jr suite. We asked the receptionist what kind of view is it. She offered to change our room for about $20 to "Mountain View". We accepted. However when we got to the room we found that the room was on second floor overlooking the pool and if you looked out distancing next to the window you could see the mountains to the left. Not much of a view. We requested our original booking back and found it had a view of the mountains as well, plus had a balcony to sit outside! Unclear why the upsell.
When we were heading out to the town, the concierge was quite helpful, but strangely asked for our room number and name before answering any question. She saw our membership status and then offered to tell us about the vacation property next door for 10,000 points. Last time I heard that pitch I was a student leaving in a staying in a motel in Orlando! A vacation timeshare sales person disguised as a concierge is a bad idea.
Finally, we ordered some room service. In the penne pasta with chicken my daughter found a piece of wire. We guessed it looked like the wire from the strainer which might have been used to strain the pasta. We called and asked to speak with F&B manager. No luck, the person offered to take of the charge for the dish and other than that there was no follow up. When we checked out we were still billed for all other food. There was no mention of the incidence.
Finally, they charge a resort fee and wifi in the room is included in it. However there is no reception in the bed area. You have to be in the bathroom or standing next to the door to use wifi.
So great location, good amenities like pool, hot tubs, gondola (in winter) but average to poor experience.

Room Tip: Don't pay additional for mountain view. "Inside room" have a good view of the mountai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're glad you enjoyed the amenities our resort has to offer. We're sorry to hear that your room upgrade was not satisfactory. We also apologize for your in room dining experience. Especially for not following up after the incident and compensating appropriately. We thank you for the feedback and hope to see you back again at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I have about 60,000 SPG loyalty points and decided to use a few of them for a nights stay at the Westin Riverfront Resort in Beaver Creek. I was expecting to get a room looking at the parking lot since I wasn't a paying customer. Upon check in, they gave us a room overlooking the pool with a mountain view. I asked for a 1pm checkout and that request was accommodated. The room is spacious and updated. Service is excellent. The pool deck faces the Beaver Creek ski mountain making for a great view. Walking and bike riding path is right behind the resort too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're delighted we were able to show our appreciation for your Starwood loyalty and are glad you enjoyed your time at our resort. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
1.9 mi away
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
The Pines Lodge, A RockResort
#1 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Bachelor Gulch
2.2 mi away
The Osprey at Beaver Creek, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Beaver Creek Lodge
Beaver Creek Lodge
#7 of 21 in Beaver Creek
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
7.3 mi away
Arrabelle at Vail Square, A RockResort
6.5 mi away
Vail Cascade Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.