We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cabanas La Luna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tulum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cabanas La Luna
Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 73 hotels in Tulum
Kitsap County, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect place in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 8 glorious nights at Cabanas La Luna in October and loved every minute. I was a bit reluctant at first because the Cabanas are "rustic" and I am insect phobic, but it wasn't a problem in the least! While "eco-friendly" the Cabanas are well maintained and very clean with everything you could need. The fan and mosquito netting above the bed was great.

The staff provide just the perfect balance of helpfulness and availability and privacy. We stayed at La Luna for a few nights in 2011 and decided we had to return for a longer visit. Our first four nights were in the "Christopher Columbus" cabana -- and our second four nights were right next door in the "Robinson Crusoe." It was nice to have a slightly different experience in each room. Both have their pluses and minuses. The Christopher Columbus is slightly larger overall and the bathroom is behind the sleeping area and spacious. The space around the bed is very close. The view from the patio is great and there is a straight shot down to the beach. The "Robinson Crusoe" has less space overall, but more around the sleeping area and the bathroom, while smaller is more separate (saloon doors divide it from the sleeping area). The view from the bed in the Robinson is spectacular -- straight out to the sea, and it also has a path straight to the beach. Both are great for a single traveler or couple, but would be really challenging for anyone traveling with children. We also loved the porches on each cabana -- with a table, lounge/chair, and hammock it was an extra outdoor room where we spent a lot of time.

Cabanas La Luna has a great vibe to it -- it feels like staying with extended family. Since the property is fairly small, guests get to know each other on the beach and in the restaurant, but at the same time there is a lot of privacy. It is not a big party scene on the beach, but still has a sense of companionship we loved.

The restaurant "Las Estrellas" on site is fabulous and we ate there repeatedly. They had the best guacamole we tasted on the trip, and the ceviche was amazing. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu. It was so nice to have such a great choice so close to the cabana.

We think this is the best deal on the beach -- gorgeous, well kept white sand beach, gentle slope in the water, well maintained beach beds, umbrellas and chairs, and understated beach service for food and beverages. While we walked the beach and looked at other properties, we decided we really wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. We will be back!

Room Tip: Be sure to check out all the cabanas -- there are different size cabanas to accommodate every need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    346
    49
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
94
210
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netarts, Oregon, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Management and staff are fantastic. They were very attentive and willing to help wherever they could and fulfill any request you may have. The restaurant Las Estrellas, which is somehow connected with La Luna, has delicious lunch and dinners at very reasonable prices. There's bike rentals a short walk away, and dining options all up and down the beach. You can quite easily bike to town or to the ruins, or even to the Sian Ka'an Bioreserver if you don't mind the dirt roads and potholes. Highly recommend La Luna, especially at the price they offer rooms.

Room Tip: Marco Polo was not a bad room. Was private and had a private bathroom and a balcony. Balcony has obs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We recently returned from our stay at La Luna via the Marco Polo suite for 5 days. The cabana is charming and very private. Really nice for couples, it has a very large terrace perfectly suitable for the massages we ordered whilst listening to the ocean.
The terrace had a partial ocean view which had its pros and cons. It would have been great to have a full ocean view but at the same time it kept the place a little private and hidden which we did like.
The cabana also has an additional small bedroom ideal for a kid or third person, yet because of the intimacy of the cabana it's better for a kid/family member. On that note, the cabana was designed in authentic Tulum style, so keep in mind the bathroom is a separate area but has no door...I wouldn't recommend this as a "first date" cabana.

The location and beach front is devine. While dazzling in one of the beach beds enjoying the sun the staff will bring you whatever you need whether its exotic cocktails, food or a freshly chopped coconut from one of their many palm trees.
Never have we experienced such helpful smiling and wonderful staff. They were just exceptional in all regards (I lost my heart to Oscar).

We tried multiple restaurants in Tulum but must conclude that "Las Estrella's" (la Luna's restaurant) was by far the best. Having experienced some of the best gourmet restaurants in the world, we would definitely like to include "Las Estrella's" in our top 3.

Overall, our stay was fantastic! Just keep in mind that Tulum is a jungle, you will see some bugs, you will experience heat and sandy conditions, and the Mosquitos come out at night during the rainy season. Also, La Luna's is not a luxury all-inclusive resort so don't hold it too those expectations. ...It's got way more charm and unique character! Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

La Luna is a little bit of paradise. It's perfectly charming as soon as you cross the entrance, with soft sandy pathways, green jungle landscaping and the sound of waves crashing. The staff goes above and beyond! Thank you to Luke, Isabelle, Oscar, Ruben, Jose, Quami and the house/grounds keeping staff!! Everything was perfect. The staff is happy to recommend activities to do in Tulum or outside of Tulum.
We stayed in the smallest cabana, Robinson Crusoe. It was perfect for a close couple. A queen size bed and half wall dividing the room from the bathroom. The room is on the smaller side, but is very clean, I only saw 1 bug in 9 days. There are some mosquitoes, but they didn't bother us at all, as long as we kept the two fans on at night. There is a net around the bed, but we didn't even need it.The shower is big. Even big enough for two people. It's absolutely a romantic room. This cabana has a sandy path directly to the ocean. The sunrise shines right into your room. I loved just lounging in the hammock outside our cabana door. If you choose, the staff will bring you a breakfast (included in room rate) of delicious fresh fruit with coffee, tea, toast, jam and fresh squeezed orange juice. They have other options on the menu, if you don't want the included breakfast. We enjoyed an inexpensive breakfast 4 doors down @ Ziggy beach bistro. Order the Huevos Motulenos...DELICIOUS! We visited a few other hotels for food or drinks and preferred the accommodations and beach @ La Luna much more! So glad we chose it!! The bar is fun to hang at night and chat with the bar tenders. There are wooden swings at the bar too. They bring you complimentary apps of homemade hummus, bread, veggies, etc. The La Luna restaurant has spectacular food! I recommend the grouper or the lobster special, if they have it. You will pay more than the food in town, but it's worth it if you want to treat yourself to something other than tacos. We LOVE tacos, so we did go into town a lot. So many good places. Do some research, before your trip. Ok, back to La Luna...The beach is beyond gorgeous. Perfect white sand. A stunning sunrise every morning. Warm water with waves, which personally makes swimming more fun. They even have a volleyball net. Nice new beach umbrellas and beds. Nothing about this place seems shabby or old and used. Everything is kept up very nicely. If you spend the day on the beach, the staff will come ask if you'd like a drink or some food. Very attentive. I can't say enough about the house keeping. Every day we came back to a spotless room. They are eco friendly too, so they only replace your towels if you leave them on the floor. You have the option to reuse them. I thought that was nice. Everything is well decorated and colorful, so you truly feel like you're in another world. I'm not sugar coating this. It is everything I say it is. What it is NOT...is an all inclusive, fancy resort, with fancy products and a swim up pool bar. If you're looking for a private, little rustic, romantic, gorgeous place to stay with outstanding customer service, then this is the place to stay. There's a reason they're #2 out of many many hotels. They deserve it! We'll be back for sure!! Thanks again, Jess & Kayne

Room Tip: Please see my review and if you need slightly more space, then get the cabana next door to Robinson...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We checked out a few places in person before deciding where to stay, and hands down Cabanas la Luna are far superior over their neighbors.
We only found ONE place that had aircon and it was turned on at 11pm. Aircon is NOT standard in tulum so don't expect it. La Luna have adequate fans in the room, more than you will get anywhere else for the money.
Their attention to detail is awesome and the cleaners do a great job every day. Their cute and bright mex-moroccan furniture adds great character to these hammock clad cabanas!
Location is great, far enough away from the beach centro, approx a kilometer, but not way down the other direction to no mans land. It is 70 pesos to get into town, one way. You can easily bike ride to the ruins.
I didn't like the dinner menu at la Luna but the lunch menu and awesome included brekkie of fresh fruit, coffee and home made bread was YUM. Wifi worked at the restaurant/ reception but not in our cabana.
The first two nights we stayed in Casablanca which is underneath another cabana. We changed after 2 nights as we could hear thudding footsteps and scraping furniture both nights and mornings which meant we didn't sleep until upstairs slept. The staff were SO great and we ended up staying at la luna's cabana The Shanty a little further down the beach for 4 more nights, we loved it so much.
Luke, iris and ALL of the staff were unbelievably kind and friendly. I would definitely recommend this to all travelers out there who are after great value, great service and a great time. Oh and GREAT beach!

Room Tip: Just not Casablanca. That's it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We do our best to give our guests the best experience possible, an experience that they've only dreamed up. We will always do our best to accommodate requests to make your stay with us even better. We are glad that we could find a happy resolution to the problem you encountered from the noise of the guests above you. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Robinson Crusoe cabana. It was everything I expected, since I had already read many, many of the previous reviews. The cabana was small, rustic and private, which was what we were wanting. The windows and the fans provided a beautiful breeze while we slept. The staff were incredibly polite and helpful. The beach was amazing!! Always clean, and never crowded. The atmosphere was intimate and romantic, much more personal than a resort. We loved it, and will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We love hearing that your honeymoon with us was as perfect as you had hoped! We hope to welcome you back in the future, perhaps for an anniversary trip! All the best in your new life as a married couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The beach and the location are wonderful, the hotel a bit disappointing. Nothing to be said about the location, it's wonderful as is the beach. A real paradise early in the morning or in the evening at sunset. The cabanas however are (predictably with hindsight) damp, oppressively hot (no aircon and the ceiling fans are so ineffective that they've added standalone fans as well which take up the very limited space). Rooms are small and very, very dark/gloomy despite the garish colours used to decorate. The room was kept clean (difficult with all that sand).

The restaurant was overpriced and nothing special.

Having to pay in full a couple of weeks before, with no cancellation policy possible leads me to believe that many people in the past checked straight out, as we would have done if we could afford it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CabanasLaLuna, Manager at Cabanas La Luna, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very sorry that your experience at our hotel was not according your expectations.

We would like to draw attention to some points that perhaps you did not review prior to booking your stay with us. As many hotels on the Boca Paila strip in Tulum, we are a self sufficient eco-friendly hotel, and therefore have limited electricity. Because of this, many hotels only offer electricity for a limited period of time per day. However, do offer 24/7 electricity to our guests. In order to stay self sufficient and eco-friendly, we do not offer air conditioning in our cabanas (with the exception of Garden Suite and the two ground floor rooms of Villa Zanzibar).

If you weren’t aware, August and September are the most damp/humid months of the year and there is nothing that can be done, except simple ventilation within the cabana. All of our rooms are equipped with foldable windows including mosquito nettings. Our ceiling fans above the bed are often praised because they are built-in to the ceiling above the bed so the mosquito nettings around the bed do not block the breeze coming from the fan. These fans do have various levels of speed. The standalone fans indeed take some extra space, however, we did this in order to offer our guests an extra way of increasing the breeze throughout the cabana. If you had a problem with the amount of space the ventilator was occupying with the cabana, you could have notified our staff and we would have removed it from your cabana. You mentioned that our rooms are small and very dark, however I noticed you only stayed in one cabana during your stay. Each room is drastically different from the next and our cabanas are often praised because of their intimate size, layout and colourful decor. We feel sad that this was not the case for you. Had you mentioned this to us during your stay, we would have gladly moved you to another cabana. For instance, during your stay we also had Garden Suite available, which would have satisfied your need for a bright an airy room with air conditioning, however your disappointment was not brought to our attention.

Although your experience was less than perfect, we hope you might want to come back during different period of the year and try another cabana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cabanas La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas La Luna

Also Known As:
Cabanas La Luna Hotel
Cabanas La Luna Tulum
Cabanas La Luna Hotel Tulum
Address: Carr. Tulum - Boca Paila km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77789, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tulum
#2 Family Hotel in Tulum
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel like Robinson Crusoe, Christopher Columbus or Captain Dale on a tropical shore with everything you need to feel the magic of life: fresh air, blue skies, turquoise water, fresh local dishes, friendly people and a lot of sun. Come to magical La Luna and enjoy a fairy tale come true! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabanas La Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cabanas La Luna to your Saves list