We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach, rustic accomodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas

Save Saved
You added Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Carretera Tulum, Boca Paila Km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77780, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great beach, rustic accomodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

not sure if I would return to this hotel but definitely enjoyed my stay. things are a bit disorganized and they are never really sure if they will have availability. rates are also somewhat negotiable. we ended up getting a room for a night when they were theoretically fully booked, while my friends got their stuff thrown out of the room as they messed their reservation system and claimed they were full.

location is fine but not better than anywhere else in tulum. the beach is phenomenal but just like all the other hotels.

staff was friendly and the food was good. I would just stay you have go there in a certain rustic mood as rooms have no AC and it can get quite hot at night. you need to sleep with mosquito nets around the bed as the rooms are open. shower dos not have much pressure and there is not always hot water.

I had a great stay but for US$220 a night I wonder if there are slightly more comfortable options in Tuum

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
22
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This place was truly awesome. Beautiful rustic setting on a perfect beach with loads of little details complementing the overall vibe. But it was the atmosphere of the place that topped it off. The staff are friendly and welcoming.

The electricity was no worse than in any of the neighbouring resorts or towns, and the shower is slightly salty but that's all part of the eco experience.

It was reasonably low season but still plenty going on, with the owners not shy of pointing out a party or two nearby!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Well located rustic cabanas. The accommodations are quite basic: salt water shower, limited electricity at night but decently comfortable hanging bed. I would argue that if you are looking for basic eco-chic accommodations you could find better value in Tulum.

Staff is excellent and the food at the restaurant is affordable and delicious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Came to Tulum for a long weekend form Mexico City and played it by ear. It was low season, so prices were very negotiable. I think that is the key to this place: negotiating the price to where it should be given its rustic elements. Such elements include that their is no a/c (but there are fans in the rooms), the water for bathing is half well water half sea water and the bathrooms don't offer a lot of privacy. That said, people need to remember that Tulúm isn´t Playa del Carmen. You come to Tulúm becuase it is literally on top of the beach and for its isolated feel. At any rate, we were some of only a few guests there, and we were treated very well. Food was decent and drinks were given to us for half price. We didn't settle up the bill until the last day and they were fine with that. The beach right in front is incredible and they have a small pool as well. The rooms are rustic but with some nice touches like organic shampoos and mirror made of slices of tree stump with irregular forms, and we had a beach front balcony with a hammock, bean bag and wooden chair. In the end I would come again as long as the price takes into account that it isn't on the level of the more upscale places that have popped up in recent years.

Room Tip: best to go with abeach front room if you can swing it, on the second floor (or what they would call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The hotel is well situated but it needs better services. poor electricity and salty water is ok for a couple of days, but if you are looking for comfort, you have to stay in downtown Tulum. You can go to the and enjoy the beach every day, and get back to your confortable room with good services.

Downtown also offers plenty of good restaurants and old town mexican atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

we stayed here in October 2007. at that time, zulum was still a new property & the view from the second story beach front room was amazing.

but, while we waited forever for breakfast one morning, the cleaning people cleaned our room. when we returned to the room, I saw that I had left my wallet on the coffee table & later realized that money was missing from it. I knew I shouldn't have left it out in the open so I didn't mention it.

then the next day, after the cleaning people had cleaned again, I noticed that a travelers check was missing from my purse that was hidden underneath all my clothes in the closet. I had to report the incident to the police in order to be reimbursed for the missing money.

After reporting the incident, I told management what had happened & they refused to believe that their employee(s) stole from us. they thought I was lying or had lost it myself. I'd never had anything like this happen before & couldn't believe they were ignoring the situation.

overall, I loved the view & actually liked the swinging bed. I do remember the electricity & the shower being spotty, but I
just chalked it up to being "eco-friendly". I definitely didn't feel safe after the theft incidents nor did I want the staff in my room again, but most importantly, I didn't feel like the management truly cared about their guests.

I'm writing this review nearly 5 years later so clearly I'm still annoyed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

After staying one night at an overly expensive stuffy, hot, trying to be "hip and groovy" cabana place down the road, Zulum seemed like a paradise. We stayed on the the thrid floor of one of the building closest to the beach. The view was amazing, and the room was cute and cozy, with a thatched roof, hanging beds, hammocks, glass doors, cute little windows, and cool lighting fixtures made out of conch shells. The only downsides to this place were that the shower only had cold water, although this was probly just in our room, and the toilet was right under the showerhead, which was a little strange. Othe than that though, It was great. The beach front bar and loung was nice because you could grab a drink and relax on outdoor couches, hammocks, or under umbrellas on the beach. The staff at Zulum was very friendly and helpful. It's a great place to stay righ on the water, and I recommend it to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas

Address: Carretera Tulum, Boca Paila Km. 6.5 | Quintana Roo, Tulum 77780, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Tulum
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Tulum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are almost sure that after being here only one day you will be thinking about changing your return ticket or even canceling it and staying for good (nothing can be farther from the truth, it happened to us and many other people). but don't worry we have 18 different Cabañas to choose from to make it your new home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas Hotel Tulum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zulum Beach Club + Cabanas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.