We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick of the Bunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas La Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas La Luna
Save
You added Cabanas La Luna to your Saves list
Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off May Nights
Ranked #6 of 79 Hotels in Tulum
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pick of the Bunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Set on a beautifiul beach with crystal clear warm water - definitely the pick the bunch. Our cabana (Christopher Columbus) was colourful, wonderfully comfortable, and equipped with all you need. Can definitely vouch for the beach bbq dinner with the yummiest prawn and fish kebabs and salads. All accompanied by a local mex/cuban/european band singing american cocktail songs from the war years “bye bye blackbird…” . And on other nights we took full advantage of the outdoor restaurant and cocktails :) Had some difficulties hiring a scooter as they were all rented out so maybe this requires some planning in advance. Instead we hired some bikes and headed off to see the local natural reserve – Siaan Kann and a cenote (limestone underwater caves with a mix of salt and fresh water). The stand out though was a very new camp ground Ultimo with a café and bar set on a little spot of paradise. We had couple of drinks, lounged and swam on the beach and watched the pelicans fly in and dive for their feeds. We had the yummiest ceviche and shrimp tacos all fresh produce caught that morning. A definite place to call in on. Gorgeous spot. Could go back to La Luna and Tulum very easily.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Cabanas La Luna, and your cabana, Christopher Columbus! we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our Wednesday night BBQ. Scooter rentals can be tricky as you mentioned as there aren't many options for rentals. You will find more guests in cars, taxis or bikes. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you back on our beach soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    69
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
136
260
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

La Luna was absolutely amazing!! We stayed for 6 nights in Christopher Columbus, and everything from the moment we arrived was perfect. The staff members were kind and accommodating. We absolutely loved our cabana, simple and in harmony with the breathtaking ocean view just outside your door.

Tulum is a little slice of heaven! Quiet, remote and restorative - the perfect vacation! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Morgan B, thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear that we met your expectations and that are staff provided you with wonderful customer service from the moment you arrived. If you head to Tulum again in the future, we hope to open our doors to you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Everything positive what people say about this place is true! The food is amazing, the beach cabañas are very nicely decorated and so close to the sea, the restaurant with its Marrocan influences really beautiful and the staff super friendly. I wish we could stay here for much more days but it was booked full... Maybe we should not write a review like this because than for sure it will be booked when we want to come back :-) And we definitely will come back! Thanks La Luna!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

So it has been a year since my wife and I got married on the La Luna's beautiful beaches. We still rave about it to our friends and our guests from that day STILL comment on how nice the occasion was. Much of this was due to the above and beyond staff and the incredible food and drink. If you are going to Tulum you MUST stay here and if you are planning a wedding, trust me, you will not regret your decision to go with LaLuna.

Room Tip: Closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
BallardKayakJohn, we were overjoyed to welcome you back for your one year anniversary. Many have created amazing memories here at La Luna and we are love hearing about them, and welcoming our guests back for another visit, especially for an anniversary of a La Luna wedding.
We hope to welcome you back for many, many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manalapan, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Me, my husband, and two 7 year olds love this place and can't wait until we can return. We have not one bad thing to say about this beautiful resort. We stayed in Captain Dales, which was the best beach house we have ever stayed in. The decor and space was perfect. It has a gorgous wrap-around deck with hammocks overlooking the ocean. We were steps away from the clear, blue ocean. The restaurant was awesome! The food was clean, fresh, and one of my favorite restaurants. We left the resort only to snorkel in the cenotes, which are everywhere. This was a PERFECT trip! Thanks to the friendly staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
ElleMag, thank you for your review! You speak exactly what Captain Dale's Quarters is all about. We hope that we can welcome you and your family back again soon. We appreciate you sharing your experience here with others!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed here four nights for a friend's wedding and everything was perfect. Getting to La Luna was an easy 2 hour drive from Cancun airport. From the moment we arrived, the staff was friendly and helpful without being overbearing. My wife and I plus a few other couples stayed in the Villa Zanzibar, which has simple but tasteful rooms and a ton of great outdoor space (including a seating area, kitchen and private lighted pool). The rooms come with a basic breakfast (coffee/tea, fruit and toast) that's very good. One morning we decided to order huevos rancheros, which was incredible. We spent our days on La Luna's white sand beach. The beach had plenty of chairs and umbrellas. We also went to a few nearby cenotes (swimming holes). They were really fun, but if you go I'd recommend the cenotes west of town as opposed to the cenotes close to La Luna. In total - it was definitely one of my better vacations. I'm already planning a return trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for your review Wiestq! The weddings at La Luna are our favorites as we get to know so much about our guests while they are here. We are happy you enjoyed Zanzibar. Although it's not directly on the beach, it is unique in its own way and I hope that all the amenities that came with Zanzibar made up for it.

We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was our second visit in a year to Tulum. We had our honeymoon the first week then flew our kids down for another week and stayed at Cpt Dales. Our kids saw the place and ran around saying this is so cool. Yes we also did as well as our beach house cabana was cool! The food and service here was also amazing. We had our breakfast delivered to our room every morning and we sat with the most amazing ocean view and ate a delicious breakfast. La Luna is the best position on Tulum beach you can walk one way and be at La Zebra with much else in between for dining and the other direction to La Playa Azulejo and Posada Margarita, two of our favs! Our room was cleaned twice a day and when i say cleaned i mean white glove cleaned, impressive. We will be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Congratulations on your marriage! We are so happy to hear that you choose La Luna for your honeymoon week two with the kids. Captain Dale's Quarters is one of my favorite cabanas for families. We hope to welcome you back for your anniversary for many years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tulum
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.