We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Peace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur to your Saves list
Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 rue de l'Eglise, 67440 Birkenwald, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birkenwald
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enchanting Peace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for one night on our way from london to italy after a gap of some years. The hotel is still enchanting and the next generation run it as well as their parents did. The welcome is warm and the room has everything you want. We had a basic room but it was perfect for an overnight stay. The pool and spa are bonuses and parking is private and free.
The restaurant is exceptional - very fine cooking and excellent value.
Birkenwald is a very relaxing place - perfect for a stop on a long trip but we would certainly return to the hotel for a longer stay.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is the third visit to this lovely hotel and we were not disappointed. Karin made us feel so welcome. The room, food and wine were all excellent. If you want peace and tranquillity this is your place. Yet not too far off the beaten track.

Room Tip: You need to book very early as it seems to be a popular hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

A well-equipped hotel in idyllic surroundings, with comfortable rooms, friendly prioprietors and helpful staff. The restaurant is quite outstanding; the cuisine is right up among the best in the region and there is an excellent selection of fairly-priced wines. Difficult to see how this place could be bettered in terms of value for money. Particularly recommended: the ‘séjour gastronomique” of two days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed one night on our way back from Austria to the Channel Tunnel.We booked a superior room on demi pension .Room was modern and clean but very small.No choice on half board and we were offered a terrine of assorted animal bits followed by a casserole of wild boar which was not the sort of meal you want with 30c temperatures.In fairness,they saw we wern't happy and offered a steak or fish as an alternative both of which were fine.OK but I'm not sure I would go out of my way to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed for a weekend and had a suite for 4 persons with two badrooms. The staff and owner are very nice, helpful. Food it perfect in every respect. The location is very quiet, birds are singing and you can easily relax.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur

Address: 7 rue de l'Eglise, 67440 Birkenwald, France
Location: France > Alsace > Bas-Rhin > Birkenwald
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Birkenwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge dating back to 1929 the hotel au chasseur is located in the very heart of the suisse d'alsace region at the food of the schneeberg massif. Relax a while in this charming wellness hotel situted deep in the countryside where the gass family look forward to spoiling you in their high-class restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Spa et Restaurant au Chasseur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.