We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good I didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
GreenLeadersBronze level
toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So good I didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great place, beautiful setting, terrific lobby and the service was excellent. In fact, the service was among the best of any hotel I've stayed at. Would definitely return! Lots of great touches too like extendable flat screen tv, fireplace, ipod docking unit, dual showerheads, etc etc. A definite thumbs up all around!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
We're glad to hear your stay was so good you didn't want to leave! We would love to have you back and look forward to delivering another excellent experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    141
    43
    26
    16
See reviews for
239
220
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our third stay in the Beaver Creek area, and our first time at the Westin Riverside. The Westin is a very nice resort, if you're staying in the main hotel area. The lobby is luxurious and inviting, with wonderful views of the mountain. Very nice, but pricey (as is most of the area), restaurants on site. Wonderful spa facilities, nice outdoor heated lap pool and hottubs that are convenient to amazing locker rooms with saunas, and a very well equipped gym. Also, we loved the location and that the gondola to the slopes is right there at the hotel, as well as convenient bus transport to Beaver Creek Village and around Avon. The biggest negative about the hotel is the parking lot, which is underground and THE MOST confusing maze of lanes, support posts and security gates we have ever seen. And the parking seemed to be the running joke of many of the guest we spoke to, as we all were baffled by the design and confusion of getting in and out of the garaqe. Our teens joked that they should have paid us for not causing an accident instead of us paying for parking! We had to actually go through 3, yes 3, security gates to get to our basement section of the villas, both going in and going out! I just cannot imagine what all the other security gates were for, and it was like each floor had it's own security parking section, and you had to go through multiple sections to get to your own. Now about the villas... the villas were decent and well appointed, but not better than other villas we have stayed in in the Beaver Creek area and actually a bit smaller in general. The big disappointment is that the villa building is actually separated from the main hotel so that you CANNOT get to the main hotel lobby without going outside of the villa building to walk over (outside) to the hotel building. We just kept asking ourselves why did they not think about connecting the two inside? So when staying in the villas building, you are somewhat disconnected from the hotel, like an ugly stepchild from the family. Also, our experience was even worse due to the fact that we were on the P2, parking 2, level. What this meant was that ever time we wanted to go somewhere, whether to the ski slopes, the bus, the hotel lobby, restaurants, pool/hottubs/gym, we actually had to go through the parking garage to get to the elevator that would take us up to the outside courtyard where we could get access to everything. Very annoying!!! This also applied to the P1, parking one level, but not to any of the upper floors of the villa building. The upper floors do not have to go through the parking garage but still have to walk outside to access all the hotel amenities. The only thing convenient to us was our car, in the parking garage (as we passed it each time we had to go anywhere). Despite the negatives, we still managed to have a very nice time, although I would not choose the Westin for our family again. It was just not for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I LOVED the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa. From the moment we stepped into the gorgeous entry way, the staff was there to help us with our every whim. By the end of our trip, the concierge had helped us find activities (which by the way were spectacularly fun) at least a dozen times, always with a smile on her sweet face. We spent many hours at the pools and hot tubs and took full advantage of the beautiful, well equipped gym. The location was perfect, very close to all of our favorite hikes, and the dinner each night was exquisite. I have absolutely no complaints for the Westin Riverfront Resort and Spa.

Room Tip: Suites have beautiful fireplaces and a very nice sitting room where you can relax after a long, acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Our goal is for you to feel better when you leave than when you arrived. We're delighted to hear you were able to relax and rejuvenate with us here in the beautiful Rocky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I stay here once a month. Great property with great service. The health club is world class and the restaurant on-site is fantastic....in particular in the Vail Valley where food is typically mediocre at best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for your praise and frequent visits. We're very happy to hear that our property and staff continue to deliver you the experience you're looking for in the Vail Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We are currently staying at the Westin to enjoy some skiing. It is a fine looking hotel, but service is lacking and efforts to save money on the hotel's behalf are apparent. Today, we returned to the room at 430 pm after a day of skiing and it had yet to be cleaned by the house keeping staff. This is one of the small perks you look forward to when staying at a higher-end hotel. When we checked in we were given the option of waiving our housekeeping services in exchange for 10 hotel dollars or Starwood points. We chose to keep the service, as there is nothing nicer than returning to a clean room with fresh towels after a day of skiing. Something tells me though that the hotel has too small of a housekeeping staff and is banking on people taking the 10 hotel dollars. Alas, we were really disappointed.

In addition, we had the breakfast buffet this morning which was equally disappointing. The choices included - small hashbrown patties, scrambled eggs and bacon. Toast and oatmeal was also available. Just seemed cheap and lame for a breakfast in such at beautiful location/hotel where nearly everyone will spend the day outside on the slopes. Total bill for this delicacy was $42 for two.

Overall, the location is beautiful and it is a convenient gondola ride to the slopes. We just expect a pinch more from a Westin.

Room Tip: Would recommend requesting a room facing the slopes and not the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We're sorry to hear your experience so far has not met your expecations.

Opting in to our Make a Green Choice program and not receiving daily housekeeping service is a way for many of our guests to decrease their carbon footprint and make a difference. However, receiving that service is part of the full experience for many of our guests as well. Offering both of these preferences helps us provide the best experience for our guests and each are equally important to us.

While housekeeping service takes place throughout the entire day, we understand how nice it feels to come back after a day of skiing and have a refreshed room.

Please feel free to contact Service Express or the Front Desk to schedule a specific time of the day to have your room refreshed for the rest of your stay, so we can ensure your day has a better feeling of renewal. As our daily breakfast buffet did not meet your expectations, we can also present our many other breakfast options at that time.

We look forward to hearing from you and are excited for the opportunity to rejuvenate the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Saved by the property manager, pampered by the staff, our recent stay at this Westin Avon/Beaver Creek property comes with HIGH REMARKS and ROBUST ENTHUSIASM.

Is there a reason that my family and I keep coming back to this MAGNIFICENT property?

Walking distance to the Gondola and world class skiing? Hot tubs and swimming pool? Walk / Bike path adjacent to the property? Pet friendly? Central location to world-class restaurants in the Village, Edwards, and Vail?

You will NOT be disappointed....just be warned, you will want to stay longer and return many times!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
It is with the same enthusiasm that we thank you for your continued loyalty to our property! We look forward to providing you and your family with more magnificent experiences. (Hopefully you can stay a little longer next time!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I stayed at the Westin for 5 nights with my family during Christmas weekend, and enjoyed it very much. Our room had a mini kitchen which was very convenient for having a quick breakfast and après ski snacks. The ski equipment rental and ski valet are conveniently located on the first floor and the gondola connects the hotel to the ski resort. The lobby has a very inviting atmosphere featuring a large fireplace and guitar entertainment each evening. Most favorite of all were the warm chocolate chip cookies served daily at 4 pm. This is one of the nicest Starwood properties I've stayed at, and perfect for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucas B, Manager at Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
The warm chocolate chip cookies are our favorite part too! Thank you for staying with us and we're glad your experience was memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa

Address: 126 Riverfront Lane, Avon, Beaver Creek, CO 81620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Beaver Creek > Avon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa at Beaver Creek Mountain is in the heart of the Vail Valley, CO and was recently named the #2 Resort US Mainland by readers of Conde Nast Traveler. The Beaver Creek hotel features direct access to skiing and year-round mountain activities. Home to Spa Anjali, named #2 Resort Spa by Conde Nast Traveler readers, relax where mother nature nurtures. Revive at Maya, a Richard Sandoval Signature restaurant due to open in June of 2013. Experience total renewal in a spacious studio suite or one, two or three bedroom condominium with breathtaking view of Beaver Creek Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Riverfront Resort And Spa
Westin Riverfront Hotel Beaver Creek
Westin Beaver Creek
Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa Avon, CO - Beaver Creek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Riverfront Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.