We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel/place so far!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoked Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stoked Backpackers to your Saves list
Stoked Backpackers
175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“best hostel/place so far!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

After 4 days in cape town city centre at "The backpackers" hostel (good hostel in the city centre by the way) we decided to move down more south to spend some time at the beach and fibally be able to go swimming (there are also beaches in cape town but the watet there is very cold!)
The hostel had a huge balkony facing the ocean and a cafe downstairs where you could eat breakfast or just chill. Goibg to the beach took just 3 minutes and we spend some wonderful days swimming and enjoying the sun!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for the great review. And thanks for all the great memories!! Hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The service at the hostel was great from the start, the person behind the desk was very friendly when dealing with my booking. Showing us to the room and suggested that the best place for me to stay was one bed away from anyone else so as I would not be disturbed. Then showed and explained how the communal kitchen worked. Then pointed out some of the local attractions and what to do around the area.

They knew exactly which beds were taken and which were not. I stayed for 5 nights and every day the room was cleaned yet the bed was never touched, i found this perfect as I had things on the bed to show it was taken and not remaking it meant that they were always on the bed so no one would take it.

They had internet access although it did have problems we were told about these problems and apologies were made for it not working. The gate had a night guard on and a code for the door was given so returning at anytime of night was no problem. The guard was also very friendly and greeted with a smile.

Perfect for a short stay and very affordable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, and thanks for giving us top marks. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for noticing some of the little (but important) things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in Muizenburg for the last 2 days of our trip in SA and chose stoked backpackers based on the good reviews on tripadvisor.

The hostel itself is really nice, good security, friendly staff, good quality dorm rooms and kitchen facilities. You have a great view from the balcony over looking the beach which is a nice place to eat your meals.

The reason this isn't a 5 is because of the following.

- I get the feeling they have a lot of local people staying with them long term which isn't a problem but perhaps they need to be a little stricter with drinking rules. For example a guy was drinking a bottle of wine both mornings before 10am whilst people were having breakfast. For some people this isn't nice.....and then 3 of them took over the seating area drinking a bottle of scotch before noon. Maybe they should have a little more control over this because a lot of guests will not like this.

- no free tea or coffee :-( every single backpackers in the past 4 months I have stayed in South Africa ALWAYS have free tea and coffee, without fail. I know you guys have a coffee shop downstairs but it's a little pricey for those on a budget. Just a thought.

Overall this is a really nice backpackers with the best dorms I have stayed in during my time in SA.

Room Tip: Dorm 5 and 6 are really nice dorms but extremely loud as you have the train line and main road right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and for your feedback. II would like to offer some clarity on your first point: I can see how certain individuals had the appearance of being long-term, but in fact, they had only been here less than a week (perhaps the alcohol made them a bit too relaxed?) And, although, we would not restrict someone from enjoying a moderate amount of alcohol, I personally agree that it is not pleasant to see others getting drunk in the morning, and if we had known about it, I would definitely had a word with them. I hope this allays your concerns. Your second point is also well taken, and we will look into providing tea and coffee (while still encouraging guests to try our amazing artisan coffee and gourmet teas).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paternoster, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

me and my daughter stayed in a dorm and had such a good time, we watched movies in the sweet tv hide away, cooked up a storm in the kitchen while keeping an eye on the waves and the ocean, had a blast of a time on the beach trying to learn to surf and came back hungry to their in house munchie and coffee bar with no regrets... nice guys. Lovely place..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stoked is such an amazing place. My fav thing, absolutely fav is the coffee shop. It has such simple but lovely decor, AMAZING music, great atmosphere, with a lovely view ofcos. Plus they have free wifi. Plus hot water all the time. Definately going back there.
Thanks to the staff for their lovely service!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burr Ridge, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was by far one of the best places we've ever had the pleasure of staying at. The rooms are large extremely clean and really well laid out. Even though there was 6 beds in our dorm, due to the lofted beds and rooms it never felt cramped, and the beds were nice and comfortable. The kitchen was extremely clean and offered a wonderful view of the ocean as well. The staff was wonderful, kind and always willing to help out with everything we needed for our volunteer trip and side adventures. Then there was the cafe. Breakfast lunch and dinner were all great and the girl who cooks the food is always coming up with great unique new meal ideas. Overall we loved this place and can't wait to come back and stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

A beautifully clean and ideally located Backpackers. Next door to the train station and overlooking the surf break. It it's close to restaurants and the town centre. Vibey cafe downstairs, Friendly staff. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoked Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoked Backpackers

Address: 175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Muizenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Muizenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great backpackers or hostel in Muizenberg? You’ve come to the right place! Stoked Backpackers is literally a stone’s throw away from Surfers’ Corner in Muizenberg, Cape Town. This popular swimming beach is a blue flag beach, which means it gets top marks for safety, cleanliness and amenities. The beach break produces great waves, making it a hot spot for surfers. In fact, Muizenberg is one of the World’s Best Surf Towns, according to National Geographic, who say, "A great surf town is the nearly magical sum of consistent waves, inviting accommodation, friendly locals, fun nightlife, delicious food, and plenty of activities should the ocean go flat." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stoked Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoked Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.