We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rustic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Marilena la Casella

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Agriturismo Marilena la Casella to your Saves list
Agriturismo Marilena la Casella
Frazione San Martino, 5 | Voc. Casella, 06060 Lisciano Niccone, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely rustic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We (myself, husband, 20month old daughter & father-in-law) stayed for a week while attending a wedding at Borgo Di Bastia Certi (20 min drive). We chose Marilena la Casella based on the Tripadvisor reviews and were really looking forward to a relaxed holiday in rural surroundings but when we read the June 2014 reviews we were a bit dubious about our choice. I emailed Marilena about our concerns and the reply made us look forward to our trip again.

We found a clean & comfortable apartment with friendly & very helpful owners who had also been very helpful with answering our questions before we arrived. Although the restaurant is very very close we weren't comfortable leaving our toddler on her own asleep but Guiseppe & Marilena kindly prepared our dinners so we could enjoy them in the apartment. And boy did we enjoy them! We ate there every night (except the night of the wedding!), price varied depending on what we had but very filling meal & wine averaged 20-25 euros per person. We all enjoyed exploring the grounds & my daughter particularly enjoyed meeting the animals. Communication wasn't too difficult despite our total lack of Italian, our phrasebook was handy although Marilena's daughter / daughter in law speaks very good English. The shutters made the rooms really dark so we all (including our toddler!) enjoyed some lovely long sleeps. Our hire car (from v close to Terontola- Cortona station after getting the train from Rome) was very well used, we had some great day trips to Arezzo, Cortona, Perugia and Castiglione del Lago including cycling part of the way around the lake with toddler on a bike seat. Our only disappointment about the apartment was said toddler not wanting to go swimming in the on-site pool as it was a bit too cold.

Thank you to our hosts for a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Gioia apartment has a super view from big balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    22
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We travelled with two little girls(under 3 both of them).
In my country there is a proverb :"at the praised tree,don't go with a bag".

In other words, i was dissapointed -and it wasn't the first time travelling in beautiful Italy.

PROs
-quiet surroundings
-nice Giusseppe(the host)
-great plants and beautiful olive trees
-the football court( the only place good for toddlers)
-we were provided with a potty with no special request in advance.

CONs
-dirty apartment(in the first minutes we got there our socks turned black)

-smelly and noisy fridge

-dangerous sofa (our girls fell of it-it was breaking apart.literaly)

-no window nets!! (if you want to start an insectarium you can choose from plenty of exponates, lizards are bonus.i discovered some semi dead insects back home, when i was unpacking). My 2yeard old girl was frightened by the big green spiders.

-bee hives on site-a thing that i consider it should be mentioned somewhere by the hosts.

-the whole farm is on a hill and the acces to everywhere is full of slopes with gravel and rocks-not very cool for kids to run around.

-the food not made with the typical.italian passion-just made to be made.Honestly,my husband cooks better italian food than Marilena-who almost all the time seemd sad and bored.

-the fact that the hosts dont know english.very annoying.

-not even a minimum of soundproofing.you can hear how the neighbours breathe.

-no AC!horrible!

-very old towels(which are not changed not even once)

-bad matress.our back still hurts after sleeping there.

I expected something else.Maybe i had high expectations.

My advice: if you have kids under 5, if you dont enjoy showering with spiders,if you dont know a basic italian,if you like cleaniness and all the above : choose something else.Maybe that s why are so many reasons why Tuscany is so different than Umbria.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

PROS

Nice quiet rural area
Simple authentic food and wine
Friendly guests (mostly Giuseppe)
Nice pool location

CONS

Far from all tourist destinations - very windy roads in all directions
Dirty apartments (even on arrival)
Old bed sheets/towels - not changed even once - no blankets
Unconfortable mattresses
Dirty antic cookware/glasses/plates
Smelly fridge
Couch impossible to use (old and broken)
No window nets - lots of "creatures" in the house (good to know is that they have bee hives on site)
No AC !!! - really required during the day due to high humidity
Antic/minuscule TV with 5 channels
Dirty water in the pool (dead bees included)
Dirty animals cages - not something to show the kids

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks in this beautiful place where we stayed in Gioia with our 12 year old twins. Before we arrived I was concerned there would not be enough to do for our children but it was a holiday filled with variety and surpassed expectations. Guiseppe is really welcoming and Marilena's cooking great, and they were happy on the occasion we ate at the restaurant to do a more simple meal for the children. the apartment is ideally situated for Cortona, Castiglione del lago, the lovely water parc at Umbertide (very quiet for august). We visited Siena and Perugia too, and the island of Isola Maggiore. Swimming in Lake Trasamino at the Pescatore Beach cafe was a real highlight, wonderful warm water. We travelled all the way from London to Florence by train. A car is essential for this holiday. I would really recommend this place and we intend to return. A great holiday.

Room Tip: Gioia has a lovely balcony with a beautiful view, although we didn't eat out there much as our d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We traveled with three children age 4,6 and 8. The countryhouse is overlooking a very quiet valleynear lago Trasimmeno. We had apt Goia with magnificent view over the valley. We really winded down from the busy city life and enjoyed the pool and gardens which are really beautiful (even better than the pictures :-). We stayed for a week for complete relaxation. The owner are very helpful, and communication was good (my italian is horrible, however, sending Marilena an email with a qiuestion was promply returned. The view from the Goia balcony is unbeatable however the apt itself is basic, but a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's not surprising that so many people return here time and time again. The welcome on our fifth visit in ten years was once again warm and helpful, the location relaxing and beautiful. The view from our apartment balcony is still one of our top favourites. There are plenty of places to visit nearby - we particularly like Cortona and Siena but there is a wide choice of possible destinations for excursions. It is an ideal location for families, friends and all age groups.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This accommodation is nestled in the Tuscan hills. The villas are very simple, but good value. There is a swimming pool area and lush gardens. The views over the Niccone valley are incredible. The village is remote, a car is essential. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Ideal for a holiday cut off from the rest of the world.

Room Tip: Villa Gioia has the best balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Marilena la Casella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Marilena la Casella

Address: Frazione San Martino, 5 | Voc. Casella, 06060 Lisciano Niccone, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Lisciano Niccone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lisciano Niccone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Agriturismo Marilena la Casella is a farm open to tourists which offers its guests a real agritouristic experience. An Agriturismo is not only an accommodation in the countryside but a way to show agriculture, its produce, farming and the relationship with nature and the surrounding territory. In the past our country house was occupied by farmers and today it has been renovated into six rustic accommodation facilities, a lovely restaurant, a swimming pool and 2 hectares of fields where we produce vegetables and breed animals. The country house towers above the whole valley of stream Niccone and the view opens onto such beautiful hills, the cultivated valley and the ruins of two old castles in the distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Agriturismo Marilena la Casella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Marilena La Casella Italy/Lisciano Niccone, Umbria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Marilena la Casella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.