We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Un'oasi idilliaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Fattoria delle Tartarughe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sinnai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Fattoria delle Tartarughe
Save
You added La Fattoria delle Tartarughe to your Saves list
Strada Statale 125 km 24,350, 09048 Sinnai, Sardinia, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cagliari, Italy
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Un'oasi idilliaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My friends from Germany came and visited me recently; they choose to stay at the Fattoria and were so enthusiastic that I went to check out the place for dinner. The Fattoria might recall a Finca in the balearic islands but it’s got something of an Italian rural house; actually it’s a farm at the feet of a natural park with some acres ground to walk through under ancient olive trees. The owners, Marco and Loris, make you feel like home; They have rooms in the main building but the 2 studios, separated from the building’s main body, offer more privacy. Loris is an excellent cook: they use mainly local and genuine products (their ricotta tastes delicious!). I believe, if you want to be close to a major town center but away from the city hustle, this place might be best choice: beaches are just 20 minutes’ drive, Airport and port around 30 minutes. I’d definitely recommend them

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
53
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The tortoise farm is a must, when you come to this beautiful italian island.
The farm is crowded with wonderful animals like parrots, donkey, ponies, cats, dogs and whatever... living together in this sweet spot, not far from the incredible turquoise sardinian sea.
Marco and Loris are brilliant hosts, and believe me, once you experienced this happy family, you will want to return.
From time to time, we are backing to this incredible oasis in southern Sardinia, and each time it feels like home thanks to the heart-warming atmosphere.
It's a great place to take a break for some days, explore the many beaches in the surroundings, taste the amazing dishes prepared by Loris and enjoy this magical farm experience. Feel the love ! Spread the word !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a way to end our trip. The place, the hosts, the food, the company and of course the animals. Half Ace Ventura and half Dr Doolittle, a real paradise. Thank you Loris and Marco for making us feel like true members of the family.
An unforgettable experience in the most perfect place with the greatest hosts. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

For me staying at Tortoise farm was a little like I imagine paradise to be. Loris and Marco were brilliant hosts - welcoming, knowledgeable and accommodating. The animals are great and well looked after and Loris' cooking was probably the best and definitely the most unusual I had in Sardinia. The buildings have been been lovingly restored from what was once an abandoned farm and the animals are well looked after - a great attraction for children and anyone who likes animals. Marco's plan to breed local tortoises and release them back into the wild to increase numbers seems a noble venture. My partner and I stayed there for three nights and then went back for two more as we liked it so much! It is near some very beautiful and quiet beaches - but you will need a car to get around. If you don't like people or a friendly, family like atmosphere then you may not like this place. Otherwise I can't imagine how anyone would have anything other than an exceptional time. I would love to return and hope that one day I can.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

this place is absolutly Wonderful, The rooms are spacious, clean and colorful very unique. the food is excellent nicely prepared and presented by the host Loris. The atmosphere is beautiful sourounded by nature.The nights are delightful and the guests are friendly. Loris and Marco run this place exceptionally well, they are very nice and helpful.They make your staying an unforgetable experience. Definitly The Best Place in Cagliari.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesi, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I happened to visit the Fattoria delle Tartarughe on a friend's suggestion who was praising the beauties of the place. I must say that I was not disappointed!! Marco and Loris are the perfect hosts of this wonderful place. The Fattoria is located to the East of the city of Cagliari at about 1/2 hour by car from the Elmas airport. After driving for about 24 km along the old Strada Statale 125 you can enter through the Fattoria gate and find yourself immersed in heaven. The first look of the place is delightful, plants everywhere and if you go in late spring, as I did, there are also zillions of flowers in blossom. Marco is a zoologist so there are a lot of "international" animals, ranging from local ones like Gigliola, the donkey, to the more exotic nene, the hawaiian goose. But this is not all! The rooms beautifully decorated in Mediterranean colors are really comfortable, each one equipped with brand new bathrooms. And do not forget to have 3 dinners a weeek at the Fattoria to taste the delicious recipes of the chef Loris! The beast white sand beaches with turquoise blue water are only a few km away, so what do you expect to spend a vacation here?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Its a wonderful place, rooms were clean and beautiful decorated with a lot of style, perfect for family, friends and couples. Breakfast and dinner menus were awesome. Owned by two wonderful people who will make your holydays better than anything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Fattoria delle Tartarughe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fattoria delle Tartarughe

Address: Strada Statale 125 km 24,350, 09048 Sinnai, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Sinnai
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sinnai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant farmhouse, situated on the edge of the 'Sette Fratelli' Nature Reserve, is just a 20 KM car drive from Cagliari. Its strategic position is perfect for visiting the most beautiful beaches in Southern Sardinia. In the evening, our guests can enjoy our authentic & creative cuisine prepared with the freshest local produce and served outdoors in the romantic surroundings of our gardens by moon- & candlelight. An oasis where you can discover the ancient colours and perfumes of the Mediterranean Sea. Car rental upon request. New 2015: yoga/meditation/massage Studio upon request. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Fattoria delle Tartarughe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.