We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A word to the wise for SPG Members” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A word to the wise for SPG Members”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Booked this property the day of stay, Thanksgiving week. Tried to use upgrades via telephone and at front desk during check-in. Was told two different stories as to why they didn't apply. We settled on a junior suite at best available rate, but didn't meet wife's expectations. She called manager from room and explained my status, available upgrades, and his comment was; you should have been upgraded to a full suite without using upgrades at check-in. Pretty frustrating. I am highest status with SPG. Rest of the stay was as expected, very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. Please accept our apologies for any confusion experienced during your booking and arrival process regarding an upgraded room type. Per SPG guidelines, appropriate upgrades are provided to Gold and Platinum members based upon availability at the time of arrival. Any upgrades requested prior to arrival would need to be reserved at the rate for that room type. As a destination resort, we are often fully booked and it is difficult for us to provide upgrades at the time of arrival.. As such we recommend to all of our valued Gold and Platinum members to book the room type that best suits their needs to ensure the best stay possible.

Having said that, as a Platinum member, if an upgraded room type is available at the time of your arrival you are entitltled to that upgrade. Again, our apologies if this was missed and for any other confusion in that process.

We appreciate you staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    150
    46
    28
    16
See reviews for
245
231
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December. The hotel is nice but room was not clean. The bath walls was covered in .....you don't want to know. I asked house keeping to come clean the room and the arrived at a time when we were still getting ready so I asked them to come back. They did not come back and didn't even clean the room the next day. Also, food was over cooked and not that great. Avoid

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We appreciate your feedback and are disappointed to see we were not able to meet your expectations this stay. We apologize for any housekeeping issues you experienced. I would value the opportunity to discuss these details further in person. At your convenience, please reach out to me directly at 970-790-2066.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

My fifth visit to the Westin was as good as the previous four. Great staff, views, restaurants, and accommodations. My room had a kitchenette, a pullout sofa, king-size bed, and a fireplace. A large spacious bathroom was very nice. There is a skilifts directly to beaver Creek ski area. Plenty of other restaurants are in the Avon Colorado area in the vicinity of the hotel. The physical fitness facility in the hotel is second to none.

Room Tip: Recommend a view not overlooking the outdoor heated pool. Mountain views are more scenic.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can get reward points for skipping service on your room daily.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at the Westin Riverfront. We're glad to hear you experience continues to be great! We're looking forward to number 6!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here the first week of December for our 30th wedding anniversary, and I have to say that our stay could not have been better! The staff was absolutely first rate, friendly and attentive to anything we needed. I would like to call out special attention to Matt, the concierge we talked to regarding what restaurants to go to and setting up reservations for snowmobiling. He couldn't have been more helpful. Overall, our stay was great and I would recommend this Westin to anyone looking for an awesome place to stay if you're going to ski at Beavercreek.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your special occasion with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're delighted to hear our staff were able to help make your stay so memorable. We appreciate your recommendation and hope to see you back for your 31st!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

One of my favorite hotels! Rooms are fabulous. I love the in room fireplace, the spa, the multiple hot tubs outside, free hot chocolate in the evening, etc. Gondola makes it a ski in ski out location. It is a little more convenient to stay in beaver creek village, but i haven't found a property this nice within.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
We're delighted to hear our resort's amenities and features made your ski trip so enjoyable. We're honored to be on your favorites list!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I stayed at the resort because I was looking for a nice kid friendly resort. This place advertised as one and I also had read parenting magazine and they said this was the 2nd top kid friendly resort in the US. Plainly, This resort is NOT kid friendly. You cant throw some cookies out and call it kid friendly so I dont know how they ended up number 2 but to me it seems like someone was paid off. The resort was in fact nice but the food was horrible in the deli. The pool had people swimming laps so it couldnt be used by us or the kids. You have no option for parking and MUST pay to valet your vehicle which is ridiculous and costly. The only thing about the valet I can say is that the valet guys were extremely nice! The resort fee is ridiculous afterall this isnt Vegas. The rooms were nice and clean but I got tired of all the dogs everywhere. One lady had 5 dogs in the elevator and everytime I walked down the hall I heard dogs barking. They cater to dogs quite a bit. It also isnt plesant to look at yellow peed in snow around the resort. The drop in childcare is 5 and up, which I was NOT told, and why it is 5 and up is ridiculous when most kids that are needing the care are younger than 5 and cant ski, makes no sense. Also the gondola they advertise takes you over to a ski lift/ski shop area that does not go up for beginner skiers. So then you have to take a bus to the top of the village which is ridiculous. If your going to stay here rent skiis over by the Ford parking area that way you dont have to hall them all the way back. I will not reccommend the hotel. If your set on staying in beaver creek I would stay at the top of the mountain in the village as this is where everything is anyways. The shops though at the top are all upper class and not fun shops for decor and stuff. Really if you have kids, stay over in the frisco or Brecknridge area. Beaver creek is more for locals and for avid skiers not a very family friendly area. The skating ring at the top of the mountain was the only other plus!

Room Tip: If you have kids stay out in frisco or breckenridge area, I dont find this area to be as fun for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa. We're sorry to hear your stay did not meet your expectations. We do consider ourselves to be a family friendly resort and do our best to make it as easy as possible for the whole family to spend their time with us. We apologize we were not able to accomodate your child in Kids Club if they were under the age of 5. Unfortunately our state childcare license dictates we are not able to take chlidren under that age. If they are 5 or above, our Westin Kids Club does have a ski school car pool program to assist in getting the kids up to ski school to make mornings easier for the parents. We always keep half our pool open to lap swimming and half to free swimmers so everyone can enjoy the amenity.

While we are dog friendly, we expect our guests who bring their four legged friends to be respectful of all guests. Additionally, as a ski destination resort in the Vail Valley, we keep our resort fee and valet parking charges competitive with other resorts in the area and hope our experience is different than other destinations such as Las Vegas.

We appreciate your feedback. If there's anything specific you feel we could add to our experience to be even more family friendly, please reach out to me directly at 970-790-2066.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

great staff. gorgeous views. you can get a full ski set up in the hotel and take the gondola to the slopes. i will come back for sure!!! Pool is open year round so a nice swim at night is alot of fun with the snow falling around you etc.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront! We're glad your enjoyed your ski vacation with us and can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.