We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel-but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Lawrence Blvd, Stellarton, Nova Scotia B0K 1S0 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stellarton
Halifax, NS
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel-but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed for 1 night in this hotel in May 2014. The hotel seems to be newer and the rooms were fairly clean. The shower was great and the bathroom was clean. The price was average for the room and that included a "serve yourself" breakfast. Your basic self-serve food so not the greatest but convenient if you are in a rush.

Overall, no complaints; staff was friendly but the day I was there it was a very noisy hotel. Lots of kids running around and adults partying all over the place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear margreek

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found Holiday Inn Express showers great and the rooms clean.
We are very popular with families and teams because of our indoor pool and 80 foot water slide. We appreciate your comments on the noise level due to this. We will do our best at all times to ensure the comfort for all of our guests.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.
Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    53
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
44
35
7
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. The choices for breakfast were plenty and what was unusual for one of these chains which offers free breakfast was the fact that one actually got "real plates and cups" meaning not plastic. A nice change. The room was well appointed, clean and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to the Museum of Industry which is worth a stopover if you are in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear demo51,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very proud to have real plates and cutlery with our complimentary hot breakfast as we are trying to do our part with reducing garbage into local landfills.
We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I showed up with no reservation but the staff was very accommodating. This hotel is huge and strategically well located. The rooms are spotless, spacious, free parking, close to everything and this is one of the few hotels with breakfast included that had that warm start of the day: biscuits, omelettes, perfect bacon... miam miam!!! I've heard that this is the newest hotel around. I won't search anything farther. This is the place!

Room Tip: Ask for the rear rooms, they are away from the highway. It's not noisy at all but that way you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Pachinto17,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our facility. It is always great to hear from all of our guests. We are very glad that you enjoyed our hot breakfast, we do get a lot of compliments on the breakfast. I will pass on to all the staff here that you found our rooms spacious and spotless. Everyone here takes a lot of pride on our service.

We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just spent 2 night in this beautiful hotel. The rooms were very large and the bathroom was also large.There was a coffee maker, fridge, plus windows which open!! The hotel offers a free hot breakfast, which includes pancakes that are made while you wait. Also eggs, bacon and sausage, cereals and fruit, and coffee etc. The staff is also great. There is a fitness room and pool with large waterslide which would be great if you have kids. There is no restaurant at this hotel so you really need and you really must have a car to get to one although Subway is close by and within walking distance if you are just looking for a fast food. There is a mall close by but you need a car to get there as well as it is on the other side of the Trans Canada highway. I would stay there again, for sure!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor which is great if you are like me and don't like taking the ele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Catherine H,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton hotel. It was a great pleasure reading you comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your room and found it to be spacious. Our hot breakfast is always a great hit with everyone. Also great to hear you enjoyed our indoor pool with 80' water slide for the kids.

We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on May 10. The room had a microwave, coffee pot and fridge which was very convenient.
The shower was awesome. It was like getting a massage with the water pressure. Had a dip in the pool and the hot tub which was great. I would go back just for the shower.
Wireless internet stays connected.
Comfortable bed with hard and soft pillows.
The breakfast was one of the best. Hot eggs, sausage, bagels, yogurt, fresh fruit, biscuits, sweets and juice. What more could you ask for.
If I'm ever in the New Glasgow area again I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sue S,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton. All comments from our guests are greatly appreciated. It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do have a lot of comments on our indoor pool, hot tub and 80' water slide. Our hot breakfast is always a hit as well.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We hope that we can sere you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Sackville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed in July again again on Dec 30 and I just got on TripAdvisor, so this review is a little late. We got a special holiday rate which was nice! We also stayed in July and were very pleased with the hotel. Staff were friendly. The hotel was nice and cool during an extreme heat wave on our summer stay. The pool and hot tub were very clean. The waterslide was appreciated. The lady that stocks the breakfast items (hot and cold) is very friendly and always has time for a chat and keeps the breakfast well stocked. She even got a boiled egg for my son even though it was not boiled egg day! That is going above and beyond! We had the family suite with bunk beds for the kids and they were happy they could borrow an xbox. Some kind of porn screen name was on it (from a previous guest) and the front desk lady replaced the console right away and could not have been more apologetic (it wasn't her fault and she was so nice about it). The kids room also had tv and a decorated blackout curtain (sleeping in for them is 7). The boys have a gym membership at home and appreciated being allowed to use the fitness room (some hotels have a 16 and over room because of parents not watching their kids). There was an open area next to the hotel where we could get in a little ball practice on our summer visit. The hotel is very close to the mall and ball field and a great location as we have family just outside New Glasgow. There are no children's activities to mention per se but we were just there for the night and thank you again for the use of the pool and gym and treating my kids like special guests! We will see you again this summer! Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Michelle C,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton Hotel. It was with great pleasure that we read your comments. So glad you enjoyed our hot breakfast and that you thought everyone here was helpful and friendly.

We hope that we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here on business. New hotel, very clean, rooms were standard Holiday Inn. Across the highway from the town of New Glasgow but still close to plenty of restaurants. Definitely recommended if you stay in the area as there are not many options in terms of brand name hotels.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear amartimetraveler,

Thank you for take the time to writ a comment on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express Stellarton. It was so nice to read your comments on our property, everyone here takes great pride here and we are glad you noticed.
It is from all of our guest comments that were are able to ensure we always give great service to everyone.

We hope we can serve you again in the future.

Mark H
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow

Address: 86 Lawrence Blvd, Stellarton, Nova Scotia B0K 1S0 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Stellarton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stellarton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stellarton - New Glasgow Hotel offers Convenient Location Welcome to the new Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Stellarton, Nova Scotia, conveniently located just off Highway 104. Our Stellarton hotel is just minutes from New Glasgow, Westville, Trenton, Pictou and the Prince Edward Island ferry. Families looking for lodging in Stellarton will love our hotel's downtown location. Within walking distance, you'll find one of Canada's largest museums, the Museum of Industry. The Samson Trail portion of the Trans-Canada Trail System, Hector Heritage Quay and the Highland Square Mall are only minutes from our hotel in Stellarton. We are also just a few kilometers from Pictou County's many parks and beaches, including the popular Melmerby Beach Provincial Park.Business travelers can enjoy convenient access to Sobeys' head offices, the Michelin Tire Plant, Big 8 Beverages, TRA Foods, Sugarline Fuels and Convergy's. Our hotel near New Glasgow also offers four meeting rooms with over 3,000 square feet of flexible event space, a 24-hour Business Centre and free high-speed Internet access for your convenience.Our pet friendly Stellarton hotel features an indoor pool with an 80-foot waterslide, a whirlpool and a Fitness Centre. Guests can enjoy the free Express Start hot breakfast bar every morning, which features 100% Arabica Smart Roast coffee. Check out our great Stellarton, Nova Scotia hotel deals and start planning your trip to Canada today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow Nova Scotia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Stellarton - New Glasgow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.