We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than Heavenly...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boulder, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Less than Heavenly...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The bed... Exactly whatever the opposite of heavenly is the definition of how the pullout bed felt. How can such a lovely Starwood property that's obviously spent millions on rooms, lobby and spa go CHEAP on the pullout beds. Absolutely awful... Most uncomfortable sleeping arrangement I've ever had... And I've slept in a sailboat. Inexcusable. It is as if they ran out of money when it came to the pullout and bought the worst on the market. And to think that the pullouts are in the more expensive rooms... The suites. They need to give those couches/pullouts away and start all over. Or better yet, every operations and property manager should have to sleep in/on one of those gawd-awful beds... Bet their spines will never be the same. Terrible. Terrible. Terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with our pullout sleeper sofa beds. Please accept our apologies. I have stayed on one, and you’re correct - the pullout sleeper sofas do not provide the same level of comfort and experience as our signature Westin Heavenly Beds. To ensure your entire family experiences a high level of sleeping comfort during your next stay, we would encourage you to book a standard room with two queen beds or a two bedroom suite, depending on your family’s size, budget, and needs.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    418
    137
    41
    25
    14
See reviews for
231
214
23
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If only there could be a Westin Resort like this at every ski resort! We have stayed here before and always feel that the service is perfect; it just doesn't get any better. Gondola in, gondola out is optimum for skiers as it is is only ten steps from the boot room. They have your skis waiting at the gondola each morning and take and store them at the end of the day. The Gondola is public but there was never a line. The rooms are luxurious and well laid out, maximizing the space. We loved the infinity hot tubs with great views of the mountain. Did feel that the restaurant was a bit too pricey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your nice comments and for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa. Our ski valet service and the gondola next door are pretty special. We know you have other choices, so we’re delighted you choose to keeping coming back to stay at our hotel. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 8 days at this hotel for ski vacations. The unit was comfortable and clean, and the service superb (concierge, car and ski valet, front desk and overall). The gondola to get to the mountain is very convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms looking to the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed your ski vacation with us! Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for a week over New Years. It is a nice hotel with lovely rooms, a fun lobby for after-skiing relaxation & a great pool/jacuzzi & fun, convenient gondola. But there a few too many negatives, in my opinion, to merit the high price vs. some of the other options in the area.

First, there is a big variability in the room views. Our first room overlooked the lobby on the 1st floor and so we had no privacy and had to keep the curtains closed...and it was very noisy. We eventually got switched to the same type of room but with a much nicer, mountain view up higher. This view, with the nice room, I have to say was lovely. So you have to request up-front and hope you get a good room.

Second, my 4 year old daughter was in ski school and it is honestly a hassle to get a little one to the village/ski school area from this hotel. First you take the gondola, then wait 5-15 minutes in the cold for a bus, and then try to find some standing-room only on a crowded bus and take a 10 minute ride into town, and then more walking with all your gear to the ski school. Then you have to do on the way back....which is not easy with a tired, cold little 4 year old! The Park Hyatt is right next to the ski school in actual Beaver Creek village and would be a MUCH better location.

Lastly, the service was not that great. I felt the front desk was a bit rude when we asked to switch rooms, almost every time we waited at least 20 minutes for our car, and housekeeping took a few calls to arrive some days. But to be fair it was a busy New Years week...and the people in the ski valet, starbucks etc. were amazing and very friendly/helpful.

all in all...fine if you get a good rate and don't have to take kids to ski school. But not worth the expensive $$ if you have options to stay closer to town.

Room Tip: request a mountain view (even the view on the other side of actual Beaver Creek mountain is nice)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank your for staying with us over the New Year’s Holiday. We’re pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, lobby, pool/Jacuzzis and the Riverfront Express gondola which connects the resort to the Beaver Creek lifts.

We apologize that your experience of our service was not great. We appreciate your feedback and will address these concerns to ensure you will not have the same experience in the future.

You’re right about the various “views” from the guest rooms. We have several view categories with the “mountain view” facing the Eagle River and Beaver Creek Mountain generally regarded as the best. Certain guests prefer this view and others prefer to pay a little less for another view (all of which are surrounded by mountains)

There are three options for ski school – one is exactly as you describe. The second is a shuttle from the main Avon transit station to Beaver Creek Village. The third is that our Kids Club staff will escort your child to the children’s ski school in Beaver Creek Village. Many of our guests will escort their children to ski school the first day, and then have our staff escort them on subsequent days. We offer this service to make things easier for the parents and little ones.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Facts: 1. Ordered breakfast the night before to arrive at 7:45am the morning after in order to meet the ski school schedule. Food didn't arrive until 8:05am. We had to leave and miss breakfast. 2. Arrived to room at around 5pm one day and the room was not done. 3. Arrived to room at 6pm one day and only 1/2 the room was done. Towels were still hanging on the doors from he morning showers. 4. Ordered a few more milks for te coffee one morning and tey never arrived. 5. No one really could answer my question re SPG points. 6. Valet parking guys were the ony people who did their job well. 7. Sport massage at the spa was NOT a sport massage. It was an extremely soft massage and was not intending to release any stiff muscles (even though I asked a number of times during the massage sessions that this is not strong enough).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for your thoughtful review. We apologize for our mishaps in room service and housekeeping.

We take your feedback seriously and will use it to improve in these areas specifically, to make sure other guests don’t have this experience in the future.

Next time you book, please ask to speak with our spa director to ensure you receive the sports massage that you expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here last week with my family (2 boys 9 & 11). I heard good things about this place and spoke to the hotel several times before booking. I was assured that is was easily accessible from Beaver Creek Mountain. Not the case, it was 5 miles to ski back here from the top of BC, crossing some terrain that is advanced intermediate, not for little kids. Hotel was not warm or cozy, furnishing felt cold and uncomfortable. Someone stole my son's new helmet, goggles, next warmer from the hotel. They never offered to replace it. I had to pay to rent a new one for the rest of the week at my own expense. Shuttle service form BC village to hotel was crowded and standing out in the cold waiting for the bus was no fun. Hotel did have good room service though. People who worked there were all mostly very nice. Spa was just okay, nothing special. We felt totally removed from all of the village activities and fun. Not worth the crazy price per night for the 2 br suite that we had. Would not recommend this place...

Room Tip: Get one near the pool in the east wing so you don't have to walk so far to hot tub & pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we truly value your thoughts and are sorry to hear that you encountered some intermediate – advanced terrain with your children skiing back to the resort. We understand how that could be frustrating.

With our central location in Avon, we could have done a better job explaining the transportation options to you, including the complimentary shuttle and gondola service connecting us to Beaver Creek. We’re currently working on an information sheet for our guests that will explain the easiest ways to get around the area.

We do our best to create an environment of warmth and energy with live music in our lobby every afternoon and evening as well as complimentary warm cookies at the end of every ski day. We are delighted that you did enjoy your room service and felt that our staff provided friendly service.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and appreciate your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here over New Years with our family. Great family spot. Plenty of hot jacuzzis with a view, heated pool, great work out room and loved the convenience of the Gondola straight to the lifts.

Beaver Creek is a great ski resort and far less crowded then Vail.

Enjoyed the large open fire in the lounge, music and playing checkers with the kids.

Only downside is the pull out couch is downright miserable. Coils in the back ouch! Had to have kids sleep on the floor with umpteen down blankets. Even the staff agreed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We’re so pleased that you enjoyed our resort. Thank you for your kind comments.

Beaver Creek is a fine resort, and it’s nice to have the Gondola right outside our door for easy access to the mountain.

Next time we could get you a “bed board” under the mattress on the sofa sleeper, which will make it more comfortable. As an alternative, we could reserve you either a double queen room or a two bedroom suite, depending on your needs and budget, to ensure your whole family sleeps on one of our signature Westin Heavenly beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.