We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Welcome To Paradise..."” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas La Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas La Luna
Save
You added Cabanas La Luna to your Saves list
Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Tulum
Washington D.C.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Welcome To Paradise..."”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

"Welcome to Paradise" was the first thing Kwamy told us when we arrived. We had left early morning from Washington D.C. and were exhausted of traveling all day. Plane/Bus from Cancun to Playa del Carmen, Getting lost in Playa to take another bus to Tulum under the rain, cab from Tulum to Cabanas la Luna. When we arrived we felt as if we had been lifted and were seriously in paradise. We immediately decided to stay another night. As mentioned earlier we were warmly greeted by the friendliest face of the cabanas, Kwamy, who really made us feel completely comfortable and at home. Our first night was in the Robinson Crusoe Cabana which is the smallest one but is literally on the beach. It is very charming, very small, the bathroom is pretty much in the bedroom (no full wall separating it) so be mindful and open about it :)

The rest is really hard to describe but i do remember the waves putting us to sleep.
The Second and Third night we stayed in the Garden Suite, which is a lot bigger and located right under the restaurant's kitchen. It is probably the most open room as it is in the middle of everything and has windows all around. but the cool part is nobody can really see in. Before moving to this room we didnt realize it was there. there is a charming area behind the room where you have a hamac (there are hamacs everywhere which are tight). The Bathroom on this one is secluded and is a little more user friendly. This room has aircon a king size bed which is very comfortable and a bunk bed which we did not need. The Downside about this room is that you hear alot of what is going on upstairs during the day. But during the morning and night (the important times) you do not hear much of anything.
Whats great about these cabanas is that everything feels so private, all very subtly separated by greenery which is awesome.
The food is very tasty, breakfast is included in the morning, (toast, fruit plate, coffee, fresh orange juice!) Get the huevos rancheros. Dinner was good, the night staff is very accomodating , unfortunately not alot of options but the quality is top notch, the baked grouper and fresh vegetables out of this world. Drinks are strong :)
For the rest we will let you picture it, its the best part of the beach, you feel like nobody is there during the day, sand is softest you will ever find, sun is shining and the service is more than friendly, there are night security guards who are in orange that will help you out if you need something after hours.

All in all we recommend this place to anyone and do it soon, they are building an airport in Tulum, and you might see some of the Cancun and Playa del Carmen crowd which is one of the main reasons why we decided to come down here to get away from it. If you have a chance head downtown on one of the nights and enjoy the chill nightlife there, good times and thank you to the friendly staff who made things happen just right :)

Room Tip: Get at least one night in a beach Cabana --> Robinson Crusoe Rent Bikes at the Playa Azul, 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    62
    12
    10
    2
See reviews for
123
248
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leander, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I loved Cabanas La Luna... I found it on this site, and they were right...it is FABULOUS. Not only is it located on a fantastically beautiful white sand beach with luminous turquoise waters, but the rooms are decorated in a fanciful, warm, and inviting manner. If I could live there, I would. The staff are simply lovely individuals, and I can only surmise it is their lovely surroundings that makes them so absolutely pleasant to encounter. Thank you for a fantastic 3-day vacation that felt like 2 weeks. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed with my son over the Thanksgiving holiday week. We stayed in the Captain Dale quarters, which is the closest room to the beach. The staff is very kind and attentive and our room was always very clean. Unfortunately, the loft in the room was quite a bit narrower than we thought and was not necessarily appropriate for my 19 year old son. The house margaritas are insanely good and the prices are fair. Because of the holiday week and the beginning of high season, we paid top dollar for the room and I had a couple of issues - firstly, the bathroom in Captain Dale's Quarters is not appropriate for the room itself. The shower is not enclosed whatsoever and there is no privacy - in other words, someone cannot use the sink while you use the shower. There are 3 beds in the room so one would assume that at least 2-3 people would be sleeping there. The water, because of the lack of enclosure, then runs all over the bathroom floor, causing a slippery condition. Secondly, the dinner menu was absolutely tiny - I believe I was presented with only 4 or 5 dinner entree options and as a result, we did not eat there but once. Lastly, I think that this was the only hotel on the *very* dark road not to offer flashlights to its patrons. When I asked for one, I got a response that bordered on them seeming offended that I ask, despite the local population telling me that it was the norm. With the tiny dinner menu, it is very unlikely that guests will eat at the restaurant every night, so guests will, and should, try other eateries. Breakfast and lunch options were much more abundant and the food was quite good and fresh.

Room Tip: I would not choose Captain Dale's Quarters again because of the loft and the bathroom. Other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cabanas La Luna is an amazing place. You have the privacy of feeling like you have they place to yourself, but if you need anything it is only steps away. I have never been to this part of Mexico before and was a bit nervous traveling to Mexico. It was all for nothing. I felt safer and more comfortable then I do in some US cities. My wife and I stayed in the Robinson Crusoe cabana and it was wonderful. The cabana was simple, but very nice and you are on the beach the moment you step out. The weather is so beautiful and there is so much to do we spent very little time in our room. The sand is like powder snow, it doesn't even get hot in the middle of the day. The manager named Luke is especially helpful. He set us up on some amazing tours that we would not have been able to find without his help. Really, anytime we needed anything at all he dropped whatever he was doing and made us his first priority. The service he provides was second to none on the beach (and there is a lot of great service). My only complaint is that when Luke was not around it was sometimes difficult to book a tour or get the same quality of advice when he was not there. He does work six days a week, so he was never to far away. The location is perfect as you are in the middle of the beach and close to everything. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the beach. It's so nice to hear the ocean when you fall asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Traveling with my dad (72) and my son (12) brought me to Cabanas La Luna. We planned to stay there only one night but due to the very friendly service and the perfect location, we extended two times to stay more nights there. Not only the very friendly and relaxed atmosphere was welcoming but as well the very good restaurant made it not really necessary to leave the place and hoover between breakfast - beach - some sightseeing - coming back to the hotel and having dinner there.

Room Tip: The room Marrakech is a perfect room if you would like to sit on the balcony of your room and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at La Luna and enjoyed your stay in Marrakech. We hope to welcome you back for many more sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The bride's and groom's immediate families plus many adventuresome friends filled the entire property and spilled over into several nearby beach hotels and casitas. La Luna hosted the wedding ceremony and the subsequent dinner (for 65 guests). The staff were gracious and helpful in every way and the food was fantastic.

This long, beautiful beach is 'rustic' and 'unspoiled'. That means each property generates its own electricity with windmills, relies on bottled water and sometimes battles mosquitos. This means fans instead of air conditioning, periodic shortages of hot water and drapes of mosquito netting around the beds - but - each cabana is unique, colorful, imaginative and fun. Outside paths are all sand, with individual foot-washing pools at the foot of each staircase and deck or patio. Nobody wears shoes after the first five minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Casa Blanca", which was small but close to the beach. Our children's fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homer63
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in APril 2011. Great location. Was able to cycle about 20minutes along the coast (flat terrain) to Mayan Ruins. Old bikes available from property. Cycled up to tulum village which is 10 minutes, and on a town for grocery bits another 5-10minutes further. The beach by the cabanas is gorgeous, really long so ideal for long walks with lots of other small hostels & cabanas along the way to stop for food and cooling cocktails. There is a nice bar/restraunt less than 5 minutes down the road/beach towards thulium that has live music and nice food. Forget the name, apologies.
Only down side to La Luna was the extremely uncomfortable thin mattress. Don't know why we didn't say something. Staff were lovely and friendly. We got a private taxi there from cancan and when leaving to go to the airport. Forget the price but was def worth it and was easy to organise online prior to the trip!
Great memories of Tulum.

Room Tip: Christopher Columbus was ideal. The toilet, sink and shower are within the room but small price to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your honesty. A few things I will like to address for those who are reading the review and considering a stay with us, we have upgraded our mattresses and I believe we no longer have this problem with them being uncomfortable. I believe a few new reviews can confirm this. Also, we no longer rent bikes, however there is a spot within a short walking distance that has great bikes available. Again, thank you for a wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
#5 Family Hotel in Tulum
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.