We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last hôtel before balos lagon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balos Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Balos Beach to your Saves list
Balos Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaliviani, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaliviani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houilles, France
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Last hôtel before balos lagon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Good location With GOOD view on sea and montains. Ask for a room upstairs With a pool view.
A lot of stairs and the lift doesn’t work when it is rainy. Good breakfast with a lot of variety. The swimming pool was dirty maybe because of the bad weather .

Room Tip: Number 506
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    85
    16
    7
    9
See reviews for
43
104
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

Hotel over look the sea; very nice rooms and locations...but remote. If you wish to say and relax nice place. Or/and if want to use as your base to see other places in western Crete. Had good swimming pool.

Room Tip: Not far from city of Kissamou, but better yet on road to/from city in small village on the way great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

The hotel is a little way outside of Kissamos, on the road to Balos beach. It has a wonderful swimming pool with views over the bay. We had a spacious, very clean studio with a huge terrace -- room No. 506 -- for the first three nights, but had to move to a different studio (408) on the ground floor for the fourth night. It wasn't quite as nice, with a much smaller bathroom and not such a private terrace, but it had the benefit of being able to walk straight out to the pool. Wifi also worked very well there as there was a router just by the terrace.

We didn't eat at the hotel, so can't comment on the quality of the food.

All the personnel we met were very helpful and smiling. We were able to rent beach towels for 1 euro each per day, and the safety deposit box also cost 1 euro per day. There is a small lending library in the reception/bar area.

Room Tip: The 500 rooms have larger, private terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wroclaw
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

Perfect money/value, 8km to balos beach (last hotel on the way there), clean rooms, very friendly people, Wifi everywhere, good thing - junior suite has a gas burner. One minus/plus is that nothing is happening in 10km radius. One hint: it's better to go to balos beach by ship from Kissamos (25€) than go by car. Very bad road, You can get a flat tire. Also the swimming pool is nice. So, i would come back and send my friends there.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

Nice, basic hotel, with self cooking facilities as well as a buffet breakfast and dinner option.
Good wifi throughout, and very helpful staff.
The minus, very isolated, unless you have your own transport. No local shops nearby, and the local beach is not great...
But for seeing the beautiful Balos Lagoon, this is the closest hotel you can get.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

we stayed 3 nights at balos beach hotel. the first night we were given a room which was too close to the lobby and the restaurant area, therefore too noisy. on top of that the mattresses were in a poor condition and not comfortable to sleep on. the air condition wasn't working properly neither. the next morning, following our request, we were given another room, at the other end from the lobby. it was indeed quiet as we wanted. but still we found several items in the room in a shabby condition, among which the toilet brush [!] and the stove ventilator. we had to argue for a compensation for the miserable first night and with a lot of effort we managed to get a small compensation.
there is a restaurant in the hotel which serves buffet meals but the food wasn't tasty and not fresh enough.
the hotel is rather clean. the pool area is very pleasant both for adults and children. there is a direct access to a nice stretch of beach which is pebbly.

Room Tip: i recommend a room which is most further from the lobby area. the are 2 rows - an upper row, closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unterschleissheim, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We have been in this hotel for three times already and it will not be the last time. The room is large and clean. The view of Balos beach is fantastic, either from the room, the pool or the bar area. The personal is very friendly and tries eveything to help no matter what question we had. The hotel itself is a bit isolatet. but for us this is more of an advantage. The beautiful beach of falasarna is about 10 min. away (car). The breakfast is very good and the dinner (we tried only once) is above average.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Balos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balos Beach

Address: Kaliviani, Kissamos, Crete 734 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Kissamos > Kaliviani
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaliviani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Balos Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Balos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balos Beach Hotel Kaliviani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balos Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.