We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too far removed from the mountain!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montclair, NJ
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Too far removed from the mountain!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here last week with my family (2 boys 9 & 11). I heard good things about this place and spoke to the hotel several times before booking. I was assured that is was easily accessible from Beaver Creek Mountain. Not the case, it was 5 miles to ski back here from the top of BC, crossing some terrain that is advanced intermediate, not for little kids. Hotel was not warm or cozy, furnishing felt cold and uncomfortable. Someone stole my son's new helmet, goggles, next warmer from the hotel. They never offered to replace it. I had to pay to rent a new one for the rest of the week at my own expense. Shuttle service form BC village to hotel was crowded and standing out in the cold waiting for the bus was no fun. Hotel did have good room service though. People who worked there were all mostly very nice. Spa was just okay, nothing special. We felt totally removed from all of the village activities and fun. Not worth the crazy price per night for the 2 br suite that we had. Would not recommend this place...

Room Tip: Get one near the pool in the east wing so you don't have to walk so far to hot tub & pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback, we truly value your thoughts and are sorry to hear that you encountered some intermediate – advanced terrain with your children skiing back to the resort. We understand how that could be frustrating.

With our central location in Avon, we could have done a better job explaining the transportation options to you, including the complimentary shuttle and gondola service connecting us to Beaver Creek. We’re currently working on an information sheet for our guests that will explain the easiest ways to get around the area.

We do our best to create an environment of warmth and energy with live music in our lobby every afternoon and evening as well as complimentary warm cookies at the end of every ski day. We are delighted that you did enjoy your room service and felt that our staff provided friendly service.

We wish you all the best in your future travels and appreciate your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    416
    135
    40
    24
    14
See reviews for
227
213
23
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here over New Years with our family. Great family spot. Plenty of hot jacuzzis with a view, heated pool, great work out room and loved the convenience of the Gondola straight to the lifts.

Beaver Creek is a great ski resort and far less crowded then Vail.

Enjoyed the large open fire in the lounge, music and playing checkers with the kids.

Only downside is the pull out couch is downright miserable. Coils in the back ouch! Had to have kids sleep on the floor with umpteen down blankets. Even the staff agreed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
We’re so pleased that you enjoyed our resort. Thank you for your kind comments.

Beaver Creek is a fine resort, and it’s nice to have the Gondola right outside our door for easy access to the mountain.

Next time we could get you a “bed board” under the mattress on the sofa sleeper, which will make it more comfortable. As an alternative, we could reserve you either a double queen room or a two bedroom suite, depending on your needs and budget, to ensure your whole family sleeps on one of our signature Westin Heavenly beds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for a quick 3-day ski trip Jan 3-5th, 2013 - have stayed here multiple times before. Ski boot warming room and ski delivery with on-site gondola is VERY convenient and staff was very good. All staff we encountered were very friendly and open to accommodate any and all requests. A great place for skiing and just getting away. Was yet again another fantastic Westin experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you for staying and for your kind comments. Having warm boots on a chilly day is lovely! We’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our staff takes great pride in delivering friendly and personal service. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our first time staying here...upon arrival when checking in, they told me my reservation had been canceled because i booked with a third party & was to check in a day earlier but did not. Luckily they did accommodate me. Crazy! Next time i will know better as to call a hotel to let them know in advanced will i will arrive. (Even if the room has already been paid for.) Rooms are very clean & cozy, staff is nice. As for the restaurant Cima, not such a hit. The menu is very limited in the choices they have to offer, for dinner as well as breakfast! The market is nice for a small bite for breakfast. The lift cafe is nice for kids to eat. Overall nice, but for the price i'll stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa. We're sorry you experienced some difficulties with your reservation and check in but we're happy to hear our staff were accomodating. We hold the reservation through the booked arrival date before releasing the room, but if you do call in advance to let us know you'll be a day late we will definitely keep the reservation in the system for your new arrival.

We're glad your experience was nice and cozy overall and we appreciate your feedback on our restaurant and menu choices. We continually evaluate our offerings and strive to provide the best options for you, our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great place, beautiful setting, terrific lobby and the service was excellent. In fact, the service was among the best of any hotel I've stayed at. Would definitely return! Lots of great touches too like extendable flat screen tv, fireplace, ipod docking unit, dual showerheads, etc etc. A definite thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're glad to hear your stay was so good you didn't want to leave! We would love to have you back and look forward to delivering another excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our third stay in the Beaver Creek area, and our first time at the Westin Riverside. The Westin is a very nice resort, if you're staying in the main hotel area. The lobby is luxurious and inviting, with wonderful views of the mountain. Very nice, but pricey (as is most of the area), restaurants on site. Wonderful spa facilities, nice outdoor heated lap pool and hottubs that are convenient to amazing locker rooms with saunas, and a very well equipped gym. Also, we loved the location and that the gondola to the slopes is right there at the hotel, as well as convenient bus transport to Beaver Creek Village and around Avon. The biggest negative about the hotel is the parking lot, which is underground and THE MOST confusing maze of lanes, support posts and security gates we have ever seen. And the parking seemed to be the running joke of many of the guest we spoke to, as we all were baffled by the design and confusion of getting in and out of the garaqe. Our teens joked that they should have paid us for not causing an accident instead of us paying for parking! We had to actually go through 3, yes 3, security gates to get to our basement section of the villas, both going in and going out! I just cannot imagine what all the other security gates were for, and it was like each floor had it's own security parking section, and you had to go through multiple sections to get to your own. Now about the villas... the villas were decent and well appointed, but not better than other villas we have stayed in in the Beaver Creek area and actually a bit smaller in general. The big disappointment is that the villa building is actually separated from the main hotel so that you CANNOT get to the main hotel lobby without going outside of the villa building to walk over (outside) to the hotel building. We just kept asking ourselves why did they not think about connecting the two inside? So when staying in the villas building, you are somewhat disconnected from the hotel, like an ugly stepchild from the family. Also, our experience was even worse due to the fact that we were on the P2, parking 2, level. What this meant was that ever time we wanted to go somewhere, whether to the ski slopes, the bus, the hotel lobby, restaurants, pool/hottubs/gym, we actually had to go through the parking garage to get to the elevator that would take us up to the outside courtyard where we could get access to everything. Very annoying!!! This also applied to the P1, parking one level, but not to any of the upper floors of the villa building. The upper floors do not have to go through the parking garage but still have to walk outside to access all the hotel amenities. The only thing convenient to us was our car, in the parking garage (as we passed it each time we had to go anywhere). Despite the negatives, we still managed to have a very nice time, although I would not choose the Westin for our family again. It was just not for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I LOVED the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa. From the moment we stepped into the gorgeous entry way, the staff was there to help us with our every whim. By the end of our trip, the concierge had helped us find activities (which by the way were spectacularly fun) at least a dozen times, always with a smile on her sweet face. We spent many hours at the pools and hot tubs and took full advantage of the beautiful, well equipped gym. The location was perfect, very close to all of our favorite hikes, and the dinner each night was exquisite. I have absolutely no complaints for the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: Suites have beautiful fireplaces and a very nice sitting room where you can relax after a long, acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Our goal is for you to feel better when you leave than when you arrived. We're delighted to hear you were able to relax and rejuvenate with us here in the beautiful Rocky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.