We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of the old Mozambique” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carla's

Carla's
York Rd, Muizenberg, South Africa
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Muizenberg
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Owner Chef Run Mozambican Seafood Restuarant specializing in Prawns Nacionale. Little restuarantpopular with locals, but tourists love it! Hidden away serendipity. Great decor and intimate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A touch of the old Mozambique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Small unpretentious restaurant serving outstanding prawns fad some other Portuguese dishes. Carla is the genuine article and takes great pride in her restaurant and food. If you're in Muizenberg do go to Carla's for a good meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

After my girlfriend talking about this place for years finally we went and it lived up to what she had told me. Anytime I'm in Cape Town I'll def come back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not up to historic standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We were disappointed. Too many of the prawns were over cooked and therefore stuck to their shells and there wasn't enough peri peri sauce to put on the dried out prawns. We used to come often but this was not good enough for a restaurant that specializes in prawns

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Perhaps reading all the excellent reviews on this restaurant left me with high expectations
The prawns looked big but by the time the heads were removed, there wasn't much left. Considering the price charged - R115 for 8 or R155 for 12, I found it to be on the pricey side. However, the sauce that it was prepared in was very tasty.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“LM in Muizenberg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Small, cosy Mozambican restaurant, with the best prawn in the Western Cape. Excellent service and great atmosphere. The mussel starter is also a winner!. See you soon Carla!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carla's also viewed

Muizenberg, Cape Town
Muizenberg, Cape Town
 
Muizenberg, Cape Town
Muizenberg, Cape Town
 

Been to Carla's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carla's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.