We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotty but has its virtues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jericho, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spotty but has its virtues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Just returned from 2nd (and last) trip to Westin Riverfront as SPG Gold member. Booked room 10 months in advance and requested high floor but was denied ability ( at time of booking) of utilizing Starwood Points. Was contacted by concierge 3 days prior to arrival (nice touch) for any special requests at which time we asked only for humidifiers in both bedrooms to combat extreme dryness of rooms. At check in (11pm) was provided with 3rd (low) floor, no humidifiers (which negated nice touch of concierge contact pre arrival) and a view of the side of the hotel from our "mountain view" suite. Spoke with manager who attempted to placate me with insulting offer of free valet parking. Did I mention insulting offer of $20.00 per night for hotel's failure to provide high floor or true mountain view on Very expensive two bedroom suite?

The hotel staff is friendly, nice for kids and great for pets. Very nice ski location except if you need to go directly to ski school which is located in Beaver Creek accessible by very crowded shuttle bus, both coming and going. Intermediate and above skiers can utilize the gondola and chair lift to get directly up the mountain - which is really easy - but not near ski school and departure off the mountain needs to by Bachelor Gulch section only of mountain.

Cookies and hot chocolate at 4pm is very popular and really nice touch especially
for kids. Spa is excellent but expensive. The Lift restaurant is actually quite good and room service is actual comical in the daily change in rules, order and delivery times and ability to get orders right despite the nicest waiters who deliver the food. The property is very nice but it's not a true hotel as the units are all owned by individuals and run by a management company. Wi-fi and dryness within the rooms are brutal...called the front desk three times about horrible wifi but never received a response. In house restaurant Maya is attractive, expensive with very uneven food and incredibly long wait for food despite nice servers who spent majority of time apologizing. We had guests and it was actually embarrassing.

Westin has its virtues and it's drawbacks and it definitely is not a true Starwood resort with little to no accommodation to SPG members. Very disappointed in room given 10 months in advance reservation. Overall, what they lack or do badly, they do apologize frequently and very nicely, which is nice but would be better if they just did a better job.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront and for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're glad you enjoyed certain aspects of our resort. We appreciate your feedback regarding the rest of your stay and rather than offer any further apologies, please know we will take your feedback to heart and do whatever we can to rectify any issues and improve our guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    137
    41
    26
    14
See reviews for
231
215
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hills Village, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stay at the Westin at least three times and year and each visit is as good, if not better than the last. We have 4 children and they always have a great time. Not to forget, the hotel is pet friendly. The heavenly dog bed is a favorite of our four legged children. They feel right at home. We rent a two bedroom with a lock off and it works perfectly for our group. We have plenty of space---Ritz, not as spacious) and the accommodations are well appointed with a kitchen and washer/dryer. The fitness center/spa and pool are all great! Valet is always helpful, sitting in the lobby by the fire is relaxing and fun. Nice restaurant on property, little cafe/market for small things...Or you can take a walk across the street for other choices. (You may want to drive if the weather is bad.) This is one of our favorite places to stay and worth every penny! Great off season pricing as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront! We appreciate you continuing to come back and stay with us. We're delighted our rooms and amenities were able to provide another excellent experience for you and your family. We also appreciate your warm wards about our staff. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Overall, this is a nice place for a fair price but we do not plan to return.

SOME PROS
I used the SPG iPhone App and noticed that we were upgraded one room category to a 1 bedroom suite with full kitchen, washer dyer and mountain view before we even arrived. That was great and very much appreciated.

We booked the ski package that was a great value because it included lift tickets and ski rentals at a major discount

SOME CONS
Very far from Beaver Creek Village- you must take a 30-45 minute over-crowded shuttle that stops at numerous parking lots and other downtown locations or spend over 1 hour taking multiple ski lifts and trails. The Gondola does not go to any skiing trails but rather goes to Beaver Creek Landing where you take another lift to the slopes of Bachelor Gulch or take a very crowded bus on a long ride to the Village. This was AWFUL and I would never would have picked this resort if I had known this was such a major hassle. The hotel website is misleading on this important point so be warned if you think the Gondola offers any convenience.

Front desk staff were uninformed about various room configurations and unwilling to help upgrade our room (I was willing to pay more to upgrade to a deluxe 1 bedroom or 2 bedroom or use points) claiming the hotel was sold out when the web site showed all room categories were available. I pulled up the Westin website to show the front desk associate the room I wanted was available for all 4 nights and she said her computer did not show that as being available. I then showed her other rooms that were available on the SPG Ap and she said I could cancel my reservation and rebook another room at full price. I never had that response before so said forget it. I am not sure how you can work at the front desk of a hotel and not know about various room choices and why you would not be willing to help someone pay more to upgrade. Frankly, she was more concerned with what time I was checking OUT (5 days later! Not something I was thinking about when first arriving) and why I was not taking the insulting offer of $5 to forgo housekeeping to help them be more environmentally friendly.

The concierge gave me misleading information about where I could purchase lift tickets. She said I needed to take the bus all the way to the Village but I figured out I could take the Gondola to Beaver Creek Landing and save myself an hour of travel time. I would think a concierge should know this.

No boot warmers at the Ski Valet even though this is promoted on their website. I put on cold and damp boots each morning and asked the ski valet why they were not dry and he said he had no idea because they are on racks with *cold* air but they do not own any boot warmers and had no idea what I was talking about. If you go to the website now it says they have boot warmers. Hmm?

Very slowwwww internet- unusable most of the time
Teen club 7160 is no longer in existence despite being advertised on the Web site and the hotel flyer I was given at check in. This is one reason I picked this resort since I have 2 teenagers so this was big disappointment. Note to Westin- if you cancel programs, please upgrade your marketing materials.

The pull out sofa bed was terrible- the thin mattress and hard bar in the center made it too painful to use. By contrast

Room Tip: North corner rooms on the back side have the best view of Beaver Creek Mountain, rooms facing the ba...
See more room tips
Green Features: It is not worth $5 or 5000 SPG points to forgo housekeeping to help them be more environmentally friendly
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your room and were able to be upgraded.

Our apologies if you felt misled from our website. We try to be as transparent as possible and while we are not ski in/ski out, feel our central location provides many advantages to our guests. Our gondola does indeed take you to Beaver Creek Landing. From there you have two options, you can jump on the Lower Beaver Creek Express lift and being skiing in under 5 minutes (the length of time it takes to get to the top of that lift), or you can jump on the Beaver Creek Parking lot shuttle system. From the Landing, the main Beaver Creek Village is the next stop which also takes under 5 minutes. There is also a complimentary shuttle system provided by the town of Avon which picks up across the street from the Westin. From our pickup location, there is one other stop before you get dropped off at the main Beaver Creek Village in under 10 minutes.

Our apologies also for any confusion with your upgrade attempt at check in as well as the lift ticket information provided by our concierge. You are absolutely right in that both areas should be more informed and better prepared to assist you. We value your feedback and be assured our teams will utilize it to improve.

Thank you also for catching the details on our website regarding ski valet and teen club. We have boot driers but do not indeed have boot warmers. As many ski boots today have custom insoles, we are not able to to apply heat to them as this will ruin that customization. We keep all boots on the room temperature drying racks so they aren't wet on your next adventurous day of skiing. We are correcting both details immediately.

Thank you again for all of your feedback and we hope to see you again with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just returned from a week at the Westin Beaver Creek. The staff was excellent. Friendly and helpful from the valet to the front desk and beyond. The gym was large and diverse. The hotel is a short gondola ride to the lift and is not really ski-in, but is convenient. The hotel is close to the town and supermarket. We liked it so much we are planning to stay again next year.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're very glad you enjoyed our resort and all it has to offer. We can't wait to have you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked this property the day of stay, Thanksgiving week. Tried to use upgrades via telephone and at front desk during check-in. Was told two different stories as to why they didn't apply. We settled on a junior suite at best available rate, but didn't meet wife's expectations. She called manager from room and explained my status, available upgrades, and his comment was; you should have been upgraded to a full suite without using upgrades at check-in. Pretty frustrating. I am highest status with SPG. Rest of the stay was as expected, very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. Please accept our apologies for any confusion experienced during your booking and arrival process regarding an upgraded room type. Per SPG guidelines, appropriate upgrades are provided to Gold and Platinum members based upon availability at the time of arrival. Any upgrades requested prior to arrival would need to be reserved at the rate for that room type. As a destination resort, we are often fully booked and it is difficult for us to provide upgrades at the time of arrival.. As such we recommend to all of our valued Gold and Platinum members to book the room type that best suits their needs to ensure the best stay possible.

Having said that, as a Platinum member, if an upgraded room type is available at the time of your arrival you are entitltled to that upgrade. Again, our apologies if this was missed and for any other confusion in that process.

We appreciate you staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December. The hotel is nice but room was not clean. The bath walls was covered in .....you don't want to know. I asked house keeping to come clean the room and the arrived at a time when we were still getting ready so I asked them to come back. They did not come back and didn't even clean the room the next day. Also, food was over cooked and not that great. Avoid

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to see we were not able to meet your expectations this stay. We apologize for any housekeeping issues you experienced. I would value the opportunity to discuss these details further in person. At your convenience, please reach out to me directly at 970-790-2066.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My fifth visit to the Westin was as good as the previous four. Great staff, views, restaurants, and accommodations. My room had a kitchenette, a pullout sofa, king-size bed, and a fireplace. A large spacious bathroom was very nice. There is a skilifts directly to beaver Creek ski area. Plenty of other restaurants are in the Avon Colorado area in the vicinity of the hotel. The physical fitness facility in the hotel is second to none.

Room Tip: Recommend a view not overlooking the outdoor heated pool. Mountain views are more scenic.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can get reward points for skipping service on your room daily.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at the Westin Riverfront. We're glad to hear you experience continues to be great! We're looking forward to number 6!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.