We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on the beach with exception service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas La Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas La Luna
Save Saved
You added Cabanas La Luna to your Saves list
Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off Summer Nights
Ranked #2 of 76 hotels in Tulum
TORONTO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on the beach with exception service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights out of our 7 day vacation at La Luna. The staff was exceptional and friendly, and the food was amazing. The only thing I'd suggest for travelers is to take a beach hut suite. I didn't like being above the kitchen in the jungle suite simple due to the smell of the food. We went to a lot of places on the beach and noticed that La Luna offers the best price for the Mexican experience; food, service, beach and cleanliness. Not to mention it is close yoga and not pretentious like the other hotels on the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you DMNA17 for taking the time to write a review. Jungle Penthouse is located behind the restaurant as you mentioned, and we apologize if the scents from the restaurant landed in your cabana. We just recently (in July) added air conditioning to this cabana to help with the heat and smells. Hopefully this will prevent this problem in the future. Thanks again for the review, it's feedback like this that helps us learn and grow! We hope to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    60
    12
    8
    1
See reviews for
111
235
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I have just returned after a long trip to Mexico. We stayed in the Christopher Columbus cabin, right on the beach, and it was great. After over two weeks on the road travelling through Mexico and Guatemala this was just what the doctor ordered. A really relaxed place, great staff great food and a comfortable little cabin right on the beach. At night it is absolute silence save for the sound of the sea. Our cabin was not huge but perfect for two a comfy bed and a cool breeze afforded us undisturbed sleep, perfect. The food was always excellent, with a limited wine list (all good wines and reasonably priced). The Wednesday buffet bq was excellent. We eat at other places on the beach and really feel that La Luna was one of the very best and one of the best priced. Be sure to try the Pina Colada - superb. I would commend this place to anybody in fact a couple of my friends are already considering making a booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My two sons (ages 17 and 20) spent 5 days at La Luna over Christmas week 2012. We absolutely loved it and will definitely be back!

PROs: the food (see separate review of Las Estrellas, the excellent restaurant we ate most meals at); the staff (super friendly and helpful); the ambience (laid back, uncrowded, just what we were looking for).

CONs: None for us, but for some travellers I could imagine that the lack of a pool might matter (it would have to us when our kids were younger, but not now); lack of AC in the cabanas meant that the upper level got pretty hot at night.

We arrived on Christmas Eve and were warmly greeted by Luuk, who was a constant presence during the week. He and the rest of the staff are just so warm and pleasant. Christmas Eve was a special three course dinner with a pinata afterwards - the entire staff and their families were there, giving the whole thing a really fun holiday feeling.

The room we were in (Captain Dale's Quarters) was just fantastic - about 150' from the ocean, with the calming sound of the surf a constant relaxing background. A breeze blew pretty much constantly, meaning the shaded deck and lower level were always comfortable - despite temperatures being pretty much constantly in the 80s during the days, 70s at night. The upper level, where my boys slept, got a bit warm at night because the breeze doesn't come through as well. They also had a bit more mosquito action - I had only a couple of bites on the lower level and didn't even use my netting at all.

We went to the ruins one day and Luuk told us at dinner the night before to be sure to get there by 8:30 AM before the buses from Cancun arrive around 10 - good advice. Another day we went to Atumal to go snorkeling (about a 30 minute drive towards Cancun) and one other day we did a kayak trip in the Sian Ka'an biosphere nearby - the staff made reservations for us on the sunset trip that leaves at 3 PM - we were back by 7 PM.

Almost all our meals were at the fantastic Las Estrellas restaurant that is part of the hotel. A simple continental breakfast of very good coffee, a plate of fresh fruit and toasted bread with jam and butter is included in the room rate. Other things including my son's favorite, french toast, is available to order a la carte. There is a full bar.

On Wednesday night, there was a BBQ with live music (which was just OK - the tough grilled skirt steak was the only miss on food all week at Las Estrellas).

We went down the beach for dinnner one night to La Posada de Margherita, recommended by my guide book, and the food was good (fresh pasta and fish) but the ambience was far more rushed and hectic than Las Estrellas. We ate a lunch at Akumal the day we snorkeled at the very good La Buena Vida, recommended by the La Luna staff.

For one son finishing college applications during his HS senior year and another who is pre-med in college finishing a very touch organic chemistry class, plus a dad coming off a busy work schedule, this was just what we needed. We joked that the theme of our week was "To The Hammocks!" - because after having breakfast 100 yards from our cabana, we'd usually return and the boys would each take a hammock, break out the Kindle and books, and just read, while I'd walk the beach, join them at the comfortable bench on our deck or sit down on the beach and read.

The night before we checked into La Luna we flew into Cancun and stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Cancun. The night we left La Luna, we drove to Paradissus (an all-inclusive resort) in Playa del Carmen. Since it was our first real visit to Mexico, I wanted the boys to get a taste of both flavors - the luxury resorts and what I suspected we all would prefer, the more laid-back beat of Cabanas La Luna. By the end, the verdict was unanimous - Cabanas La Luna beat out the Ritz and the Paradissus easily. "This place is kind of soulless," I remarked to my son as we walked around the spacious grounds of Paradissus in Playa del Carmen after leaving La Luna. "Yeah, I miss La Luna," he said. The best endorsement for a vacation I can think of!

Room Tip: We loved Captain Dale's with its direct access to the beach and spacious deck - but if my kids h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Can't say enough good things about La Luna. The staff was amazing... Luuk helped us organize the tours we wanted to go on, and Ruben was always around to answer any questions that we had. The accomodations are really the best on the beach, with lots of character and charm. It felt like a little community rather than a bunch of isolated huts. The restaurant is great, and we enjoyed the included continental breakfast every day, but I will say that the dinner menu is slightly limited. No problem though as there are plenty of other options only a few hundred meters away. The shower pressure was a little weak and the water smelled a bit because it's groundwater and has some salt in it, and their coffee is instant and not the tastiest, but these are the only nitpicky issues we had. The maids are fantastic and come to clean your room daily, the beach area is cleaned every morning and the recliners were very comfortable, every cabana has it's own hammock for relaxing... really just a superb slice of heaven if you want to relax and enjoy some beach time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Christopher Columbus, which is the closest to the beach. Cozy, but no obstructions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just spent a week at Cabanas La Luna, in Marrakech and it was our slice of heaven. We read other peoples positive reviews, so our expectations were set pretty high. We loved our stay and delighted our expectations were exceeded. The hotel has a wonderful charm to it, the staff are attentive and diligent, the rooms were spotless, spacious and comfortable. The food was good, breakfast - yum yum. The beach was absolutely stunning. We were sad to leave and even sadder we are wearing socks again.

Thank you all at La Luna for a truly memorable stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helena, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We truly loved this colorful little hotel, which speaks to all the best parts of what is Tulum, Mexico. If you want 5 star resorts and big restaurants and room service then head back to Cancun, but if you want to completely check out for a few days and do nothing but float in the sea, listen to the palm trees rustle and see the occasional sea turtle then this is the spot to be in. The rooms are not large because you should only be in them when you're ready to call it a night. The restaurant is outstanding for it's simple but delicious and perfectly spiced fare and the bar meets every need.

This is such a romantic spot. So far removed from our every day life. Rooms painted in bright colors with celestial accents, step straight out onto the beach and stay put or walk for miles. Your hosts make you feel at home but leave you be. We simply loved it and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The beach at Tulum is stunning, and Cabanas la Luna offers the perfect vantage point to enjoy its white sands and warm seas. Nevertheless, we weren't as enthusiastic about the hotel as many reviewers seem to be, and given the choice I'd have marked it as being somewhere between average (3 stars) and very good (4 stars). The main reason is that the cabanas themselves are pretty cramped and the way they're crammed in alongside each other affords little privacy. In addition, the water in the shower is fairly sulphurous and the lighting inside each cabana is dim, so bring your own light if you're planning on reading in bed at night.

On the other hand, the bright colours of the cabanas make for a lively setting, and the bed was very comfortable. All in all, decent accommodation with limitations.

The team who manage the Cabanas are friendly, and the welcome is warm, but there were occasions when drinks or food orders were messed up, so efficiency could be tightened up a bit. The food and drink served was pretty bland, to be honest – but then so was a lot of the food we ate in the Yucatan.

Room Tip: Casa Blanca has a little bit more room than some of the one-bed cabanas, but it's also the only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.