We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent property but not in the village” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent property but not in the village”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent property with a few missing pieces. The hotel is well done and the rooms are very nice. Clean except for when we arrived the bathroom required cleaning. 2 calls to housekeeping didn't get it done and we cleaned it ourselves.
The service was generally good. The main complaint is that since the hotel is not in Beaver Creek Village you have to take buses to get to the village and restaurants. And the Westin does not have the village dial-ride shuttle. So getting to exactly where you want to go when you want is complicated. I would strongly recommend to the hotel to have their own shuttle. Also the Lift restaurant is a little weak in its breakfast selections. Good side was that it's pretty quick. Positive also is the hot chocolate and cookies at 4 pm in the lobby. Helpful concierge services.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Firstly, our appologies for missing some cleaning detailsin your room for your arrival. That's very embarrassing and we will make sure the appropriate teams receive this feedback. We also appreciate your feedback regarding a shuttle service. While we feel our central location is great for providing access to everything the Vail Valley has to offer, we understand a private shuttle could make things even easier and will take it into consideration moving forward. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our breakfast options. We're glad you enjoyed Cookie Time and our concierge was able to help make your time here memorable. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    152
    47
    28
    17
See reviews for
250
238
26
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was great resort and we had a wonderful time as a family during the ski season. The ski lift at the hotel is in a perfect location. The ski valet made it easy to store your gear (they did all the work). The on site ski / rental shop had all that we needed. Great dining experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're thrilled you and your family had such a memorable experience. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fayetteville, ar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Arrived at the Westin Property and check in was FAST...Room was very nice and well layout. he workout are was fantastic and very large. This is ski in ski out property. Had live music in the lobby area. Stay here and you will not be disappointed

Green Features: Tried to save water by asking guests to conserve by Linen reuse program Energy-efficient lightbulbs Recycles Leftover materials (e.g. food) donated or re-used
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. Sounds like you had a great stay and we're happy you enjoyed our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because my husband had a conference in the hotel. Normally we stay at a hotel in BC Village. The location is inconvenient to get to ski school, shopping and dining. You have to take a bus or a gondola and a bus. If you drive up, there is rarely parking available and you have to either valet at another hotel or park on Hwy 6 in a lot and ride a bus.
That wasn't the worst of our stay though. I came back to our room during the day to find housekeeping letting someone into our room because she had convinced him it was her room and she had locked herself out. I went to the manager, who didn't seem to give a flip. His response was a chuckle and "wow, they aren't supposed to do that. I'll get you a good rate the next time you stay here". I was beyond furious and I let him know that I would sleep in my car before I would stay there again. Rather than notifying security that someone was trying to get into guest rooms they didn't belong in, he told me that they don't have security cameras on the floors but that he would let the head of housekeeping know about the "problem" I had the next day when she came in. We go to Beaver Creek several times a year and have never had anything like this happen at the other hotels we frequent (Park Hyatt and The Lodge). The manager 's (Jon) response - or lack of- was almost worse than the housekeeper breaking what should be a very strict security rule. I only give this hotel 2 stars because the bellmen and valets were outstanding. Perhaps upper management should consider promoting them to manage the place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We sincerely apologize for the security issue you encountered during your stay. Please be assured that we do take security at our resort extremely serious and the scenario you described goes against specific protocol we have in place at our resort. Please also be assured, we will immediately review these protocols with our staff to make sure everyone is following policy. We do appreciate your warm words regarding our bellman and valet. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This was my first time at a Westin property and I was more than satisfied.
My studio suite was very spacious with modern decor. A full modern kitchen with dishwasher and cupboards with plates, glasses, etc. Would be great for a family wanting to eat in.
In room stackable washer and dryer also a nice extra.
Gas fireplace in sitting area was a plus for relaxing after skiing.
Spa, hot tubs (3) and heated pool were very easy to access from any room in hotel.
I did not use the fitness area--seemed to have a lot of locals who used it.
Fitness classes offered to guests of hotel.
Lobby area spacious with bar. Music in bar was nice touch, but a little much as the noise level got pretty high at times.
Valet and desk staff friendly and helpful.
Ski Valet a great amenity and super friendly
Ski Families with small kids would probably want to take the shuttle to the Beaver Creek Village rather than do all the gondola and chair lift rides to get on the mountain.
Only downside (it could be a plus!?) you need to shuttle to the Beaver Creek village for shopping and restaurants--not walking distance!
I loved the property and was extremely comfortable--if I ski Beaver Creek again, I will stay here!

Room Tip: I overlooked the pool and did not have a balcony. Some rooms had balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled you enjoyed your first stay with us and hope its the first of many!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The rooms are nicely decorated and very spacious; configured like a condo our room had a separate living space from the bedroom, a kitchen and even an in-room washer & dryer for our clothes (which is great for multiple days of skiing).

The property has great amenities; the spa is one of the best I've been to and the gym is larger and better equipped than your typical resort. The lobby is a bit small with few couches and sitting space for the size of the property but there's energy in the space at most times of the day. The resort is also close to a grocery store and restaurants which were helpful for us.

We're not avid skiers but there is a gondola onsite which can take you to Bachelor Gulch or onward (via bus) to Beaver Creek.

This is my first stay in the area but we were quite impressed with this property and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're delighted you had such a memorable stay and were able to take full advantage of all the amenities our resort has to offer. We look forward to seeing you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

It is a beautiful property. Upon arrival the valet are great and the concierge really nice but front desk's just doing their job attitude, kinda sucks. We are platinum members of SPG and I guess have been spoiled by other properties. This hotel could care less about our loyalty to the brand. We tried to use one of our 27 suite nights which we were told would not be honored and were only moved to a nicer room after I noticed a very questionable mark on the headboard.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. As a Platinum SPG member we appreciate your loyalty to Starwood and our brand. Our apologies if your Suite Night Award request was not able to be granted for this stay. During our busy Winter and Summer seasons it can be very difficult for us to accomodate any SPG Gold and Platinum upgrades, both upon arrival and through the Suite Night Award program. We recommend to all of our guests that they book the specific room type and accomodations they need for this reason. Thank you again, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.