We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOTEL!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“SUPERB HOTEL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough great things about this hotel. The entire staff is awesome! Everyone is super friendly, the front desk personnel, the ski valet personnel, the waiters, the front door greeters.....
The room was amazing, with a kitchenette, a fireplace & the view was fantastic! The location & amenities couldn't be better! You can take a wonderful walk around the river which has access by the hotel.
The food at both restaurants is outstanding! They also have music in the lobby on the weekends.
We really enjoyed our stay here, we had so much fun skiing, and at the same time very relaxing. I would recommend this hotel to anyone in a heartbeat! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for you “superb” review of our hotel. We’re proud of our staff and they are proud to deliver the friendly, personal service you experienced. We think our location and amenities are amazing and are happy you do too! We actually have live music in the lobby every day of the week during ski season as well as fresh chocolate chip cookies at 4 p.m. each day. And . . . . we can’t wait for you to come back either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    135
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
227
213
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had an amazing vacation and stay (4-nights) at the Westin and was thoroughly impressed. The rooms were excellent (got a nice upgrade for being Platinum), definitely on-par with the rooms at Ritz and all their amenities (ski valet, gym/pool, concierge, etc). The gondola was nice as well, which lets you off at the lower beaver creak lift, so after the gondola its 2 ski lifts and a traverse to get to the good part of the mountain (Birds of Prey, Grouse, and Larskpur), so that's not bad at all. Will definitely be making a return visit here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We’re delighted you had an amazing ski vacation experience staying with us at the Westin Riverfront. We look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Everything about this resort was excellent! Food, service, rooms, friendliness of the staff. We would go back there anytime. I took a yoga class with Emily which was great! Had a wonderful massage, great hair style and nails! The exercise room is great and the staff was most helpful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We’re glad everything was so wonderful and we’re excited to see you again! I take Emily’s yoga class frequently and always come out feeling rejuvenated! Our staff looks forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband had a quick three day medical course. We misunderstood each other in emails, and I thought we were staying in Vail at a different hotel. I called THAT hotel and told them I'd be joining my husband and that we'd be bringing our 5 pound chihuahua. I was told it would be allowed, with a deposit and special forms, etc. When we arrived and looked at the itinerary more closely, we realized we were actually staying in Beaver Creek at the Westin. I panicked. I had not asked about dogs, and here we were, with our puppy, 11PM. Ugh. It was the most pleasant surprise at check in to find that the Westin was VERY dog friendly. They were so pleasant on our arrival, getting to know us and our dog, they even brought him his own fluffy bed and dog bowls and gave him a leash to keep. There were no special deposits, forms or anything. In fact, every time someone saw us with our dog, we were greeted warmly and asked if there was anything they could do for us. Our room was clean and beautiful. It had a nice entryway with hooks for our coats, a spacious bathroom, a well appointed kitchenette and a gas fireplace. It was a beautiful place for me to relax and read with our puppy while my husband had his courses during the day. At night, we packed up our dog in his purse and trekked through Beaver Creek and Vail villages. Our dog was welcomed everywhere in his carrier (actually, so many people didn't realize he was even there) including every restaurant we ate at over the three days. It was one of my most relaxing vacations ever, and I travel a lot. It was our first time taking a pet, and we'll absolutely be doing it again. It is nice to know of a totally dog-friendly hotel chain. There were several families with dogs, all so happy and well-behaved. Thank you Westin! We will be coming back!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a trick. We were in a standard room and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Yes, we do allow dogs of all sizes at the Westin Riverfront, (some Westins may have a weight restriction). We also provide a Westin Heavenly Dog Bed so your four-legged friend can feel renewed too! We’re happy you enjoyed your room and look forward to seeing you and your dog again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

If you can't afford to stay at the Ritz or the Hyatt, the Westin is an excellent choice. I would like to start by complimenting the GM and his or her staff. I have been coming to the area for the last 25 years and have never experienced such well trained service. Again and again, the staff went out of there way to help us.

The location is good, but not great, but for the value this place is amazing.

The rooms are nice and new. The bed is great, but the TV is too small and the hallway where the closets are, are too thin. The room in general would be much better if it was 3 feet wider.
The breakfast cafe is excellent, with amazing service and food.

The only knock on our trip is our in room movie service did not work on the last night we were there and we called for help, but no one ever came and fixed it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and warm words. Our staff take pride in delivering a memorable experience for our guests. We're sorry for the issue experienced with your in-room movie and for not responding to your call in a timely manner. However, we're glad our staff went out of their to help you during the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at the Westin. If we were without the kids and used the fitness center, spa and lounge more it would have been a different experience. With the kids it was very difficult to get to ski school but we knew that before we booked. We opted to take the direct ski bus that left from across the street at 8:06 or 8:21 in the am and we got to the ski school in plenty of time. We also enjoyed the coffee in the am in the lobby and the cookies and happy hour in the afternoon. Cima was not our favorite and our waitress for happy hour was horrible but besides that we had a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
We’re glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Westin Riverfront! Our Kids Club provides another option for getting the kids to ski school. Our staff will take care of getting the kids to ski school in the morning and back to the hotel in the afternoon. That way, next time you can take full advantage of some of our amenities such as the fitness center and spa. We appreciate your feedback on dining. We also have The Lift (casual American) available as another dinner option. Please feel free to contact me with any further specific feedback– we’d love to hear it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel is fabulous. Very convenient to everything. Great on site access to the gondola that takes you right to the lift!!! The beds are extremely comfortable and the hotel is beautiful. I would recommend to anyone. Hot tubs are awesome. Workout facility is great.

Had a very disappointing experience at the spa. My husband and i booked a massage for the last morning that we were there and available to have time for this and we were very excited and looking forward to this service. When we got there, we changed into our robes and sat in the waiting room for 25 minutes. We finally contacted the front desk and they said that our scheduled time was for 11 a.m. and not 10 a.m. We had been sitting there since 9:45 a.m. When we checked in they did not say anthing about the fact that we were more than an hour early. The person that booked us apparently made a mistake on the time and we did not have the luxury to sit around and wait for the 11 a.m. appointment. Unfortunately our schedule only left us with that one window of opportunity and so we could not reschedule to another time. The resort personnel did not go out of there way to apologize or try to make it right. it was very very disappointing because everything else about our stay was positive.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We apologize for your disappointing experience at the Spa and for any lack of apology or accommodation. Please call our Spa Manager at the Resort who would be pleased to receive your feedback and discuss the matter further. We want to make it right for you. Further, we will work with our associates to ensure that they better confirm appointment times upon check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Tingo, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.