We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas La Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas La Luna
Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 75 hotels in Tulum
Providence
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed with my son over the Thanksgiving holiday week. We stayed in the Captain Dale quarters, which is the closest room to the beach. The staff is very kind and attentive and our room was always very clean. Unfortunately, the loft in the room was quite a bit narrower than we thought and was not necessarily appropriate for my 19 year old son. The house margaritas are insanely good and the prices are fair. Because of the holiday week and the beginning of high season, we paid top dollar for the room and I had a couple of issues - firstly, the bathroom in Captain Dale's Quarters is not appropriate for the room itself. The shower is not enclosed whatsoever and there is no privacy - in other words, someone cannot use the sink while you use the shower. There are 3 beds in the room so one would assume that at least 2-3 people would be sleeping there. The water, because of the lack of enclosure, then runs all over the bathroom floor, causing a slippery condition. Secondly, the dinner menu was absolutely tiny - I believe I was presented with only 4 or 5 dinner entree options and as a result, we did not eat there but once. Lastly, I think that this was the only hotel on the *very* dark road not to offer flashlights to its patrons. When I asked for one, I got a response that bordered on them seeming offended that I ask, despite the local population telling me that it was the norm. With the tiny dinner menu, it is very unlikely that guests will eat at the restaurant every night, so guests will, and should, try other eateries. Breakfast and lunch options were much more abundant and the food was quite good and fresh.

Room Tip: I would not choose Captain Dale's Quarters again because of the loft and the bathroom. Other th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    56
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
103
228
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Cabanas La Luna is an amazing place. You have the privacy of feeling like you have they place to yourself, but if you need anything it is only steps away. I have never been to this part of Mexico before and was a bit nervous traveling to Mexico. It was all for nothing. I felt safer and more comfortable then I do in some US cities. My wife and I stayed in the Robinson Crusoe cabana and it was wonderful. The cabana was simple, but very nice and you are on the beach the moment you step out. The weather is so beautiful and there is so much to do we spent very little time in our room. The sand is like powder snow, it doesn't even get hot in the middle of the day. The manager named Luke is especially helpful. He set us up on some amazing tours that we would not have been able to find without his help. Really, anytime we needed anything at all he dropped whatever he was doing and made us his first priority. The service he provides was second to none on the beach (and there is a lot of great service). My only complaint is that when Luke was not around it was sometimes difficult to book a tour or get the same quality of advice when he was not there. He does work six days a week, so he was never to far away. The location is perfect as you are in the middle of the beach and close to everything. We will be back again.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the beach. It's so nice to hear the ocean when you fall asleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Traveling with my dad (72) and my son (12) brought me to Cabanas La Luna. We planned to stay there only one night but due to the very friendly service and the perfect location, we extended two times to stay more nights there. Not only the very friendly and relaxed atmosphere was welcoming but as well the very good restaurant made it not really necessary to leave the place and hoover between breakfast - beach - some sightseeing - coming back to the hotel and having dinner there.

Room Tip: The room Marrakech is a perfect room if you would like to sit on the balcony of your room and watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful time at La Luna and enjoyed your stay in Marrakech. We hope to welcome you back for many more sunsets!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sammamish, WA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The bride's and groom's immediate families plus many adventuresome friends filled the entire property and spilled over into several nearby beach hotels and casitas. La Luna hosted the wedding ceremony and the subsequent dinner (for 65 guests). The staff were gracious and helpful in every way and the food was fantastic.

This long, beautiful beach is 'rustic' and 'unspoiled'. That means each property generates its own electricity with windmills, relies on bottled water and sometimes battles mosquitos. This means fans instead of air conditioning, periodic shortages of hot water and drapes of mosquito netting around the beds - but - each cabana is unique, colorful, imaginative and fun. Outside paths are all sand, with individual foot-washing pools at the foot of each staircase and deck or patio. Nobody wears shoes after the first five minutes.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Casa Blanca", which was small but close to the beach. Our children's fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
homer63
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of our honeymoon in APril 2011. Great location. Was able to cycle about 20minutes along the coast (flat terrain) to Mayan Ruins. Old bikes available from property. Cycled up to tulum village which is 10 minutes, and on a town for grocery bits another 5-10minutes further. The beach by the cabanas is gorgeous, really long so ideal for long walks with lots of other small hostels & cabanas along the way to stop for food and cooling cocktails. There is a nice bar/restraunt less than 5 minutes down the road/beach towards thulium that has live music and nice food. Forget the name, apologies.
Only down side to La Luna was the extremely uncomfortable thin mattress. Don't know why we didn't say something. Staff were lovely and friendly. We got a private taxi there from cancan and when leaving to go to the airport. Forget the price but was def worth it and was easy to organise online prior to the trip!
Great memories of Tulum.

Room Tip: Christopher Columbus was ideal. The toilet, sink and shower are within the room but small price to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your honesty. A few things I will like to address for those who are reading the review and considering a stay with us, we have upgraded our mattresses and I believe we no longer have this problem with them being uncomfortable. I believe a few new reviews can confirm this. Also, we no longer rent bikes, however there is a spot within a short walking distance that has great bikes available. Again, thank you for a wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitsap County, WA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 8 glorious nights at Cabanas La Luna in October and loved every minute. I was a bit reluctant at first because the Cabanas are "rustic" and I am insect phobic, but it wasn't a problem in the least! While "eco-friendly" the Cabanas are well maintained and very clean with everything you could need. The fan and mosquito netting above the bed was great.

The staff provide just the perfect balance of helpfulness and availability and privacy. We stayed at La Luna for a few nights in 2011 and decided we had to return for a longer visit. Our first four nights were in the "Christopher Columbus" cabana -- and our second four nights were right next door in the "Robinson Crusoe." It was nice to have a slightly different experience in each room. Both have their pluses and minuses. The Christopher Columbus is slightly larger overall and the bathroom is behind the sleeping area and spacious. The space around the bed is very close. The view from the patio is great and there is a straight shot down to the beach. The "Robinson Crusoe" has less space overall, but more around the sleeping area and the bathroom, while smaller is more separate (saloon doors divide it from the sleeping area). The view from the bed in the Robinson is spectacular -- straight out to the sea, and it also has a path straight to the beach. Both are great for a single traveler or couple, but would be really challenging for anyone traveling with children. We also loved the porches on each cabana -- with a table, lounge/chair, and hammock it was an extra outdoor room where we spent a lot of time.

Cabanas La Luna has a great vibe to it -- it feels like staying with extended family. Since the property is fairly small, guests get to know each other on the beach and in the restaurant, but at the same time there is a lot of privacy. It is not a big party scene on the beach, but still has a sense of companionship we loved.

The restaurant "Las Estrellas" on site is fabulous and we ate there repeatedly. They had the best guacamole we tasted on the trip, and the ceviche was amazing. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It was so nice to have such a great choice so close to the cabana.

We think this is the best deal on the beach -- gorgeous, well kept white sand beach, gentle slope in the water, well maintained beach beds, umbrellas and chairs, and understated beach service for food and beverages. While we walked the beach and looked at other properties, we decided we really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. We will be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out all the cabanas -- there are different size cabanas to accommodate every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netarts, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Management and staff are fantastic. They were very attentive and willing to help wherever they could and fulfill any request you may have. The restaurant Las Estrellas, which is somehow connected with La Luna, has delicious lunch and dinners at very reasonable prices. There's bike rentals a short walk away, and dining options all up and down the beach. You can quite easily bike to town or to the ruins, or even to the Sian Ka'an Bioreserver if you don't mind the dirt roads and potholes. Highly recommend La Luna, especially at the price they offer rooms.

Room Tip: Marco Polo was not a bad room. Was private and had a private bathroom and a balcony. Balcony has obs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tulum
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabanas La Luna to your Saves list