We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Travel Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Business Travel Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just a quick note for the Westin Riverfront Hotel in Beaver Creek, CO. Thank you for your hospitality, professionalism, warm welcome and stay; and for making a successful business trip for our team. Specifically, I'd like to note the excellent customer service and guest relations skill set of Jon Adgate. He is a true asset to your staff and any organization would be lucky to have him. During the first day of our visit, the hotel staff was turning rooms over for a busy weekend, and Jon provided us a premium room to ensure our comfort during the busy afternoon. He made a point to greet and follow up with us each day, and made for a very successful business visit.

Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We're delighted you had such a successful business trip/conference. We appreciate your warm words and kudos for our manager Jon Adgate. He is indeed a true asset to our resort and we're proud to have him with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    152
    47
    28
    17
See reviews for
250
238
25
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This resort is not ski in/ski out. Taking kids to ski school is a real pain when staying here. You have to take a gondola ride and then a bus. It takes at least 30 min.

As a Starwood platinum member I requested an early check in since we arrived at 11am. I was told repeatedly they were working on it but my room was ready at 3:50. A whole 10 min early.

The food options are very limited at this resort and there isn't a lot to walk too.

The staff is friendly. The concierge was quite intent on having us hear the time share presentation

If you want to use your Starwood points for a great ski in/ski out destination check out the Sheraton villas at Steamboat. Truly ski in/ski out at the base of the mountain!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your visit with us at the Westin Riverfront. While we are not slopeside, our gondola connects you to a mountain lift and has you skiing within minutes. A quick tip for next time if you need to get your kids to ski school, our Westin Kids Club provides this service daily. For a nominal fee, we will escort your kids up to the mountain for their lesson and back to the resort in the afternoon. This will allow you to get on and off the mountain at your own pace. Our appologies if we were not able to accomodate an early check in. Our standard check in time is 4pm and it can be difficult for us to accomodate early check ins during our busy winter season. We appreciate your loyalty to Starwood as a Platinum member and appreciate your compliment about our staff.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We have stayed at this resort 3 times and there's a reason we do. It's a gorgeous property, the service is phenomenal, the location is perfect and if you're lucky enough, as we have been, and get great snow, you're in for the perfect vacation! And if not, you've got Vail Village just a short ride away for shopping, movies, more restaurants, bowling, concerts, etc. We stayed at the Westin the first season it opened and they have maintained the rooms and amenities as if it just opened over these past 3+ years. The access you get from the gondola right at the hotel lobby to the mountain, is truly the perfect ski-out, ski-in experience. The people who work here could not be nicer. It is a pleasure to stay here.

And don't even get me started on the ski rental guys, especially MARCO!! He changed my whole feeling about skiing. After skiing for >45 yrs, I was thinking about slowly giving up the sport. I even gave away my skis to my daughter and rented equipment. Marco was my rental guy who encouraged me to try the top-of-the-line demo package. I was very reluctant because I was not in shape, just wanted to "cruise" the mountain and wasn't expecting to spend too much time skiing. (There's a phenomenal outdoor salt water pool that I enjoy swimming laps in.) Long story short, I skied 4 out of 5 days, skied long days, skied all black runs (99% groomed) and am far from retiring from skiing! Marco even showed me how to adjust my boots so for the 1st time in a very long time I didn't have to undo my boots after a run to get circulation in my feet! Marco is at the Beaver Creek Sports & Ski Rentals in the Westin - see him!

The food is awesome, too. Apres ski, apres jacuzzi in one of their 3 outdoor hottubs, sit on their outdoor balcony looking up at the snow-covered mountains and enjoy delicious appetizers and drinks. There's a big firepit to keep you warm.

The actual hotel rooms and villa (both of which we stayed) are appointed with the latest stainless steel appliances, granite countertops, comfy-cozy beds, and plenty of cookware, etc. They are very comfortable and make for easy living for your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We appreciate your continued loyalty to our resort and are happy we continue to provide memorable experiences for you. We're also happy to hear of your rekindled passion for skiing and appreciate your praise for Marco. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Attended a conference at this hotel and found the accommodations VERY comfortable. Excellent ski service in lobby. Although not a true "ski in/ski out" experience, the gondola at the base is a fantastic way to get on the mountain. Would definitely stay there again when going to Beaver Creek. Would recommend any businesses to look at a conference at their facility. Walking distance to numerous restaurants and to a grocery store.

Room Tip: Best rooms for Starwood Preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We're happy to hear our facilities worked so well for your conference and appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Beaver Creek.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great Starwood Property. It is not exactly ski on / ski off, but it does have gondola access to the lower ski lifts. You do not need to take a shuttle or drive to skiing and that is fantastic. The location is also close enough to town and the highway that you can visit other ski locations very easily. Enough about location, the property itself is amazing. Just what you want from a Westin. The pool and hot tubs were wonderful and the gym and spa area were especially nice. The staff was very helpful. They offered to move our rooms when we mentioned that we had reserved a kind bed, but we declined as the room they offered us - had a better view. So two beds with a great view is fine by me! The lobby was great, with the fire place and nice communal gathering area for happy hour. The live music was a nice touch. All the amenities were standard Westin. Perhaps the hotel could have been a little more "denver" themed - but that's just me being very nit picky. Great hotel. Great location. We're SPG Gold members so we stay at a lot of Westins. We'll be back to this property!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We're so glad you had such a wonderful vacation and enjoyed our resort. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my husband and another couple as part of an extended ski vacation. Our goal for this trip was to ski hard, relax, and enjoy some great dinners. The Westin was great for a number of reasons--in the back of the hotel, there is a gondola that takes you up to Arrowhead in two minutes; there is a ski and boot valet where you store your boots and skis overnight; there is an amazing gym, a very large outdoor pool and multiple hot tubs with great views of the mountain; a fabulous restaurant; a large, open bar with multiple fireplaces that offers a great happy hour; and the hotel staff hands out fresh-baked chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon. Our room was nice and large for a studio, however the storage space was somewhat awkward and there was not a logical place for both of our suitcases, (empty) ski and boot bags, etc. however, it was not anything that really bothered us. One night we caught the free shuttle that goes up to the Beaver Creek Village. It was very easy--it picks up = in front of the hotel, takes about ten minutes, and the bus leaves every thirty minutes at night. Overall, we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We're delighted we were able to provide such memorable experience for your ski vacation. Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I loved this hotel as I hate schlepping ski gear with me. I was able to rent skis onsite at Beaver Creek sports. I also like just handing my skis to a ski valet! I liked the yoga classes and the large health club overlooking the pool and Beaver Creek mountain. I also liked saving money by renting through VRBO.com as all the units are individually owned and by working with the owner directly, I saved about 40%. Ill be back in the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed our resort and its amenities, including ski valet and our workout and pool facilities. We look forward to seeing you this summer! Please be aware that when booking through VRBO verses through the hotel, certain resort services will not be available to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.