We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 week in Nova Scotia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Lawrence Blvd, Stellarton, Nova Scotia B0K 1S0 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stellarton
Certificate of Excellence
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“1 week in Nova Scotia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

My husband, 2 daughters (4 and 5) and I went to visit my brother in law and his family in Stellarton. We spent 7 nights at this hotel. It was clean, and a great spot for us to stay. Very close to our family, it allowed us the space to get a little family time.
This hotel has a fabulous pool area! An amazing slide (my 4 y.o. Loved it, went down by herself many times) a hot tub and the pool.
The free breakfast helped us save some money, but after 7 days, it felt a little tired. Still a great option. My daughters ADORED the cinnamon buns :)
All the staff members we encountered were really pleasant and helpful.
Great spot, easy to get to from the highway, and a great spot for someone wanting to explore Pictou County!

Room Tip: I loved our room (116) close to the parking off the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear AnaisB1981,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are so glad you children enjoyed our hot cinnamon buns from our hot breakfast. We also noted that your family enjoyed our indoor pool with 80 foot water slide, this is always popular with families.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    64
    30
    6
    2
See reviews for
57
42
7
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ontario's Near North, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night. All in all it was good. Check in was a breeze.room was clean, except for the bathroom which was not cleaned very well, which surprised me as I expect more from the HIE. Love their amenities. The breakfast was grrreat!! Pool was down, so can't comment. The damn air conditioner/ heater was annoying. Either too cold or to warm and was very loud when it kicked in.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear sallieeeeee,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellaton Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast, it is always a hit with our guests. I have noted the items you pointed out and our maintenance team is working on fixing the A/C. As well our housekeeping department have been notified of your comment and we assure you this is not the norm for our property. We will ensure that this is not the case for the future.
Again, thank you for commenting, it is from our guest comments that we are able to better serve all of our guests needs and expectations.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed for 1 night in this hotel in May 2014. The hotel seems to be newer and the rooms were fairly clean. The shower was great and the bathroom was clean. The price was average for the room and that included a "serve yourself" breakfast. Your basic self-serve food so not the greatest but convenient if you are in a rush.

Overall, no complaints; staff was friendly but the day I was there it was a very noisy hotel. Lots of kids running around and adults partying all over the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear margreek

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Holiday Inn Express showers great and the rooms clean.
We are very popular with families and teams because of our indoor pool and 80 foot water slide. We appreciate your comments on the noise level due to this. We will do our best at all times to ensure the comfort for all of our guests.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.
Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The choices for breakfast were plenty and what was unusual for one of these chains which offers free breakfast was the fact that one actually got "real plates and cups" meaning not plastic. A nice change. The room was well appointed, clean and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the Museum of Industry which is worth a stopover if you are in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear demo51,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud to have real plates and cutlery with our complimentary hot breakfast as we are trying to do our part with reducing garbage into local landfills.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I showed up with no reservation but the staff was very accommodating. This hotel is huge and strategically well located. The rooms are spotless, spacious, free parking, close to everything and this is one of the few hotels with breakfast included that had that warm start of the day: biscuits, omelettes, perfect bacon... miam miam!!! I've heard that this is the newest hotel around. I won't search anything farther. This is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for the rear rooms, they are away from the highway. It's not noisy at all but that way you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Pachinto17,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our facility. It is always great to hear from all of our guests. We are very glad that you enjoyed our hot breakfast, we do get a lot of compliments on the breakfast. I will pass on to all the staff here that you found our rooms spacious and spotless. Everyone here takes a lot of pride on our service.

We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just spent 2 night in this beautiful hotel. The rooms were very large and the bathroom was also large.There was a coffee maker, fridge, plus windows which open!! The hotel offers a free hot breakfast, which includes pancakes that are made while you wait. Also eggs, bacon and sausage, cereals and fruit, and coffee etc. The staff is also great. There is a fitness room and pool with large waterslide which would be great if you have kids. There is no restaurant at this hotel so you really need and you really must have a car to get to one although Subway is close by and within walking distance if you are just looking for a fast food. There is a mall close by but you need a car to get there as well as it is on the other side of the Trans Canada highway. I would stay there again, for sure!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor which is great if you are like me and don't like taking the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Catherine H,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton hotel. It was a great pleasure reading you comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your room and found it to be spacious. Our hot breakfast is always a great hit with everyone. Also great to hear you enjoyed our indoor pool with 80' water slide for the kids.

We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on May 10. The room had a microwave, coffee pot and fridge which was very convenient.
The shower was awesome. It was like getting a massage with the water pressure. Had a dip in the pool and the hot tub which was great. I would go back just for the shower.
Wireless internet stays connected.
Comfortable bed with hard and soft pillows.
The breakfast was one of the best. Hot eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, biscuits, sweets and juice. What more could you ask for.
If I'm ever in the New Glasgow area again I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sue S,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton. All comments from our guests are greatly appreciated. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do have a lot of comments on our indoor pool, hot tub and 80' water slide. Our hot breakfast is always a hit as well.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that we can sere you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stellarton
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
Travelodge Suites New Glasgow
#2 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 80 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tara Inn
Tara Inn
#1 of 3 in New Glasgow
4.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
Comfort Inn - New Glasgow
#3 of 3 in New Glasgow
3.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Pictou Lodge Beachfront Resort
7.8 mi away
The Lionstone Inn
The Lionstone Inn
#2 of 3 in Pictou
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
7.5 mi away
Evening Sail B&B
Evening Sail B&B
#1 of 12 in Pictou
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow

Address: 86 Lawrence Blvd, Stellarton, Nova Scotia B0K 1S0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Stellarton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stellarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stellarton - New Glasgow Hotel offers Convenient Location Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Stellarton, Nova Scotia, conveniently located just off Highway 104. Our Stellarton hotel is just minutes from New Glasgow, Westville, Trenton, Pictou and the Prince Edward Island ferry. Families looking for lodging in Stellarton will love our hotel's downtown location. Within walking distance, you'll find one of Canada's largest museums, the Museum of Industry. The Samson Trail portion of the Trans-Canada Trail System, Hector Heritage Quay and the Highland Square Mall are only minutes from our hotel in Stellarton. We are also just a few kilometers from Pictou County's many parks and beaches, including the popular Melmerby Beach Provincial Park.Business travelers can enjoy convenient access to Sobeys' head offices, the Michelin Tire Plant, Big 8 Beverages, TRA Foods, Sugarline Fuels and Convergy's. Our hotel near New Glasgow also offers four meeting rooms with over 3,000 square feet of flexible event space, a 24-hour Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience.Our pet friendly Stellarton hotel features an indoor pool with an 80-foot waterslide, a whirlpool and a Fitness Centre. Guests can enjoy the free Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, which features 100% Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Check out our great Stellarton, Nova Scotia hotel deals and start planning your trip to Canada today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.