We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location worth visiting.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Via Laktea

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Via Laktea
Save
You added La Via Laktea to your Saves list
Tulum, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location worth visiting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at La Via Laktea for 7 nights and found the location beautiful and quiet - just what we wanted. Our room was simple chique: lovely with a gorgeous view (upstairs ocean front balcony), and the breakfasts were tasty and reasonable. The principle area to be improved - and one to turn it from Average to Very Good - was more intentional engagement from a designated customer service person re: local activity info / drinks for the beach / or related service needs etc. That said, Bambu (one of the owners) was very open to feedback to help make the experience optimal. It is certainly a place worth going to.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    6
    7
    1
    6
See reviews for
7
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London- Colombia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

Every single time .. I think of relaxing and Happy moments always came to my mind La via Laktea..... Im an Old costumer for several years...... 4 I could say.. and even more.......
Every single time I go to La Via laktea its just the best time I can ever have.... To Escape from the usual chaos of our hectic life style..... I say our cause I always visit it with all my favorite friends It really worth it to take them here.....( and they always come back) Its our little home in the Caribbean .
To start The Place is Amaizin seriously Amaizing.... I love the Arquitecture of the place Its fantasstic Totally Acord with the Enviroment..... Love they Kept it So Natural full of beautifull palms.. trees.. etc..... And the buldings are very well done even If a Huracan come I wont be worried cause Its one of the really few Hotels with a good structure .. Not just a little cabana that also they get full of sand every- where...... The space of the rooms are amaizing .. like a small house just for you....with a dreaming view.. It can be Romantic or super comfortable for a group of friends... Off coursse Great king size bed.. super high Quality.... its the key of a good rest.... Great balcony to have a chill area.... I will recommend to take your favorites sancks and a nice bottle of wine and enjoy life as the way it is in Tulum..... Please dont even dare to look for a full high service hotel cause you are in the wrong place I can tell... this is all about privacy..... Love it... really love it.. The hole Beach that ist beautifull Its just for you.... You can create the best moment If do you want, so intimate.... This is the magic.... Not to deal with anyone..... you dont really want.. excelent...... also its eviromental friendly so please dont look for air conditioner just open de doors and you get a fantastic breeze......please adapt to nature.. this is the aim....

They offer super nice breakfast... Healthy.... nice fruit.. grea toast bread.... eggs.. nice cofee I feel at home.... And Please the best Ceviche ever.. seriously ever you will try Its Bambu's ceviches and off coursse the best Margaritas form Robert.... The owners.. They are just the best hosts in the area.. so freindly.. they really make you feel at home.. just dont be shy and make your really new friends because thats what they are.. Great people and the recommend you the best of the best of the area..... Where to go.. what to eat... they really pamper you in all sense... Al my great friend really well known Producers They love to come here and disconect from the outside world.. Robert and Bambu really know how to enjoy life .....Just the best with simplicity anything better than this.....They have the best music ever... as well... so dont be shy and SERIOSLY GO TO LA VIA LAKTEA.... I bet you will have a fantastic time ....... If you love nature, relax, friends... and sooooo....
Ohh sorry i forgot about my little firends.....the dogs love them they make the place so familiar and they take care of you.. hanks to Orion. Kiko mullan etc..... they are amaizing dogs.. so chill you dont even fell them just they go with you for a walk to the beach if they like you ...... and the service Diona Ceci just the best always smiling .....
oh well you just go .. and you will see your self.. Enjoy it..

Peace... and hapiness for you all...

Angela.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

This was our second time staying at La Via Laktea's with our 3 kids (ages 11,8,6) and let's just say "We LOVE it!". The website is an exact description of what you will find, there is no misrepresentation what so ever.
La Via Laktea is an Eco-Friendly property with 10 cabanas as they have recently added a cabana. A beautiful, secluded piece of paradise carved out of the jungle on the best beach in the Mayan Riviera. Even with 'No Vacancy' there is peace and quiet, you never feel crowded. The only time you really see any of the other guests is on the beach using the chairs.
Our only pet peeve - and its not even about the property itself but about other guests staying there. Guests that seem to have the need to leave towels on the beach chairs all day - when no one is around!!! 2 chairs per cabana . . . common sense & courtesy - no matter how many people are in your room!
Anyways. . . being that La Via Laktea is Eco-friendly, the power is conserved during the day and lights are turned on between 5 and 11. Candles and matches are provided which are much more romantic than lights - just pack a flashlight. The rooms are very large, very clean and nicely decorated with a king size bed, ceiling fan. The rooms are actually large enough to accommodate 2 cots for kids. Because there are five of us we usually rent 2 rooms - 1 for our boys 11 & 8 and our youngest sleeps in our room on a cot. With that said La Via Laktea's is very safe. Yes, they are luxury Cabanas compared to most of the other properties along the beach road because these are made of cement/motar and not just a wooden structure!
As for the hosts/owners Bambu & Roberto they are wonderful! They made sure our family of five was comfortable at all times and whenever we saw them, they always asked how everything was and if we needed anything. You need something just ask - they are more than happy to oblige. The staff are all very friendly and greet you with a warm smile. Note: Roberto makes the best Margarita's in Tulum!!!
The breakfasts were fantastic!!! It was usually served around 8:00 am and consisted of Fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, eggs and hotcakes for the the kids. Coffee was the best! I actually prefer Bambu's breakfast to Casa Banana's up the road!
Yes, they do have dogs roaming the property but they were very sweet and friendly. The majority of the time the dogs layed around in the shade - they never bothered us once!
La Via Laktea's is quite far down the beach road only a few km's from the Siaan Kan but that is also what makes it so special. There are numerous restaurants in a short walking distance up the beach - hence bring a flash light for that evening walk along the beach. Our first time staying at La Via's we rented a vehicle, this year we opted not too and took a transfer service from Cancun and actually never missed having our own wheels even with three kids. It is very easy to walk the beach road and catch a taxi if you prefer not to walk!
If you are reading this review and the others - don't pay too much attention to the negative ones. . . these people obviously should have stayed at an All Inclusive Resort!! . . .even then I think they'd still find something to complain about!

We will definately be back to La Via Laktea's - an even longer stay. We have found a home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

Our stay was perfect. Bambou the owner welcomed us with a fresh beer, and managed to find us a table at the "must try" restaurant El Hechizo for my wife birthday, the day we arrived and plenty of very good advices and places to try.

The Via laktea is located at the very end of Tulum Playa, almost at sian kaan entrance, which is very nice because the area is less crowded. The beach is very clean, and the hotel is really clean as well. The breakfast are pretty good, fresh fruits, tea or coffee bread and jam for 8 dollars, you can ask american breakfast (we tried eggs rancheros .) for 12 dollars and breakfast was made nly with good quality products, for instance, the coffee was coming from locals so good for the economy and ecology.

2 very friendly puppies stray in the hotel but they didnt bother us nor bark at all as they are tied when the owner is not there and with the owner we she is there. You can have beers or sodas at the cantina of the hotel but didnt try it but the day we arrived.

We stayed in room N°7, with a jungle view that was quite nice because we were on the first floor although the stairs are pretty steep if you are not used or slightly disabled. The room is very cosy, with a very large bed and nice furniture. The room looked almost brand new and we would like to insist on how clean it was compared to other places we saw in Tulum. The power was on from like 5 pm until 11:30 pm or so. We had a little terrace with 2 chairs, a table and a hammock. There is no air cond nor mosquito net, but we had no problem with warmth as the palapa (palm roof) and fan worked good to keep the room cool nor mosquito at all in Via Laktea... Good luck or not, mosquitos are a pain in most other places....

Overall, our days were really pleasant and we were definatly charmed by our stay in the via laktea. Everything was perfect and even better than what we expected. We are a bit surprised of the recent reviews we saw because we stayed in the hotel at the same time and really didnt feel the same.
Tulum is not cancun, there is no power at night, no resort (thanks god...).So we found a cosy, confortable, safe and clean place to stay with Via Laktea, for a price we found pretty good compared to other cabanas and that's what we really liked and made the difference.

Cyril Voisin

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

the people who run the place seem to not care about what they are doing in any way at all. they are the most unhelpful people I have ever encountered in the service industry in 20 years traveling around the world. the place is beautiful and the rooms are great. but... the people who run the place just dont care about the people staying there. no drinking water! a pretty basic need... promised internet - it didnt work.
I would strongly suggest NOT staying there. It is the most isolated resort in Tulum and they are not helpful in solving any of the problems associated with it's remote location.
Tulum has such friendly vibe but there is something off about the couple running this place. they just dont care and act v weird.

Oh, and if you dont like digs avoid this place... there are five running around the place scrounging food whereever they can get it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

From the website and it's amazing beach front location (not forgetting the price) you'd think la Via Laktea was paradise but how wrong can first impressions be...

SERVICE
- Abysmal!
- Bambu and Roberto talk a very good game, offering all sorts of promises, services and assistance, none of which materialise but for which they charge you anyway...
- In fact Bambu will present you with a bill one day and another (higher bill) the next, without any breakdown or description of what you are allegedly paying for - perhaps this is something to do with her drinking into the early hours with her friends, keeping the guests awake until 1am?

ROOMS
- Whilst rooms are big and clean and beds comfy they are also the most strangely laid out I have come across. The 'open plan' style means that your companion's ablutions can be heard (and seen through cracks in the curtain) at all times, making you feel awkward and certainly not at all romantic!
- Linen and towels were changed just once during a 10 day stay, not only were they both damp all the time (after an unfortunate wet spell) but they also got ingrained with sand, which is understandable in the location, but which does mean they need changing at least every 3 or 4 days.
- Similarly, the sheets didn't look clean, most were an off white/grey and many had marks on them, which was slightly disconcerting.
- Hot water was sporadic in ll of my family's rooms and (horrifically) one of our toilets did not flush and was not fixed for 3 days!

FACILITIES
- Non existent, apart from a vastly over priced breakfast there was nothing else to eat or drink available all day not even a bottle of water, cup of tea or coffee. Given the nearest small shop is a 20 minute walk away this is rather unacceptable in a country which averages over 80 degree heat.
- Electricity is also a problem. Whilst La Via Laktea strives to be an eco resort the rationed electricity is a problem in the winter months. Officially electricity was turned on from 5-11pm but the timings seemed to more sporadic, meaning several showers in the dark with a candle!
- Sunbed facilities were also a premium, there were not enough beds for all the guests when the hotel was full and only two sun shades were provided.

VALUE FOR MONEY
- None.
- The hotel is very expensive, particularly over Christmas, but other than location offers nothing to justify the price.

Please don't be tempted by La Via Laktea - Tulum and the surrounding area is stunning (paradise beaches, awe-inspiring ruins, amazing food and restaurants) but there is a huge choice of other, better equipped and more welcoming hotels and places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bambu74, dueño at La Via Laktea, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
I'm Bamb˙, one of the owners of La VÌa Laktea. I would like to comment on the recent angry reviews of La VÌa Laktea. I don't want to get into a he-said she said argument, but some of the complaints are questions of taste. Others are not accurate. I was especially disturbed to read that we supposedly presented these guests with a bill for services without any explanation. One of their party requested a change to a higher-priced accommodation. I told her that there would be an additional charge for this. At the end of the stay, they began to leave without paying this charge. An unpleasant scene followed and they did pay. I won't repeat the insults they offered.

As far as the other complaints, let me say first that La VÌa Laktea is not a marble palace. It is a small hotel, consisting of ten large, solid, comfortable cabaÒas with concrete construction and traditional Mayan thatched "palapa" roofs located on one of Mexico's most remote and beautiful beaches. Most of our furnishings are made by local artisans. The rooms are much larger than any others in this area. We are the last hotel before the Sian Ka'an Biosphere begins. This means that our guests get a truly unique vacation at the very edge of one of the world's largest unspoiled nature reserves.

It also means that our installations and logistics have to conform to different standards than hotels in places like Cancun. We limit our electrical plant to seven hours a day for environmental reasons, for example. The cabaÒas are designed to take maximum advantage of natural ventilation. The beach in front of the hotel is cleaned frequently. Laundry is done off-site in Tulum to avoid polluting the lagoon on the jungle side of the hotel. Sheets are changed every third day after arrival and as necessary when they get especially dirty or wet. We have a full-time maintenance man who fixes the usual problems with toilets and plumbing as quickly as possible. There may be an occasional delay because he sometimes has to go to Tulum to get a part that is not in our regular inventory.

Robert and I live at La VÌa Laktea. When you stay with us, you are, in effect, staying in our home. We try our best to treat you as friends, not customers. You eat the same food that we eat. We don't claim to be perfect. We are eager to hear any observations about our hotel and our service so that we can improve. If you read the other reviews here, you will see that La VÌa Laktea is a wonderful place to stay. We hope to welcome you here soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

An amazing location, but that was all. Arriving late and in the darkness ( electricity only from 5 - 11.00pm) we had to search through the trees to find someone to receive us. The rooms were clean and welcome after a long journey but we were then plunged into darkness with just a candle. The open plan facilities were 'interesting' and the four shelves and three hangers made unpacking a challenge, dresses ended up hanging on a hook in the loo alcove.None of our rooms had mosquito nets.. Breakfast eventually arrived, we waited a good half an hour, and then enjoyed a poor bowl of fruit, some toast and a pot of weak coffee for the highly inflated price of $12 (american) each. Breakfasts elsewhere were much more reasonable and superior by far. During our 10 day stay we had no hot water for three days, no flushing toilet for three days, no clean linen or dry towels and had to buy toilet paper. The hosts were full of promises to advise and provide but nothing was actually forthcoming. The beach is superb, but here again only two sun shades and enough sun beds for half the guests. You would definately need a car. We had one and were able to drive to get breakfast and dinner etc. The town is fun with some really good mexican restaurants plus excellent pizza, steak etc. Although we found some good food on the beach it is expensive but lovely to be able to wander along the beautiful soft white sand.Tulum is a lovely place with Chichen Itza, the Sian reserve, fishing, swimming with turtles, snorkling, cenotes all within easy reach. We would all definately return, but NOT to La Via Laktea. It was certainly not our idea of a luxury cabana.You also need to like dogs. There are plenty and they join you in your room if you leave the open to the patio and for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Via Laktea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Via Laktea

Address: Tulum, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Via Laktea Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Via Laktea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.