We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain Upscale Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bargain Upscale Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This was our first time to this property (2 adults and 2 kids). We usually stay at the Ritz-Bachelor Gulch. This hotel was equally as nice for half the price. We had a suite, very upscale, modern and classy which included a full kitchen as well as a washer/dryer (came in handy with the kids). Location was great near I-70 (Vail and Edwards less than 10 min away) and Beaver Creek a short 5 min drive up the mountain. The river was gorgeous and relaxing. Pool was a good size and not overcrowded when we were there. The spa and gym were excellent. Valet was prompt. Free water bottles daily. The service throughout the hotel was excellent and more prompt than any Four Seasons or Ritz. iFinally, the manager Jon Adgate was fantastic and very responsive to some minor issues I brought up to him. Overall 5 star experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We're thrilled you had such a wonderful stay and are proud of the service our staff provides. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    147
    45
    27
    16
See reviews for
243
228
25
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I love upscale hotels that allow dogs. The Westin is situated on the river with a nice walking trail and is close to many amenities such as restaurants and grocery store. We usually stay in a suite so that if the kids are tired from playing in the wonderful salt water pool, hiking or biking I am able to cook in the room. Fridays in the summer there is live music and happy hour on the outdoor deck. Really a nice place and the mountain views are amazing!

Room Tip: Did not have breakfast so scaled it average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We're delighted to hear you and your doggie enjoyed our resort and its location. Friday Maya Patio Parties are definitely a highlight of the summer. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were a group of 3- 1 mom and 2 teenagers for a girls getaway trip to Colorado. This property is well situated by the beautiful flowing river with nice sized modern rooms and an overall spacious feeling. The spa and workout facility was lovely- I had a nice massage treatment- and the pool and hot tubs were huge and full of lots of guests during our stay. The only downfall was The Lift Café. They were overwhelmed by the number of guests and were rather slow with the service. Other than that, we were pleased overall with this Westin and it's amenities. The valet parking was convenient and they were kind enough to take off a day's parking when they had a mix-up with the cars and we had to wait too long.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We're pleased to hear your girls getway weekend was such a success! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back for the next one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family (incl. 3 kids age 11-17, 1 dog, 1 mother-in-law) has stayed at this Westin every year for the last four years. We have stayed at other places in Beaver Creek, but chose the Westin because of their pet friendly policy. Normally we book a suite with two bedrooms, but have also done a studio room. The atmosphere of the resort is quiet, upscale, yet rustic. The lobby is a fabulous place to meet, play board games(provided) or read a book(which they will loan you). The rooms are spacious and the kitchens are well-stocked. Our dog is pampered with feeding bowls and heavenly dog bed. The river is a great place for a quiet stroll, or rigorous physical activity, and picturesque for family photos, and the furry friend loves to take a walk there every morning. The workout facility is fabulous, and the cold towels they provide (while you sweat) smell of citrus. We watch the spectacular Avon fireworks display(on July 3) from our balcony; this hotel is the perfect location for that annual activity. The pool area is one of the best, with saltwater, lap pool and three infinity hot tubs set against the mountains. The hotel can be pricey, more than other area hotels, which is the only reason I cannot give it a 5. And, two different times in the past we have witnessed rowdy parties(with alcohol) on the pool deck and off a suite balcony; no one from the staff seemed to be around to put a stop to very drunken behavior. One yea, onr our last day, we were unable to visit pool as they closed the entire area for a wedding. One other plus, staff is polite and helpful!

Room Tip: If you are going for the 4th of July make sure to get a hotel facing away from mountain and toward t...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very environmentally-friendly. They provide beverage vouchers if you forego housekeeping, and allow you to reuse towels.
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us again at the Westin Riverfront. We're thrilled you and your family continue to thoroughly enjoy our resort. We appologize for any disturbance caused by other guests and that the pool was closed for a private event your last day. We appreciate your loyalty and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful with very nice and spacious rooms. The staff at the front desk is very polite and helpful. I like the location and you are just literally steps away from a gorgeous river in the back of the Hotel. The food at their main restaurant was outstanding. The only problem that we had is that we arrived around 3pm on a Friday and there was no place to eat real food. The Lift Cafe had already closed and their main restaurant wasn't open yet. The service at the pool is not great. They have a bar with limited hours and there are no waiters going around to check if you want food or drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We're glad you ejoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback regarding our food service. We'll work to improve that and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Great property on a Slipery Slop


This was my third stay at this property.
The location and the views are breathtaking. The décor and rooms are beautiful, well appointed.
This property presents some issues that need to be addressed.
Spg recognition is minimal. There is no place to have a good meal right now. The Market and the Lift have few choices and dull food.
I had breakfast included with my status. For continental breakfast we were offered about 2 choices: some old croissant and a huge fatty, unhealthy high carb muffin that looked like Shreck's head. I ended up ordering from the regular menu and return the voucher to the front desk. They promised that I will be given the 500 points platinum amenity, which has not happened yet.

This is one of the resorts where the $20 resort fee does not cover anything. It is just a way to improve bottom line and rip customers off, really.
I love the area and the location, the walk along the river, the facilities. My favorite thing is the 3 hot spas on the river's shore with an amazing view of the Beavercreek.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Rivefront. We're glad you enjoyed our property and appreciate your feedback regarding SPG recognition and the continental breakfast offering. We take your feedback seriously and have expanded our continental offering. Thank you again and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My girl and I decided to take a vacation weekend and come up from Denver. While we would say that our trip was simply too short, we still had a wonderful time. The Heavenly Bed is frankly impossible to get out of because it's so comfortable. Leisure time by the pool, followed by a walk by the creek was just what we needed to relax.

Paying for valet service (aka regular, overnight parking) was surprising as our reservation didnt make any mention of the required $25 per night. However, this was merely a disappointment at feeling nickle-and-dimed, but by no means unexpected for a hotel of this caliber.

We will definitely be returning for longer next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We're delighted to hear you had such a relaxing weekend and look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.