We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top End” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoked Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stoked Backpackers to your Saves list
Stoked Backpackers
175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Top End”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have traveled to over 25 countries staying in hostels all over the world and i cant remeber staying in a better hostel if you consider location, staff, facilities, and cleanliness. An awesome alternative to staying right in Cape Town to do some surfing and lounging on the beach in a slower enviroment. Cheers Stoked staff, will miss you all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks so much for the awesome review. We're Stoked!

It was great to have you as a guest, and even better to listen to your hilarious travel stories. You must write a book, seriously!

Hope to see you again soon.

cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Loved my stay there. Has an awesome deck overlooking the ocean, great clean kitchen and hot water!!! Loved the lounge area with DSTV! Right next to the train station, all the restaurants and shops. Just around the corner from the surfshop! :) What I found a bit weird, was having to do your own bedding... Other than that it's amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the awesome review and taking the time to write it.

Good point about making your own beds. We've changed things slightly so that only those in the Standard Dorms have to make their own bed.

The reasons we do it: is to make sure you get fresh bedding, as opposed to some that has had other people's luggage on it, and we are not sure which bed you'll be in.

cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Awesome location! The rooms were very clean and neat. The cafe served the best coffee and the service was amazing!! Greet deck upstairs for hanging out. Close to train station so easy for moving around. Close to beach, restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the great review! And thanks for taking the time to write it.

Our cafe and housekeeping staff are tickled pink at the compliments!

Happy Travels!

cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stoked Backpackers was super clean and the staff was really friendly and helpful. They have an amazing deck with the most beautiful ocean view. It's right next to the train station giving easy access to Cape Town city bowl as well as Simon's Town. Best is the trains don't run at night so no disrupted sleep. Best was the percale linnen. Totally unexpected luxury. The coffee at their little cafe at the reception was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks so much for the great review and for taking the time to write it!

Also thanks for noticing the 100% cotton percale linen! It's so great to know that it is appreciated! We're not too far away, so come back for a cuppa anytime.

cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchofstroom, North-West
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Arriving at stoked is as simple as walking out of the metro station. The great graffiti lets you know that the care put into this hostel is not just to give you a good night sleep, but to make you feel at home in a colorful palace overlooking the ocean and mountains.

The food in the café is the good above description. Make yourself at home in a ambiance that makes the hart snares tingle with the desire that you lived here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for the poetic praise, and taking the time to review our place!

We're just a cup of coffee (and a road trip) away, so hope to see you again soon.

cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

AMAZING stay! I will never forget my time @ Stoked, met great friends from UK and Germany...hostel is right on the ocean, great deck overlooking the sea! Graham and Tara helped me so much, set me up with surf lessons and treated me like family. Nesley was fantastic as well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tara L, Owner at Stoked Backpackers, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Alec,

Thanks for the great review, and taking the time to write it! It was great meeting you and I've enjoyed following your world travels! Great work in amazing places! Hope to see you again soon.

cheers, Tara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoked Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoked Backpackers

Address: 175 Main Road | Surfers' Corner, Muizenberg 7945, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Muizenberg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Muizenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a great backpackers or hostel in Muizenberg? You’ve come to the right place! Stoked Backpackers is literally a stone’s throw away from Surfers’ Corner in Muizenberg, Cape Town. This popular swimming beach is a blue flag beach, which means it gets top marks for safety, cleanliness and amenities. The beach break produces great waves, making it a hot spot for surfers. In fact, Muizenberg is one of the World’s Best Surf Towns, according to National Geographic, who say, "A great surf town is the nearly magical sum of consistent waves, inviting accommodation, friendly locals, fun nightlife, delicious food, and plenty of activities should the ocean go flat." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Stoked Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoked Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.